We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“small budget hotel with great view”
Review of Casa Sun & Moon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Sun & Moon
Ranked #28 of 56 Zihuatanejo B&B and Inns
mn
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“small budget hotel with great view”
Reviewed 26 March 2009

Casa Sun and Moon has a small,recently updated pool,newer tile in the rooms and had painted some areas with workers around always helping with what you wanted or needed.The rooms and terraces were clean and fancy folded towels with flowers were put on the bed every day.The beds are what we have found all over Mexico- hard- and also there were times when hot water was not always available-something we have also found elsewhere.The shaded terraces have kitchen facilities of a small gas "stove",coffee pot,blender and some utensils,pans and dishes and a jug of purified water but no hot water in the sink.The office and breakfast room are across the street in Casa Rosa.You have an option of having breakfast included or not by checking American or European plan.This is a pleasant small hotel that we will come back to.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lindap1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    26
    14
    5
    5
See reviews for
15
32
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2009

We spent three days in the Sun and Moon, and everything was somewhat pleasant. The room was very simple and basic and the shower made a very weird noise. The bathroom's door lock was broken.
The swimming pool and the view were very nice and the shared balcony with hammocks was very confortable and convenient.
So far it looked like we would return in the future, until we checked out. We left our luggage in the lobby while we went for breakfast, and when returning we were surprised to be charged 180 pesos for a stained towel that was found in our room. The staff's attitude and customer service was horrible and extremely disappointing making a huge fuss over a towel that wasn't even worth what we were being charged.
This very bad farewell from Sun and Moon ruined the ending of our experience and will no longer return or recommend that place.
It is a pity they preferred a towel over a recurring customer.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hen_n_Yun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Zihuatanejo hotels

west warwick, rhode island
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2008

have stayed there twice and are booked for feb.2009.this is not a
5 star hotel,but we do not need that.it needs a little spruceing up.
but the rooms are cleaned well every day.the staff is very friendly,
and they will go out of there way for you.we travel with another couple,and we stay on the second level.there is a fridge in the room,and a kitchen area right outside our rooms.there is also a
couch and chairs and hammocks right out on our patio.very
relaxing with a beautiful view of zihuatanejo bay.casa sun and moon is with in walking distance to town and some great inexpensive restaurants.taxis are right by the hotel.we take a taxi over to laropa beach or a panga over to las gatas beach.we are not gringos.we have traveled to zihuatanejo for 10 years.we have made many friends here over the years.casa sun and moon is a good
value when you travel on a budget like we do.
gary rego
rhode island,usa

  • Liked — quiet ,comfortable,relaxing with a great view.
  • Disliked — rooms need a little painting and spruceing up.
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank regoamigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Egremont, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2008

We were so totally disappointed with this place. It is VERY tired and in need of new paint, cleaning everywhere, it smelled as they had just sprayed for bugs, bad attitude when they lost our reservation.
The web site is in no way indicative of how the place really looks.
They are extremely overpriced for what they are providing.

  • Liked — View
  • Disliked — Cleaniness and upkeep
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Rstan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zihuatanejo hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Irma
Hotel Irma
#12 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
432 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel ZihuaCaracol
Hotel ZihuaCaracol
#65 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
49 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villas Miramar
Villas Miramar
#39 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
La Quinta de Don Andres
La Quinta de Don Andres
#42 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
54 reviews
0.5 mi away
Catalina Beach Resort
Catalina Beach Resort
#35 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
188 reviews
0.8 mi away
Villas El Morro
Villas El Morro
#2 of 60 in Zihuatanejo
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Sun & Moon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Sun & Moon

Property: Casa Sun & Moon
Address: Calle Adelitas No. 10 | Playa de La Madera, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Zihuatanejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa Sun & Moon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to your house on the beach!Hotel Casa Sun and Moon is located over La Madera beach is the center of Zihuatanejo bay. We are an easy 10 minute walk to the central village of Zihuatanejo or an equal distance in the opposite direction to nearby La Ropa beach.Several restaurants and bars are close by to stroll to or order in, as you wish. Highly regarded, Hotel Casa Sun and Moon is Mexican colonial in architecture. It is situated on a breathtaking cliff over the beach. Quiet and private, we have a lovely cliff side swimming pool in a tropical garden setting. A friendly, family atmosphere exudes in this three level hotel setting with wide terraces and expansive views of the bay and mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Casa Sun & Moon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Sun & Moon Hotel Zihuatanejo
Casa Sun And Moon
Casa Sun Moon Zihuatanejo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing