We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost Heaven”
Review of Hotel Irma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Irma
Ranked #12 of 79 Hotels in Zihuatanejo
Certificate of Excellence
Burnaby, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Almost Heaven”
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Over 20 of us stayed at Hotel Irma for a Zumba retreat. I found all of the staff to be very friendly and helpful in the extreme when I hurt myself offsite and had to be carried to my room. The infinity pool, happy hour, food and views of the bay from the room were all magnificent. The walk to El Centro or to Playa de la Ropa are each about 15 minutes. Would I go back? In a heartbeat!

This is not a place for guests with significant mobility issues as there are lots of stairs, no elevator and it is on the side of a fairly steep hill.

Other reviewers' comments regarding hard beds and lumpy pillows led my sister to comment that that seems to be the norm in Mexico, in her experience. We bought small neck bolster pillows for more comfort.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank catica_canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    189
    47
    10
    4
See reviews for
86
199
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hope, Alaska
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

The Hotel Irma was a great find on our first trip to Zihua. Central to the beaches, markets and restaurants it fit the bill for us. Rooms were clean, air conditioned and reasonably well appointed. Bathroom and shower worked just fine though at peak times hot water was slow to arrive. Beds were a little too spartan for real comfort, though par for the course in this part of the world. Views from the ocean side bedroom were well worth the extra money and the 'infinity' pool was the icing on the cake. Traveling this way again we'll plan on staying here.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brendan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Wenatchee,Wa
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

my wife and i just yesterday came home from a week stay at hotel Irma in Zihuatanejo, and i must say the hotel and rooms are very nice with a beautiful view from your room and just about anywhere, but they are seriously lacking with their bar service, the 1st day we were there, we tipped the waiter 5 U.S dollars after the first drink and never saw him again, thru - out the rest of our stay the service was just as bad, also we never had hot water in our room except for a trickle, and that is why we checked out 2 days early. The staff are very friendly, and the room was cleaned very well daily, the prices at the bar and restaurant are very expensive which is why we walked to town daily, in my opinion if they lowered the prices at the restaurant and bar they would keep more patron,s on the property. The hotel is great though and in a great location close to town and to La Ropa beach, will we stay again, No.

Room Tip: any room oceanview is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brwisaacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 December 2013

My husband and I spent our honeymoon in Zihuatanejo 25 years ago and stayed at the
wonderful Hotel Irma at that time.
We returned to Hotel Irma this past January/February 2013 to celebrate our 25th Anniversary.

In our opinion Hotel Irma is THE best place to stay in Zihuatanejo. The stunning view overlooking
Playa Madero and the gorgeous bay is unequaled.

Add to that the charm that has remained throughout the hotel .... lovely balcony rooms in
traditional Mexican colours and architecture; lush well-tended tropical plants throughout every
area of the hotel; a lovely serene dining room overlooking the bay; excellent food with choices
both Canadian/American and delicious Mexican dishes; wonderful servers and management
in the dining room and patio/pool areas; ever so helpful front desk staff (Jimmy is a really
special man); two pools - one of which is an infinity pool; and everything is immaculate.

We met many couples who have returned year after year to Hotel Irma. We too look forward to returning to Hotel Irma as often as possible. It is a true gem.

...Carol and Mac

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony and ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fergus882013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We stayed 5 nights at Irma. The location is excellent, short walk to downtown. Great views of Playa Madera and also an easy walk to Playa Ropa. Friendly staff. Wonderful happy hour (ask the staff for details). 2 pools. Overall comfortable and clean. We enjoyed breakfast a few mornings (get the chilaquillas verde con heuvos). There is a women who teaches yoga most mornings. The hotel overlooks the beach and you walk down about 3 flights of stairs to get onto the beach.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aeaasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Desert, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

I have been staying at Hotel Irma now for 13 nights. The location is excellent. It's a pleasant 10 minute walk to beautiful Playa La Ropa. In the opposite direction, it’s another pleasent 10 to 15 minute walk to downtown Zihuatanejo. Best of all the Hotel sits above Playa Madera with fantastic ocean views and stairs that lead down to the beach. There are two great pools which also have great views of the ocean.

The rooms are simple, but more than adequate with tile floors, air-conditioners, small TVs, and comfortable beds. The ocean view rooms are the best value I have seen in Zihuatanejo. The staff is professional, friendly, and very knowledgeable about the area. I will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PATRICK P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

We come to Irma every year and it has yet to disappoint us. The staff are so friendly and the views are stunning. We usually get the breakfast includes which is good bang for your buck! The food is a little fancier and so tasty! The only complaint are that the beds are a little stiff and the pillows quite lumpy! But the atmosphere and culture here is great! There is also a walk way to town. Quite safe. And the markets are full of trinkets and cheap tequila. All in all Irma is one of our favourite places and comes highly recommended.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank ckmarko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zihuatanejo hotels
0.1 mi away
Aura del Mar Hotel
Aura del Mar Hotel
#1 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
543 reviews
4.2 mi away
Posada Real Ixtapa
Posada Real Ixtapa
#10 of 22 in Ixtapa
410 reviews
3.9 mi away
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villas Miramar
Villas Miramar
#40 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
90 reviews
3.2 mi away
Las Brisas Ixtapa
Las Brisas Ixtapa
#7 of 22 in Ixtapa
2,168 reviews
0.4 mi away
Catalina Beach Resort
Catalina Beach Resort
#35 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Irma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Irma

Property: Hotel Irma
Address: Adelita s/n, Playa la Madera, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#13 Family Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#19 Romantic Hotel in Zihuatanejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Irma 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Irma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Irma Hotel Zihuatanejo
Hotel Irma Zihuatanejo
Irma Hotel Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing