We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love It”
Review of Villa Olivia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Olivia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 January 2013

My 3 friends and I just got back from a 10 day stay here. The location is excellent, close to the beach and easy walking distance to restaurants and clubs. And the view is fantastic. Only complaint would be the sound of the ocean made it difficult to sleep. This could have easily been avoided had we simply closed our patio door. But, we just couldn't do it. :) The staff here are friendly and the property is exceptionally clean. Denise is great!! She gave several excellent ideas for dining. I will return next year for sure (I wish I was still there)!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mark I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2013

My partner and I stayed for over two weeks during the Christmas and New Years holiday and never wanted to leave. We had incredible views from our room overlooking the entire Banderas Bay as well as Los Muertos Beach, where we spent each day basking in the sun. Every morning we laughed and shared stories with other guests while enjoying a delicious breakfast prepared by Denise, the witty and funny manager. (How can we forget Monty Python's The Ministry of Silly Walks) Denise and her family who own the Villa always made us feel at home, like one of the family. Villa Olivia is comfortable, clean, secure, private and close to all the amenities of Old Town. We still hear the echoes of waves crashing on the beach below. We have already paid our deposit for next year and can't wait to come back home.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AKBoys J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

My wife and I stayed at Villa Olivia in January. This villa is located at the south end of old town, and slightly up a hill about a block and a half off the ocean. The waves slapping the beach could be clearly heard in the room as if the beach was directly in front of the inn. We had a room on the 3rd floor which will soon have no view of the beautiful bay because condos are rising up in front of the villa. The new condos will be limited in their height so higher floors at Villa Olivia will still have a great view of the bay, and it will be a few years yet before the 3rd floor view does disappear.

The villa is beautiful and has gone through many renovations over the years. There are now 9 floors with the penthouse on the 9th. The owners live in the penthouse. At one time the top was the 4th floor with an open pool. That pool is now an indoor pool! Still the villa is quite lovely and well situated. A block away is a mini-market where you can get fresh salsa, guacamole, eggs, beer, et cetera -perfect. There is also a pharmacy and restaurants very nearby. We really enjoyed our home cooked breakfasts and dinners on the patio enjoying the gorgeous bay.

The staff were all friendly and helpful. If you desired, you could request breakfast and/or coffee for the morning. There were also in-suite facilities for your own coffee and meals. The villa has elevators and an open sitting and kitchen area which is very nice. There is also an exercise room and dry sauna near the pool on the 4th floor. Overall, the price was very reasonable.

The villa is located a short walk to the new, bigger and impressive malecon -a tourist attraction in itself. The malecon is of wonderful construction and is wide and long. At night there is a nice mix of eclectic entertainers, food, and drink. Vendors set up in the evening and sell there goods, and foods -deserts such as crepes, coconut pie, and chocolate cake are simply wonderful. The new malecon, with all its attractions is the icing on the cake for PV. Great stuff and a wonderful place to stay!

Room Tip: Villa Olivia is a great place if you're looking for something slightly out-of-the-way, yet close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank BPH33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

This large individual Villa is split into seperate apartments. My husband and I had adjoining rooms with our friends with us each having our own kitchenette and bathroom. The views are simply breathtaking, hospitality second to none and the location is quiet but only a stones throw from the heart of the action. Would defo reccommend staying here!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Natasha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

This block of small self-catering apartments is in a nicely tucked away part of PV, although it does not take too long to get to all the places you might want to visit, especially the gay bits.

Clean, tidy with a friendly landlady with good and reasonable rates. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank terryw560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

This would have to be one of the most relaxing places that I have ever stayed. The sound of crashing waves lulled me to sleep every night and greeted me for my morning coffee on the balcony. The hosts seem to have thought of everything before it was needed, from the extensive library of books and maps to the well-equiped kitchen. I stayed on the 7th floor and the view was even better than it looked in the photographs. Breakfast is also offered and I highly recommend it. Villa Olivia is well worth the money and I would never stay anywhere else in Puerto Vallarta.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank InvisibleCities
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

We stayed for a week in Feb 2012 and just loved Villa Olivia! Our room (more like apt at 650 sf+ with huge balcony facing ocean) would be very hard to improve upon anywhere else regardless of what you are willing to pay. Fresh pot of coffee brought to us every morning, in time to listen to the surf...High ceilings, island kitchen,they even lent us a crib for the baby. There were a lot of facilities like pool, gym, sauna, library room, common area, etc. but we didn't really use them because our unit was so complete we either hung out there or went exploring in town.

Some people might find the little trek up the cobble-stoned street to get to VO from town a little challenging. It was a godsend as that was the closest to exercise we got all week: dragging an infant and a stroller up and down the hill three times a day was all the workout we needed to burn off margarita and cheese calories.

A little grocery store about 100m down the hill from the hotel and a local selling fruits off the back of his truck every day meant we got all the provisions we needed without having to go to town centre.

Last but not least, Denise our hostess made it impossible for us to find anything to complain about. After chatting with a few people who had average to horrible experiences at PV resorts, we knew we scored big in choosing Villa Olivia. Definitely returning.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Petit-Boo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.1 mi away
Tropicana Hotel
Tropicana Hotel
#54 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
751 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
#24 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
854 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rivera del Rio Boutique Hotel
Rivera del Rio Boutique Hotel
#2 of 73 in Puerto Vallarta
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quinta Maria Cortez
Quinta Maria Cortez
#4 of 73 in Puerto Vallarta
252 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive Adults Only
Grand Fiesta Americana Puerto Va...
#17 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
2,355 reviews
7.6 mi away
Villa Armonia Luxury Boutique Hotel
Villa Armonia Luxury Boutique Ho...
#20 of 73 in Puerto Vallarta
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Olivia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Olivia

Address: Amapas 329 | Colonia Emiliano Zapata, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: £40 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family-owned villa offering personalized hospitality next to the beach and in the heart of town -- the Zona Romantica. Ideally located for people who love quaint cobblestone streets and splashes of vivid colors while strolling through town. From your secluded balcony you can enjoy the soothing sound of ocean waves, breathtaking iridescent sunsets, and even the thrill of spotting migrating humpbacks during whale-watching season. Every morning, you are brought the choice of coffee or tea to your room while you make that oh-so-difficult decision of how to spend your day -- sipping tropical drinks under a beach palapa, going on a jungle canopy or ATV excursion, horse-back riding, golf, scuba diving, hiking along the river or swimming in the ocean waves. The choices are endless... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Olivia Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing