We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very dissapointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa del Sol Resort
Ranked #12 of 79 Hotels in Zihuatanejo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I came to celebrate my birthday with my husband. We had pre paid for a luxury room and were surprised when we got upgraded to a beautiful suite. Little did i know. The suite was a nightmare because of the noise , particularly the car alarms and a water pump that was unbearable. They told us the water pump would run most of the weekend and we were forced to move to a different room. The two options they gave us were terrible. We ended un in a very unprivate standard room having paid for a luxury room. The front desk is very unhelpful and unapologetic. Their nice rooms are reserved for guests not yet arrived. They don't care. If i hadn't prepaid the room i would've moved to a different hotel already. Instead I'm stuck in the new room which is also noisy. There is no privacy and apparently no manager. We spend a lot of time in our room. unfortunately I'm here until tuesday. Not the romantic weekend i was expecting at all. I will never stay here again. Not for couples in need of privacy in their room. Terrible customer service and not the romantic time i was expecting to have. Its ok if you spend all your time at the beach. Food is too expensive.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silvie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin K, General Manager at Villa del Sol Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Thank you very much for your feedback provided, my apology that the initial upgrade to the lagoon suite for your birthday celebration at the end was not what you expected.
I hope that you did enjoy the rest of your stay after your initial move and concern in regards to the noise level close to your room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (800)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

282 - 288 of 800 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I went to this beautiful hotel in july and we loved it. Room was fantastic, really big, with a balcony and a hammock. Note: it didn't have a tub though.
Atmosphere was always very relaxed, tranquil. Food and beverages are expensive. It doesn't have animation team so it's quiet all the time. Adults swimming pool clean and almost empty the entire time. Gardens well taken care of. Gym is great because you have cold bottled water available at all times.
For getting to the little town you will have to walk around 15 mins or to take a cab.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Erika Aracely Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin K, General Manager at Villa del Sol Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Dear erikazapataa

Thank you very much for your nice comments about the property. It was truly a pleasure to have you with us. I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us in our little paradise on Playa La Ropa and we are looking forward to welcome you back to Viceroy very soon.

Gracias,

Martin Kipping
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay at the Viceroy. First the positives. The service was 5-star and loved all the staff, who were friendly, attentive and just wonderful. The pool was amazing. Rooms are immaculate and spacious. Bed was really comfortable. The food and wine list was also 5-star.

Some of the suggested improvements. Mosquitoes are a problem. Thus, we were surprised to see no nets. The plunge pool for our room had not been cleaned. There was no fan over the bed (although there is AC). The key fobs are neat (encased in a woven case), however, the colors bleed when wet and could ruin your clothes. Also, the gym could have been better (bigger, more machines).

Overall, we loved it and with some dedicated improvement could elevate this property into a legit 5-star.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MHSquared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Along with my family, I have visited this hotel several times, starting when it was still named The Tides.
The Hotel is located in a great almost-isolated beach with very low waves, clean sand and a beautiful surrounding.
Service is superb, everybody calls you by your name, they will reserve a beach cabana for you, including towels and sand toys for the kids.
Complementary coffee, hot chocolate and warm bread is served every morning in your room.
Nearby you can find many activities in the small and pintoresque fishermen town of Zihuatanejo or in the more touristic Ixtapa.

Room Tip: Choose a Garden Superior Room, it has a pool in your private terrace and great views of the property
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin K, General Manager at Villa del Sol Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Dear Mr. Fet T

Warmest greetings from Viceroy Zihuatanejo !!

Thank you very much for sharing your review with every reader of TripAdvisor. It was a pleasure host your recent vacation in Zihuatanejo and we are delighted to know that you had such a great and memorable time staying with us.
We will be looking forward to your next visit to Viceroy Zihuatanejo, do not hesitate to contact us for any assistance in the future.

Gracias,

Martin Kipping

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

My husband and I just returned from our week long honeymoon at the Viceroy from 8/19-8/24 and we had the most amazing time of our lives (second to our wedding of course). We were in the Beach Suite #5 and it was a gorgeous room overlooking the ocean. We did the Indulgence package which was all inclusive and that was definitely the route to go as we never went hungry or thirsty. The food is so delicious and the drinks kept flowing. We rented a hanging bed on the beach for two of the days and for $30 a day you can't beat it. We literally spent the entire day out there enjoying the view and the occasional siesta. One of the days we went to the spa and each got an 80 minute facial and 80 minute massage which was pure relaxation. This was great on the day there was some rain and I highly recommend taking advantage of this great little spa. My husband is an avid fisherman so we also opted to go deep sea fishing and that was truly amazing. We each caught a 150lb sailfish and my husband had the time of his life. The resort is gorgeous and very safe and serene but the Viceroy wouldn't be as amazing as it is if it wasn't for the staff. A special shout out to Reynaldo (or Rey de la Playa as we liked to call him) for his outstanding customer service while we were on the beach. Orlando, Fidel, Felipe, Jorge, Lucio, and Ventura are also worth a mention and we greatly appreciate you making us feel welcome and taken care of. We hope we can return to this little piece of paradise one day. Thanks Viceroy!

Room Tip: Beach Suites are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NC_BeachGurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin K, General Manager at Villa del Sol Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Dear NC_BeachGurl

Warmest greetings from Viceroy Zihuatanejo !!

Thank you for choosing us to spend your honeymoon. I am glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay and really look forward to keep welcoming you for many years to come.

Else we know that in you we have new friends’ thanks a lot for that and for your preference.

Gracias,

Marting Kipping
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We had been VERY frequent guests in the past at this property, when it was still owned and run by the original builder/owner, Helmut, and had always enjoyed our stay.

With the changes, first to"Tides" and now to "Viceroy" (albeit both brands are owned by the same group), we decided to spend 5 days there recently, undoubtedly helped by a good discount when reserving via their website.

We were more than pleasantly surprised that the resort was essentially unchanged, still very well kept, with lush greenery, great service and the marvelous hospitality which we got to love so much. The place is wonderfully situated on a "perfect" beach and since there are no high-rise buidings and a lot of paths through well manicured gardens, you never feel crowded.

In fact, many staff members still remain from the "good old days", at the reception, restaurant and beach service, who still remembered us and greeted us like family members.

The Sales manager, Elia, was particularly efficient and cordial, greeting us personally with her great smile and upbeat personality.

We enjoyed our stay VERY much.

It has to be said, however, that there is some urgent need for upgrades. The first room we had, while spotless and fairly comfortable, looks dated and requires a major renovation. These rooms, in the area behind the main restaurant, are some of the first rooms originally built and quite frankly, the decor and fixtures show their age: 70's style marble, white-painted wood cabinetry, old water fixtures, less than adequate water pressure in the shower, etc. These are just some example of things that need to change, especially for the price range.

The Lagoon Suites, conversely, are very comfortable, tastefully decorated and convey a much higher quality image. These were the last ones built (we were there at the time...) and the architect did an outstanding job.

Additionally, many "palapas" (thatched palm roofs, perfect to lay all day under) at the beach need to be repaired (a few have holes in them and seem to have been left as they are for decades), and some of the beach lounges, chairs etc, while still comfortable, have their best days already behind them.

We were told a major renovation project had been approved. Can't wait for it to happen and we'll certainly be back.....

Bottomline, PARADISE.......but I hope the Resort's ownership and Management realize they need to invest and upgrade the "old" rooms and beach facilities

Room Tip: If at all possible, choose a Lagoon Suite. Also, rooms near the restaurant are noisy, beginning at 6...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael-Mx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

My wife and I enjoyed a fabulous 5 day stay at this gorgeous Beach Resort, Aug 9-14. Photos of the hotel do not do it justice. The lush, well maintained tropical foliage provides the backdrop to the beautiful La Ropa beach. The private beach area is fenced off from the public beach allowing us to relax without undue pressure from the local "merchants". The service from everyone on the staff was warm and friendly and we were treated as family rather than just guests. Martin (GM) spent a good 15 minutes in a welcoming conversation with us and was genuinely interested in our travels and experiences in Mexico. Fabian at the front desk always jumped up to greet us warmly when we would leave for the day. When I complimented Israel the head gardener on the property, he took us around, answered questions about various plants and showed us how he grafts and propagates them. He even harvested and opened a coconut for us when we showed an interest in the coconut palms. I wish I remembered all the names, but the servers at the restaurant for breakfast each day were all warm and incredible waiters (Phillipe was one). Our (Deluxe) room was private and secluded with a private wading pool and hammock. It was very clean and comfortable. My only criticism was a very curious sink and faucet design, where the faucet barely hung over the bowl, making it difficult to use without covering the counter with water. It was missing the drain stopper as well. Water pressure was a little low for the morning showers when the grounds were being watered. We only ate breakfast and a couple of light meals at the restaurant, but the food was exceptional. We used the fitness facility (adequate for a quick workout) and the lap pool. I'm not sure if it is heated, but the lap pool is a little too warm to get a really good workout for a regular swimmer. We cannot say enough good things about this hotel and its staff, we will definitely return some day!

Room Tip: Deluxe room near the fitness facility was more than adequate for my tastes and needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mjohengen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zihuatanejo hotels
0.4 mi away
La Casa Que Canta
La Casa Que Canta
#1 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
581 reviews
6.2 mi away
Cala de Mar Resort & Spa Ixtapa
0.3 mi away
Embarc Zihuatanejo
Embarc Zihuatanejo
#10 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Aura del Mar Hotel
Aura del Mar Hotel
#2 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
567 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tentaciones Hotel
Tentaciones Hotel
#20 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
151 reviews
2.8 mi away
Puerta Paraiso Hotel Boutique
Puerta Paraiso Hotel Boutique
#29 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa del Sol Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Sol Resort

Address: Carretera Ecenica s/n | Playa la Ropa, Zihuatanejo 40895, Mexico (Formerly The Tides Zihuatanejo)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#6 Family Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#8 Luxury Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#8 Romantic Hotel in Zihuatanejo
Price Range: £251 - £695 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa del Sol Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cool garden waterfalls, enchanted lagoons and elegant adobe-inspired villas nestle along one of Mexico's premier beaches to make up the romantic Villa del Sol Resort, Zihuatanejo, A Destination Luxury Hotel ocean views across a tranquil beach. Relaxed contentment is made complete with award winning Mexican as well as Pacific Seafood cuisine, 3 swimming pools including a spectacular seaside infinity pool, an intimate spa and superb service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Stayforlong S.L., HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Villa del Sol Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tides Zihuatanejo Hotel Zihuatanejo
The Tides Hotel Zihuatanejo
The Tides Resort Zihuatanejo
Villa Del Sol Zihuatanejo
Tides Zihuatanejo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing