We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Coconuts

Coconuts
Ranked #13 of 321 Restaurants in Zihuatanejo
Price range: US$4 - US$29
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Zihuatanejos oldest building serving excellent food from a seasonal menu and cocktail list since 1979
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“very nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2011

recently changed hands
some remodeling - the bathrooms are very nice now
the important items on th menu remain, as do the core staff
expensive, but worth it

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank renorichdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    383
    75
    28
    20
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“As good as it gets!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2011

I've been going to Restaurant Coconuts since the 70's. It's always been a great choice. The food has always been delicious, good service, great atmosphere but this year they have taken the place to new heights. The newly renovated place looks gorgeous. The food is better than ever. Chef Dave Dawson is brilliant he has created a very tasty new menu
The food is better ever. Make it first on your list so you'll have time to try it twice. Everyone is very friendly and helpful.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Patsylosangeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keene, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic evening at Coconuts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2011

I can not express in enough words how wonderful our dinner and evening was friday night at Coconuts. Our dinner party of fifteen friends all agreed that Chef David was a genius. Everyone of our dinners were fantastic. The atmosphere of dining in the beautiful courtyard was magic. Jorge the bartender was as always so nice and funny. David has made Coconuts my favorite restaurant in town and Jorge has made it my favorite bar to have a drink. I highly recommend Coconuts for a memorable dining experience.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mattmccoy1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Must in Zihuatanejo!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2011

My boyfriend gave me the choice of dining at Villa del la Selva, Coconuts, or a restaurant in the Ixtapa marina, and I chose Coconuts. Wise choice! The setting was lovely, the service was outstanding, and the food was fantastic. I find it amazing that some staff have been working there for over twenty years. That's dedication!

Our order consisted of a seared tuna appetizer, a shirmp/soba noodle appetizer, the Mahi, and the coconut shrimp. We had crepes prepared at the table. If you've never experienced a staff member flambeing a dish table-side, you must try it - and try it here! All food was delightful, but we though the coconut shrimp was a B dish. We say this because we're not big fans of fried food. There are other, better options on the menu.

You must make it to Coconuts while in the Ixtapa area - it's outstanding!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelgal94105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zihuatanejo, Mexico
Level Contributor
72 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“This historic downtown restaurant is back on its game...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2011

A new management team has brought this restaurant back to its rightful place as one of the premier dining & bar establishments in Zihuatanejo. Prices & some aspects of front of house management had driven many loyal customers away. We visit several times a year & can advise that changes have been implemented to correct the problems. Prices have been moderated to offer fair value for money. The menu has been changed with the welcome addition of a excellent bar snack menu & a prix fixe dinner menu.The menu reflects locally sourced fresh products that are in season. Interior remodeling of the lively bar area makes it a great place to meet friends & relax. The front of house & wait staff are welcoming & provide professional service. The food is delicious. If you are new to Zihuatanejo or had been previously unhappy, I suggest you again make Coconuts a part of your Zihuatanejo dining experience.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank zihuaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coconuts also viewed

 
Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo
 
Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
 

Been to Coconuts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing