We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”
Review of La Sirena Gorda

La Sirena Gorda
Ranked #42 of 322 Restaurants in Zihuatanejo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$20
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Toronto
Level Contributor
112 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We had the ceviche and also the fish tacos, all of which were excellent. Unfortunately they were out of the smoked fish that evening. We would have returned there if we'd had more time. It was well priced and the food was very good.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LolaRamona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    59
    26
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Katoomba
Level Contributor
86 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Quaint but overrated”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

My daughter n I wanted to try this place after hearing about it. It is at the ferry end of the artists square and looks quaint . We were too late for breakfast but had to wait Til the lunch menu was starting. There are nice little wooden boats hanging from the ceiling and lots of weird looking fat mermaid paintings. My daughter had the roast fish tacos- tasted ok but very dry, I had prawn n bacon taco - really nice . It is low season here but the serving staff seems not very interested. Whole this place is ok- I feel it is overrated and we may have enjoyed one of the other cafés at the other end of basketball courts much more. Try if you want but too expensive for what you get.

Helpful?
Thank Snombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
122 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Killer smoke fish tacos”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We came here specifically to try their smoked fish tacos, they were recommended by somebody we met during our stay in Zihua. I ordered the fish tacos al pastor and my husband had the smoked fish tacos. Both were really tasty.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank coco-nut59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“a memorable restaurant - GREAT t-Shirts - "the fat mermaid"”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

nice sidewalk eatery
they have smoked fish tacos that out of this world!
great house salad

as you can imagine, with a name like THE FAT MERMAID, the t-shirts & such are a MUST!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank renorichdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

This unpretentious sidewalk cafe has been in business since 1985 and one bite of the grilled mahi-mahi will tell you why. This place is for fish-lovers. The shrimp ceviche (which goes by another name) is delicious, but the fresh fish fillets are the attraction. They are served numerous ways, all of which are excellent. The "Fat Mermaid" is worth a visit.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank vanvoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Sirena Gorda also viewed

Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
 
Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
 

Been to La Sirena Gorda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing