We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must visit”
Review of La Escollera

La Escollera
Ranked #85 of 322 Restaurants in Zihuatanejo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Stouffville
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A must visit”
Reviewed 12 March 2013

This your third year visiting La Escollera, and everytime the experience is wonderful. The eco-park tour with Celine is so very informative and gets better and better every year. She is so very passionate and knowledgeable about the wild life of Zihuatanejo, the fauna, the birds, the animals, and the insects of the area.
After your tour the inviting infinitey pool is available to cool you off and the wonderful wait staff are available to meet your every need, be it drink or food. You are treated like family in this tranquil paradise. A must visit.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank momaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    27
    12
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way!”
Reviewed 27 February 2013

We have always loved this restaurant but when my husband and I looked for someplace to renew our vows, la Escolleras was our first choice. Celine and Manuel made sure that everything was, beautiful and went beyond our expectations to ensure our event was well executed . Celine worked hard with us to stay on our budget, making suggestions that would help, while not compromising on quality or design. She was a pleasure to work with! Manuel made sure the food, although simple as we requested, was delicious, and served in quick fashion to our guests. The staff worked hard to ensure good service too. The fact that La Escolleras overlooks the beautiful Bay of Zihuatanejo certainly helped in making our event magical and our memories in our hearts for many years to come.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Threewishesbandb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level Contributor
101 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Infinity and beyond”
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Arrived at this restaurant early. They open late as staff shows up after 1pm. Service was fine. Food was ok. There were 10 of us and orders of drinks and/or food from all they still wanted a 150 peso limit per person. The view was fabulous but the pool was dirty. Waited for the pool maintenance person to arrive and it took a while for them to turn on pumps. The tours the offer were not as in the flyer. There was only one offered in the afternoon. The view makes it a fine experience.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosieakalynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Hidden gem for the value”
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We went to 6 or 7 restaurants in Zih/Ixtapa on this trip. For the value and view was the best. We were a party of 8. I had the surf and turf. The steak was really good, the shrimp was tasty as well. The lobster was on the small side, but good. I think for a party of 8 with 2 kids, we only spent around $200 dollars. We all had lots of drinks, apps and a main course. So overall great value.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandandsnow2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medford, Oregon
Level Contributor
98 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Don't miss this great place!”
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We went to La Escollera twice for lunch and a swim in their infinity pool. The food is fantastic and the view is hard to beat. The first time we went, we also did the eco tour that you schedule through the restaurant. The tour took about an hour or so and was well worth the small price. We learned some interesting things about the animals and plants of the area and were impressed with what is being done there.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Caribbeanfanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Escollera also viewed

Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
 
Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
 
Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo
 

Been to La Escollera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing