We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel for couples, not great for families”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Irma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Irma
Ranked #9 of 80 Hotels in Zihuatanejo
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Hotel for couples, not great for families”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Hotel Irma is high up on the cliff with great views and a nice pool area. There are stairs to the beach from the pool area.
The restaurant has a good breakfast buffet, which is some cases , comes with the room. The restaurant was very average for lunch and dinner. There are several restaurants just down the road that offer better fare.

The rooms are small and the bathroom just has a swing type galley type door on it, so it is not very private. Fine for a couple, but not for a family.

The staff was friendly and helpful. Ask for room 101 as it is on the end , so it is quieter and also the personal patio is a bit more private.

Room Tip: Choose room 101 , on the end and close to the pool but quiet and private
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sharmaine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    186
    47
    8
    3
See reviews for
80
195
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Courtenay, Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Our favorite spot in Zihua, perched on the cliff overlooking the bay. Spectacular view, the restaurant (plus superb Mexian dishes) provides a beautiful view of nighttime Zihua. Staff very friendly, proficient in Spanish and English. Great infinity pool, and poolside service.
Very Mexican in colours and atmosphere. Nice rooms, not luxurious but who needs luxury when you have that view.

Room Tip: The rooms with a view and balcony are the way to go. Very good rates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

A solid 3 star hotel, not super luxurious but a very good value for the price. Wifi in lobby only, perhaps not great for elderly travelers due to the stairs. Happy hour 2 for 1 drinks! Staff helpful and attentive, nice 15 minute walk to downtown. 2 pools and awesome sunsets from the pool area.
A great choice for budget conscious travelers or as alternative to glitzy Ixtapa. Isn't this 200 characters yet ?

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple Ridge, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

We had a wonderful stay at this hotel. The rooms were clean and the staff were great. The staff always had smiles on their faces and we're very kind and accommodating. The ocean views were beautiful. We were on the sixth floor which was a good climb, but we are in good physical shape so it wasn't a problem for us. The food at their restaurant was very good. It was a short walk to the village to take in the markets and festivals. We were also able to walk to La Roba beach and Playa Las Gatos. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a ocean view on the lower floors if you cannot climb stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BJTAY2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cold Lake, Alberta
Level Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

My husband and I spent eight wonderful nights at the Hotel Irma and would without a doubt return to the Zihuatanejo area and the Hotel Irma!!! Our room was ideally located, was always spotless, had an amazing ocean view, a wonderful patio and fantastic neighbors. The infinity pool was great too. We chose to have breakfast each morning at the Irma restaurant and were pleasantly surprised with the variety and wonderful flavors. Great coffee too which appeared to be free from 7:30 to 8:00. There are many restaurants around that also offer breakfast. We asked at the desk about a cooler and were given a styrofoam one for our room. Ice could be purchased at the bar and beverages at most convenience stores. One bottle of complimentary water was provided daily. We had no room concerns, there was a keyed safe in the room. Staff were friendly and welcoming however most things we learned about the hotel and the area was from fellow travelers and not from staff. One suggestion would be an information handout which advises guests of things like the free coffee and the sister hotel (Mexicana Villas) on Playa La Ropa which can be used by Hotel Irma guests by simply displaying your hotel towel. The hotel is at the top of a hill so if a walker be prepared. Taxis' are available at all hours of the day for a variety of prices. We walked every where day or night and simply used the same precautions we use at home. We never felt unsafe. There are many restaurants which offer great food. Some of our best meals were had at Cafe Marina (Juan was wonderful as were the margaritas), Candela, Banditos and Casa La Viejo. Others we spoke with did not enjoy Casa La Viejo but suggested Don Memos and Lety's. Many, many choices. Places to visit include Playa Las Gatas - walk or take a water taxi for 40 pesos return - no tipping necessary. Several beach side restaurants have staff who will want you to spend the day on one of their lounge chairs. Make sure you know the prices of drinks and food or be prepared for a surprise when paying your bill. I do believe that Hector ripped us off. Would you like to tour the area??? Juan Carlos Garcia was a fantastic personal guide to Zihuatanejo and surrounding area. For 1500 pesos we spent an entire day with Juan who is a fun, friendly and knowledgeable tour guide. From the downtown markets, to the attractions at Ixtapa, to Playa Blanca and Playa Larga, to lunch on the beach at Barra de Potosi, to the newly discovered ruins, to the country side of authentic Mexico Juan's tour was one to be remembered. We highly recommend a tour with Juan Carlos Garcia who we found on his website. We arrived at the hotel in a taxi which cost 380 pesos and it cost us 200 pesos to get back to the airport. Can not wait to return to Zihuatanejo!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DanaColdlakeAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbotsford, B.C. Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights before going to Ixtapa. Loved the convenience of having centro Zihuatenejo so close as well as a multitude of great restaraunts. If this place had a fridge, coffee maker and microwave it would be a definate plus. We will probably look for a hotel or condo with these conveniences next time but if you are only there for a few days it's location can't be beat

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank brew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

Very nice location, 6 story hotel, no elevators, overlooking the bay where you can watch all the daytime activities from pool side or your balcony. The night views are spectacular. Rooms and bathrooms are small. The mirror in the bathroom is made for someone five feet tall. I had to take a chair into the bathroom to sit and shave comfortably. Water pressure in the prime showering hours can be non- existent. Food and drinks were very good. The staff were by most part tolerant but not overly friendly. Some of the staff especially, Roseo, we're very good. I never saw management come out and express their appreciation for coming to the hotel.
I would go back, however, I would expect more from the senior management.

Room Tip: Room 503 and any of the ocean view rooms on the higher floors are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Max8219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zihuatanejo hotels
0.1 mi away
Aura del Mar Hotel
Aura del Mar Hotel
#1 of 80 in Zihuatanejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
3.9 mi away
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
4.2 mi away
Posada Real Ixtapa
Posada Real Ixtapa
#10 of 22 in Ixtapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Krystal Ixtapa
Krystal Ixtapa
#20 of 22 in Ixtapa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
3.2 mi away
Las Brisas Ixtapa
Las Brisas Ixtapa
#7 of 22 in Ixtapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,750 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa Mexicana Hotel
Villa Mexicana Hotel
#24 of 80 in Zihuatanejo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Irma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Irma

Property: Hotel Irma
Address: Adelita s/n, Playa la Madera, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#13 Family Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#19 Romantic Hotel in Zihuatanejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Irma 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Irma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Irma Hotel Zihuatanejo
Hotel Irma Zihuatanejo
Irma Hotel Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing