We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pricey but nicey” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trio

Trio
Reserve with OpenTable
Trio is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #22 of 980 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$40 - US$60
Cuisines: Seafood, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Between Hidalgo and Matamoros
Vancouver
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Pricey but nicey”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Trios is not a resaurant that I frequent but manage a visit or two per year. The reason is the price. For example, on a recent visit the el cuenta for two was just under 500 peso and with tip over that amount. I would add, that this was without any alcoholic drinks although two lemonades clocked in at 88 peso, perhaps, the highest I have paid in Puerto Vallarta and given that they was wine sized, a bit stiff for my pocket book.

Trios has a pleasing ambience much like an old fashion European cafe. The servers are attentive. The dominant sound is civil convesation from the other patrons blended with recognizable old standards. If you want a nice place to dine, to talk and to be pampered, Trio will suffice.

The food does not disappoint. It has many other restaurants in Puerto Vallarta to compete with and it holds its own. A unique aspect is that some dishes come in a 'taster' version which is a smaller but adequate version of the larger. It is a version that I prefer. My companion prefers the Appetizer section.

Visiting Trio always feels like a special occasion but I am never certain whether that is because of the richness of the food or the poorness of my wallet.

For some strange reason, the review page allows a rating only for Excellent or None. Trio falls below Excellent but certainly not as low as None. It is comparable to any fine dining establishment in Canada or the USA in both price and quality.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank iSolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    583
    132
    45
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Altos, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Such a treat to have gourmet meals, charming, excellent staff, beautifully decorated & best yet, marvelous air conditioning! All this for an unbelievable price. Average of 190 pesos (approx $16.00US). Least expensive wine by the glass was 70 pesos ($6.00). Most expensive was their daily three course dinner, different nightly at 480 pesos, ($40.00). A must for a special night out in P.V. Right off the Malacon.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathleen426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Our first time here.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

But certainly not our last

The food is some of the best in town, and that is really a statement in this town. The asparagus soup and the risotto from the tasting menu deserve particular note, and the balance of the meal was first rate as we'll. Dessert was also good.

I would put this in the top three places to eat in Vallarta. It's that good.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SenorFeliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steinbach
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Still Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Been here several times over the years..the service is great, the food is fantastic and the whole dining experience is first class. A great place to spend a quiet family or romantic dinner.
They always have great seafood, the catch of the day specials and chicken or beef plates and pasta dishes to choose from. You will always find something!
I cannot say enough but to try the place if you haven't yet, you will keep coming back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank vuerno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orangevale, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Food is a little pricey but it is well worth it. Both of our dinners were great, the service was tops, and this is the first restaurant you should visit when in Puerto Vallarta.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorenzo99x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trio also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Trio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing