We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good enough but not great”

Restaurante Mar y Cielo
Ranked #40 of 322 Restaurants in Zihuatanejo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, View, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good enough but not great”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

LCQC is worth checking out, but there's about 5 or 6 other spots worth trying first. The sound of the crashing surf against the cliffs is the main attraction here, and the staff was both very friendly and helpful.
LCQC is the only place in town with a dress code, namely no sandals or shorts for men. And as long as we're being picky... While it is a beautiful setting, it feels a bit more resorty and lacks some of the romantic charm we found in all the other restaurants we tried around town.
In hindsight, I would highly recommend LCQC for drinks before or after dinner, but choose somewhere else for the meal itself.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank gypsysun c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    45
    12
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“La casa Canta, pero la comida croa”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

This is a beautiful site and the ambience is very good. The food is only so-so and by no means cheap. The menu is also quite limited. We had trouble finding anything we really wanted to eat. You'd be much better off to go to Amuleto where you can enjoy a fabulous three, four or five course meal. The view is fabulous and the value for money is far superior.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeremy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
120 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Very disappointed in the food!”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

This is a beautiful restaurant in a beautiful hotel, siting atop a cliff looking over the harbour. The view at sunset is absolutely spectacular. We read up on the hotel as it was rated fifth internationally so we wanted to try the restaurant as it was just down the road from where we were staying. Firstly, they wanted 570 pesos for a bottle of Argentinian Fuzion. Whell, here in Ottawa, it costs $7.50 for a bottle of Fuzion. So we thought approx 50.00 was pretty steep. So we went for the almost cheapest Pinot Grigio on the list which was still 420 or something like that pesos. I ordered to start, the tortilla soup as I had made it my mission on this trip, to try the tortilla soup at all of the restaurants that offered it. In all honesty, the tortilla soup was the best part of this meal. It was very tasty and the tortillas were very thin and crispy and the broth was delicious. Then we decided to share our dishes and went with one surf and one turf.
My daughter took the surf which was three spice rubbed large shrimp (that are caught and not farmed as specified in the menu) and a red snapper filet. This was served with mashed potatoes and a tossed salad. I had the flank steak which was very tough, chewy and difficult to cut and chew. When I tasted it, it reminded me of the steaks you get at Ponderosa, that greasy grilled flavour. I also had a line of black beans dividing my plate. I was really excited to try the grilled cactus meat which was horrible, sour and chewy and there was also some guacomole with radishes in it. Most of my daughter's plate was eaten as we were hungry, but mine was returned with many pieced of chewed but not swallowed steak, a bunch of black beans and a mound of cactus meat. So, we decided to try the local special for desert, churros. They were ok, nothing special, with a leche caramel to dunk them in. Long story short, very expensive, not very good but the view and service are spectacular.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
8 Thank danielle m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Spectacular!!”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Well this has to be one of the biggest surprises of visiting Zihuatanejo
Zihuatanejo is a seedy down market city of perhaps 60,000 inhabitants in the state of Guerrero. It has been a tourist destination for décades. Those tourists are now drawn rather to Ixtapa and to its newer development 10km northward on the coast.
But hidden in this grubbiness are some real treasures . And without doubt Casa que Canta is one of those.
Situated on the side of a cliff looking Northwest towards Zihuatanejo Bay the setting is unique and unforgetable. The lobby and entrance to the restaurant is most tastefully designed in terra cotta , statues, ceramics and sand.
As far as the resttaurant is concerned the service was very good and the food above average.
Given the dearth of choices in Zihua this restaurant was a real find.
I'll be back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tytaany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Beautiful place, average food”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We have visited this restaurant several times on our vacations to Zihua and found it magical. It is a wonderful break from the noisy and everyday restaurants and it is a luxurious and visually stunning restaurant.

Our last visit was hugely disappointing due to the food. Whe nothing has changed regarding the ldecor and view, the food was very ordinary. Prepared with little skill, flavour or creativity which really surprised us because that was not the case in past visits. Our past vists had been delightful and the quality and creativity was as good as you might find in more sophisticated cities but not so this time. This really stands out when you get the bill. This is an expensive restaurant. I didn't mind in the past when I had a great meal and an amazing view, but not when the food is average.

It might be a change of chef or a change of management or just an off night, but check around before you go.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheyenne2_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurante Mar y Cielo also viewed

Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
 
Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
 

Been to Restaurante Mar y Cielo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing