We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second time thought would top last...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Viceroy Zihuatanejo
Ranked #7 of 80 Hotels in Zihuatanejo
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Second time thought would top last...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

When we stayed at the Viceroy prior to ownership change the staff was amazing and personal (right down to the tennis instructor who was a great guy and great coach). When they saw we were a family they immediately offered to move us to another larger suite. It cost more but wow is was phenomenal. This trip we called in advance specifically requesting the same suite, upon arrival we were placed in a dark unit but immediately they responded to move us. I explained the unit we had the last time and they said they were very clear about the one I was describing. Needless to say we were moved to another lacking dark unit with old fixtures and no windows. When I explained this to the staff they said they would check again for the one I described. I personally walked the bellman to the unit and without hesitation he said it was occupied... Of course it was not. The staff for the most part seems either new or just inexperienced.

The rest of our stay was spent chasing down waiters when we wanted a drink or fighting for lounge chairs on the beach. Which in the past 2 days we have not been able to find one... Even though the resort seems to be at less than half capacity... Our room was never cleaned during our stay even multiple calls to front desk. Sitting by the pool not once did a waiter come over to us. If we wanted service we had to go and stand at the bar. It was not based on being too busy because there was no one there.

People comparing this to a 4 Seasons obviously has not stayed at one. We have stayed in resorts all over the world. If you wanted a resort that we believe to be a comparison to 4 Seasons try La Hacienda in Los Cabos....

Update more again soon..

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Punctual2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin K, General Manager at Viceroy Zihuatanejo, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear Punctual2014,

Please accept my sincere apology for your experience. I was sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your stay and wanted to let you know that we are committed to fixing these issues for you and all our future guests.

We have reviewed the shortfalls mentioned on your Trip Advisor comment and are taking proactive steps to avoid similar situations in the future.

I hope that you will decide to return in order to give us the opportunity to show you our improvements.

In the meantime please receive our best wishes.

Sincerely yours,
Martin Kippping
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    558
    127
    36
    23
    18
See reviews for
111
419
15
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
west vancouver
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

The Viceroy Hotel on La Ropa Beach is a lovely high end resort. It has the feel of a Four Seasons and is very pricey but is a step above the other resorts in this area. We did upgrade to a beach suite which turned out to be an extra $!65.00 which seemed not too over the top until all the taxes were added, then gulp ! It seems that mexico has added taxes onto everything so it would be better to know that up front. We had complimentry coffee and rolls delivered to our room each morning and a lovely breakfast was also included. The two restaurants both offered fabulous dining experiences. We were on the beach each evening at a beautiful table with candles and amazing service. Although there were only a few people staying at the hotel, the quality of service and the staff went above and beyond. Due to the high prices and lack of guests I hope this hotel does survive.

Room Tip: If you are situated in an area you don't like theyn ask to see another room, lots seem to be ava...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank simpsonWestVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin K, General Manager at Viceroy Zihuatanejo, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear simpsonWestVancouver,

Read these comments motivate us to continue providing a quality service you deserve.

Thank you for choosing us to spend your vacations. We hope to welcome you back and not to distance future.

Gracias,
Martin Kipping
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missoula, Montana
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

We are a same sex family of four - children ages 7 & 5. We had Alaska companion tickets that we decided to redeem and picked Zihuatanejo as our destination. After reading countless reviews about beaches and hotels, we ultimately found an excellent promotion with the Viceroy - 50% off a lagoon suite and it included breakfast. The reservation process was excellent and I had numerous questions which were all answered so promptly and professionally by Vanesa Moreno. Our children attend a Spanish immersion international school and we wanted them to attend a local school during our stay in Zihua. Also, our daughter was turning 7 during our vacation and we wanted to have a birthday celebration and invite some of the employee's children. Vanesa put me in contact with Aleida Espinoza, an Executive Assistant at the Viceroy. She was amazing to work to arrange everything we needed. She even personally went to the school we wanted to visit to speak with the principal when I had trouble getting in touch with them. Once we arrived at the hotel, the understated but gorgeous lobby was empty and we were assigned a guide named Dolce, that showed us around the property and finally to our room. She was very sweet - like her name! And patiently explained everything about the hotel and answered any questions we had. She finally took us to our lagoon suite LS17 which was located on the 2 second floor and it had 2 queen size beds. It was a stunning room with a huge plunge pool (only about 2 feet deep...) and although not an ocean front room, offered some views of the ocean from the living area and the master bedroom balcony. It was also private enough that we didn't have to worry about people seeing us play in our pool. They had a basket of children's toys next to the pool which thrilled our kids to no end. The table had freshly made cookies with both of our children's names on all of the cookies and a pitcher of delicious fruit juice. The bedroom was very large with 2 beds and opened out to a balcony that was child safe (maybe not for young climbing toddlers but I felt absolutely safe with our young kids. Some balconies have very open railings!) The manager left a beautiful bouquet of flowers in our room with a note from the manager welcoming us and to wish our daughter Happy Birthday. Our daughter was so thrilled with the flowers and she made us take several pictures of them so she would never forget! The room was beautiful and understated. The tile work throughout was amazing. The only real awkward part of the room was in the bathroom - the toilet was situated so the door would kind of hit your knees if you opened it while sitting. Also, the shower would take f.o.r.e.v.e.r to heat up. It was a beautiful shower that was open in a circular fashion. No bathtub but we had that plunge pool. One thing to note about the lagoon suites and other rooms that have the open living area - the bats. There are fruit bats that like to fly around at night. Apparently fruit bats are harmless but they leave droppings. We found if we left the lights on and the ceiling fan running, they would stay mostly away. We would just close the big, heavy, gorgeous carved doors to the bedroom and bathroom closed so the light (and bats...) wouldn't bother us. It's just part of being in the tropics and the living area was not closed off...it was open like a big covered balcony. The staff did supply repellent and I brought some as well which we used. There are mosquitoes and they bite. ***Carry it in your purse so if you walk down the beach to other restaurants you have it because the mosquitoes are at the restaurants as well.
Every morning we received a delightful tray of fresh Mexican pastries, coffee and cocoa. It was the best way to wake up. Enjoy coffee, treats, cocoa and the kids would just play and play in the plunge pool. We would eventually meander down to the restaurant for breakfast which was more like lunch since the pastries held the kids hunger over for a few hours. Breakfast was phenomenal and the staff was amazing! They were so delightful to talk to and they always made sure everything was perfect. They remembered our room and what they kids like to eat.
One of the amazing amenities of the hotel was the kids concierge. They went out of their way to make sure our kids were having a good time. The kids concierge was handled by Vidi and she gave the kids each a backpack with toys, a T-shirt, cap, goggles and other little goodies. She would play with them while we relaxed on the beach and one time we walked into town to explore. Vidi seemed to really enjoy her job and played with all the kids - drawings, sand castles, paper mache, you name it....Thank you so much, Vidi! The kids really miss you!! The Viceroy also has a turtle conservation program. Turtles like to come up on the beach to lay eggs right in front of the hotel or on its property. The staff takes this very seriously and protects the eggs in a little "turtle nursery" . When the eggs hatch, they are released at night into the ocean. Our children were fortunate to be able to help release the baby turtles a few times and this certainly was the highlight of their trip.
As I mentioned before, Aleida was instrumental in helping organize a birthday party for our daughter's 7th birthday. Before we arrived she asked what kind of piñata she would like. I said a dinosaur. Well , unbeknownst to me, Aleida tried and tried to find a dinosaur piñata but couldn't locate one, so she had one made! It was perfect - a pink and purple dinosaur piñata. It was also inscribed with Isabelle's name. It made a special day more special. Aleida also invited some local children which we were thrilled about and they were so polite and well behaved. The staff made sure we had plenty of drinks, smoothies, sandwiches and they made a delightful cake! They decorated a palapa with balloons to make it festive as well. They really went above and beyond to make Isabelle's 7th birthday so special. Her next birthday will be very difficult to top.... It was an unforgettable birthday. Our 5 year old son still remarks that he wants his birthday in Mexico!
The hotel sits on a gorgeous stretch of La Ropa beach. We never once felt threatened or unsecure. Peddlers do walk the beach but are not allowed on the hotel property. We ventured down the beach several times to try local restaurants and happy hours. There is a place just down the beach that had a great happy hour - I can't remember the name of the restaurant but there is a little slew that feeds water into the beach. One evening we enjoyed our cocktails while our daughter played in the water with some local children and our son played in the little water slew. We found out the next day that 2 giant crocodiles live in there and the come and go into the water at times!!!! I nearly had a heart attack when I found that out and of course didn't allow our son to play in that again.... Fortunately, the hotel is a ways up from that area.
The hotel although amazing, small and incredible staff is in need of some updating. The new manager seems to have great plans. The workout facility I have to say was really the only disappointing area. Machines wouldn't work, the floor was in dire need of repair and the a/c simply didn't work. Not what one would expect from a 5-star resort. However, a couple days before our departure, they closed the facility and tore up the floor completely. We left in the middle of that renovation so I can't comment on what it will/does look like now. Also, we did take advantage of a facial from the hotel. I have to say this wasn't up to par either. The woman doing the facial actually left during the procedure for about 10-15 min. I would have preferred a massage during that time. I had no idea why she left and wasn't sure if I should get up. The exact same thing happened to my partner. We ended up taking advantage of massages on the beach for 200 pesos/hour. What a deal! That is hard to beat. That is about $20.00 and well worth it. I used the gal right next to the hotel - I think her name was Hilda or Hazel....very nice.
Overall, this trip was exceptional made extra exceptional by the entire staff at the Viceroy. We were so happy we stayed on La Ropa beach and not Playa de la Madera. La Ropa is much, much nicer. Thank you so much for making our stay outstanding! We definitely will return.

Room Tip: Lagoon suites are amazing with some ocean views from the 2nd and 3rd floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2momstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin K, General Manager at Viceroy Zihuatanejo, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear 2momstravel,

Thank you very much for this detailed and wonderful review, which help all the TripAdvisor community to make the right decision when it comes to choosing the ideal resort for your vacation. It’s a pleasure to know that this experience was a very positive one, highlighted by our great service. I am sure that your feedback will serve as an encouragement to our team, as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for all your kind comments, we are looking forward to your next visit, do not hesitate to contact us for any pre-arrival arrangement.


Sincerely,
Martin Kipping
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
168 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

This was a very special New Years Eve dinner. We started with happy hour , relaxing and looking out at the most beautiful sunset on fire that one could imagine. The Viceroy is a romantic and lovely beach resort. We were then escorted to dine at our table on the beach. It was set with festive new years hats and horns, and our adorable and excellant server Marco served us our champagne and entire meal. Our prix fixe menu was superb, five courses, our sea bass and duck entre's were expertly prepared and the langostino was succulent. We complimented this feast with delicious wines from Ensenada. It was and unforgetable ringing in of 2014's New Year.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathyS181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin K, General Manager at Viceroy Zihuatanejo, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Kathy,

Thank you very much for choosing us to celebrate such a special night. We are very pleased to know that you enjoy dinner.

Please make sure you visit us again, will be a pleasure to welcome you back.

Happy 2014

Martin Kipping
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
264 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

We have never stayed at this property but this is our 2nd time visiting the Viceroy Zihua for their happy hour 2 for 1 margaritas. Last Christmas we met another couple who brought us there and we enjoyed the drinks….tamarind and mango margaritas. So this year, we went again but remember it's only at one of the bars from 5 to 6pm and the seating is very comfortable with a view of la rope bay. we ordered 2 margaritas which meant 4 in total because of the 2 for 1 and the bill came to 180 pesos before gratuity.

The drinks were good but it would have been nice if it had a bit more tequila as we couldn't really taste the alcohol much. For this reason, I gave it a 4 star instead of 5.

The washroom near the bar was extremely clean and comfortable as well.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cliu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin K, General Manager at Viceroy Zihuatanejo, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Dear Cliu,

Thank you for your recent visit. Your comments are very important to us please do not stop visit Viceroy Zihutanaejo.

Best wishes..!

Martin Kipping
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

I traveled to Zihuatanejo in November with my boyfriend. We were both blown away at this fabulous hotel. We wanted a relaxing, romantic, beautiful location with great food, beach, and sunshine. Viceroy Zihuatanejo is the absolute best!

First - it has a terrific location. It is right in the center of Playa La Ropa, which is a wonderful beach. There is a bay that surrounds this area which is so nice - you can SUP, swim, sail, or just enjoy the beach. We considered places in Ixtapa but that area doesn't have the same beaches. In addition - Zihuatanejo / Viceroy is located approximately 10 minutes from the airport. This may seem silly to mention but when you are in paradise you want to enjoy every last second you can!

Second - the hotel staff is beyond helpful. When we first arrived there was an issue with the Internet and they addressed it and fixed immediately. They have a breakfast-included option which we did. I highly recommend as their breakfast was terrific. We wanted one of the daily specials for a previous morning and the response was - anything you want we'll make! That really encompasses the staff and their helpfulness.

Third - in general the location, rooms, restaurants were all amazing. I read some of the other reviews that said the food was a little high but it was amazing - fresh seafood grilled however you like, lobster tacos, and happy hour each night to watch the sunset. Our room had its own lagoon which was so nice for some privacy. We did eat out at a few different restaurants in the area and all were great.

This is a must visit for sure!

Room Tip: Lagoon room was a great option for us... Close to the beach, but with privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissLSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin K, General Manager at Viceroy Zihuatanejo, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Dear MissLSeattle

Warmest greetings from Viceroy Zihuatanejo !!

I am glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay and really look forward to keep welcoming you for many years to come.

Best wishes from all of us here at Viceroy Zihuatanejo.

Martin Kipping
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

I am a picky person. To put my wedding in the hands of a total stranger was a leap of faith to say the least. Angelica, the Viceroy wedding planner, Adan the photographer and the entire Viceroy staff was AMAZING. Angelica is such a sweet woman, and very responsive as we worked together to plan my dream wedding. What Angelica, Adan, and the entire staff managed went well above and beyond ANYTHING I could have hoped or dreamed of. The hotel bent over backwards to make sure everything was perfect, and they did it all so laid back, it even put a Type A like myself at ease. Our room was lovely and quiet, the food at the resort was excellent and the location of the hotel can not be beat. The lounge chairs at the beach, the stunning pools and the landscape of the hotel is just beautiful. I had been to Zihua several times before, but never stayed at the Viceroy. I can't recommend it highly enough. To those travelers that till shy away from Mexico- please don't shy away from Zihuatanejo. It is so quiet, so quaint, the locals are so friendly and helpful- it could be a training center for customer service... also, when my step son had an unfortunate beach incident - about half the resort staff came to help, they had a medical doctor who was fabulous there in a matter of minutes and x-rays taken, diagnosed and the whole ordeal done in less time than it would take to get registered at a US hospital. Adan, the photographer even road along in the ambulance to help! What could have been a terrifying experience ended up being just very touching, and representative of what Zihua is all about. I recommend this resort whole heartedly - Go to Zihuatanejo, kick back, unplug, relax, let them take care of you and help them out by spending your money there!

Room Tip: Lagoon suite was lovely, close to the beach, and very quiet and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCDIVERDOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zihuatanejo hotels
0.4 mi away
La Casa Que Canta
La Casa Que Canta
#2 of 80 in Zihuatanejo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aura del Mar Hotel
Aura del Mar Hotel
#1 of 80 in Zihuatanejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
6.2 mi away
Capella Ixtapa
Capella Ixtapa
#5 of 22 in Ixtapa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Las Palmas Beachfront Villas
Las Palmas Beachfront Villas
#13 of 80 in Zihuatanejo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
0.3 mi away
Embarc Zihuatanejo
Embarc Zihuatanejo
#6 of 80 in Zihuatanejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Irma
Hotel Irma
#9 of 80 in Zihuatanejo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viceroy Zihuatanejo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viceroy Zihuatanejo

Property: Viceroy Zihuatanejo
Address: Calle Playa La Ropa s/n, Zihuatanejo 40895, Mexico (Formerly The Tides Zihuatanejo)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#5 Luxury Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#9 Romantic Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#10 Family Hotel in Zihuatanejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Viceroy Zihuatanejo 5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cool garden waterfalls, enchanted lagoons and elegant adobe-inspired villas nestle along one of Mexico's premier beaches to make up the romantic Viceroy Zihuatanejo. 46 Guestrooms and suites afford stunning garden and ocean views across a tranquil beach. Relaxed contentment is made complete with award winning Mexican as well as Pacific Seafood cuisine, 3 swimming pools including a spectacular seaside infinity pool, an intimate spa and superb service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Viceroy Zihuatanejo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tides Zihuatanejo Hotel Zihuatanejo
The Tides Hotel Zihuatanejo
The Tides Resort Zihuatanejo
Villa Del Sol Zihuatanejo
Tides Zihuatanejo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing