We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Place To Stay in Zihuantanejo”
Review of Hotel Irma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Irma
Ranked #12 of 78 Hotels in Zihuatanejo
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Place To Stay in Zihuantanejo”
Reviewed 24 December 2008

We spent 8 days/nights at the Hotel Irma in November. The reviews were great, but the hotel was even better. At this time of year, the hotel was nearly empty and we enjoyed a practically "private" resort.

As others have mentioned, the hotel is on the cliff side overlooking beautiful Zihua bay. There is a steep stone staircase leading down to the beach, or one can walk down the streetside to the beach access. The hotel has 2 gorgeous pools and plenty of lounge chairs. Since our stay was during the low season, we never had any problems with finding chairs - our only problem was deciding which ones.

The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful, from the front desk clerks (hola Jaime!) to the wonderful wait staff and housekeepers, who kept our room spotless and created adorable towel animals every night. Our room overlooked the bay with a balcony and chairs. The room was huge, and had a king size bed, large walk in shower, plenty of shelves for storage, and beautifully decorated.

We ate breakfast most days at the hotel, and the food and views were excellent. Breakfast was about $7 a day. Breakfast can be had for about $3 elsewhere, but not with this view. Food was delicious and fresh.

The Hotel Irma is in very convenient location, about 10 minutes walk to downtown Zihua. There are restaurants close by, as well as an internet cafe and small bodegas. Cabs are readily available. The hotel is at the top of a steep hill, which could be a challenge for older or less fit guests, but we enjoyed the climb. It helped burn off some of the great meals we had. Don't miss Rufo's Grill, just down the hill from the Irma.

  • Liked — The beauty of the location, the staff, the view, the comfort, the food.
  • Disliked — That we couldn't stay longer!
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Aly0705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    189
    47
    10
    4
See reviews for
86
199
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2008

Stayed at the Hotel Irma on our last trip to Zihua, Mexico. Our stay was wondeful! The hotel is very clean, the staff very friendly and the view of the bay is very picturesque. Its quite affordable ($110/night) and the pool over looking the bay is the best part. Its quite close to downtown Zihua (10 minutes by foot) and the beach is just down a set of stairs (well, 88 stairs to be extact, but this gives the Hotel quite a view). The rooms have very good a/c and most of the rooms have ocean views. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel. Its kid friendly too.

  • Liked — The views of the bay.
  • Disliked — Our room was a bit small.
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zenwhipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2008

We stayed at Hotel Irma for three nights and thoroughly enjoyed our time there. The check-in was smooth and we were able to get our room even though we arrived at 7AM. The room was very clean and comfortable and the view from our balcony was incredible. I loved the two pools and they never seemed too crowded even though the hotel was fully booked (it was Mexican Independance Day weekend). The restaurant and poolside service was fantastic. We loved the cocktails and the complimentary breakfast. I really liked the bit of beach right down the steps from the hotel - it is on Playa Madera. You could also very easily walk to Playa la Ropa and enjoy the restaurants and beach there (easily if you can handle hills that is!)
It really is a beautiful hotel and a great value. I have stayed right on Playa la Ropa before but I enjoyed the Irma much, much more and thought it deserved a review.

  • Liked — the views, the pools, the service and location
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chitchenhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2008

We stayed at the Hotel Irma March 27-April 3, 2008. I have nothing but good things to say about the hotel, restauant, bar and staff. I highly recommend this hotel. It is in a great location. There are restaurants, stores and vendors nearby. The hotel is beautiful and clean. We never had a problem getting chairs by the pool and many times we were the only ones using the pool. The hotel was quiet at night, with the exception of the waves crashing on the shore. The food in the restaurant was superb, at a good price. Drinks at the bar were mixed perfect and very reasonably priced. The staff were very friendly. A great place to relax!

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
4 Thank pinokeho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alaska
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2008

My family stayed at this hotel for 4 days in March, after 10 days in Ixtapa. We were so blown away by the awesome AFFORDABLE view and service, that we have vowed to stay here again if our plans ever take us to this area again. We paid mega bucks for a hotel in Ixtapa for a room that was not on the ocean and were very happy when we came to this hotel. Our first room was not an ocean front room, it was a partial ocean view, room 11. They moved us to 505 the next day, and I could have spent the entire vacation on our balcony with a million dollar view of the Zihua bay!! What a treat! The room had a/c, ample closet space and a large bathroom. The room was clean and comfortable. We walked the two or so miles to the Mexicana Commercial (Walmart type store) and stocked up on snacks, drinks and groceries to offset some of the food cost. The hotel lent us a cooler, with which we filled with ice to keep things cold. We discovered that the prices in the ocean view restuarant were very reasonable and really didn't have to by so much food. You could get breakfast for three people for around $10-13 US and lunch for less than $15 total. There were other people in the hotel who walked a little way to the local eateries and ate for much less, but we had a two year old an it was easier for us to stay at the pool to occupy her. Many of the people we came across here are loyal patrons who return year after year, some have been coming for 26 years!!!! My little girl got sunburned on her face pretty bad from staying in the pool from 10am-3pm one day, despite sunscreen and the manager, gave us SPF 100 and some burn cream, we didn't even ask for anything. You can also get connected to the international operator for calls to the US for FREE from your room!!! The hotels in Ixtapa charged 1-2$ US for this service. What else can I say about this hotel, I don't want to give this secret away, because I want to be able to book our next stay here, at the same time, I want them to be recongized for their excellent service and value.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
5 Thank GolovinGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oshawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2008

Just returned from two weeks at Hotel Irma. We were Canadians that had booked a package and no we did not get the ocean front rooms. We got the rooms that were on the side. We started off in Rm 3 which is one of the worst rooms but were moved in two days to Rm 10, which was alot better. Partial oceanview, alot brighter, with a large common terrace. The only problem with the terrace was in the early morning people liked to meet there and chat before they went out and were quite loud. Some people need to realize that not everyone is up at 7 a.m.
The staff was very friendly and helpful. Jimi who worked the front desk on the evening shift is super!!! Most of the front desk staff were very friendly always trying to help from getting you water for your room to drawing on a map a place you wanted to go see to giving advise on what bus to take and where it goes. The guys that work the restaurant are also very nice. Trying to help you with your spanish or making sure you have what you need. I miss my morning spanish lessons!! The guys that work the bar area are also great. They will get you ice for your cooler!!! Free but i usually gave them a buck or two. They also have happy hour daily from 12-1 and 5-7, which is great for sunset!! It is only for blender drinks like magaritas and pina coladas. Not beers.
Our rooms was cleaned daily and fresh towels and sheets. They leave two bottles of water but if you leave a note they will leave more.
You can get coffee in the morning at 7:30 from the restaurant. If you get to go coffee they have a tip glass and you can put a buck or two in it. If you sit down for a coffee they charge you $1.50 a coffee. Breakfasts were quite good there.
They also have free wireless internet but it only works in the lobby. You get the wireless code from the front desk.
Overall we had a great experience at Irma. Location is great for walking downtown 10 minutes at the most. Or up to the top of the hill to catch the bus to La Ropa for $0.50. Always cabs out front if you wanted one. And never pay more than $3 to go anywhere in town. Sometimes they will act like they don't have change but they do.
If you are looking for a nice, clean, friendly place to lay your head at night and relax this place is for you. And view is amazing!!

  • Liked — The view and cleanliness and friendly staff.
  • Disliked — The fact that Canadian tour companies are not granted ocaeanview rooms.
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank ripcats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2008

Entry is a beautiful mixture of old Mexican tile and greenery to a view of the ocean. Room was basic but served the purpose of sleeping and showering. No coffee pot, but there is a hair dryer. Room was clean, bedding fresh and bottled water kept in supply. Got the Hallmark channel in English. Plenty of hot water and laundry service. Rarely saw anyone else on patio on our level. There are tables, chairs and chaise lounges on patio. Most rooms look out on the Pacific. The hotel is a series of terraced rooms that share several patios. There is a wonderful green area mid-hotel that I discovered by accident while exploring the different terraces that boasted a banana plant with bananas almost ready to harvest! To get to the beach is 101 steps down a concrete and stone open-aired stairwell that was at first a challenge for us slightly out of shape 50+ year olds, but we quickly adapted or can walk down hill in front of hotel and make easy beach access just past next door hotel. Simple 10-15 min.walk down hill to water front shopping and restaurants but walk back up can be tough for out of shape, We ate many meals in restaurant and were pleased with quality and wonderful attentive service although coffee was not very good. Restaurant overlooks pool area and Pacific, very relaxing. We are ready to go back, felt very comfortable and welcomed. We sampled many of the open-aired restaurants and can honestly say we did not have a bad meal any where...be prepared for constant interruption by the peddlers while you are eating, some are persistent but a smile and a firm "no gracias" will have them moving on to next table.

  • Liked — Quiet, comfortable, beautiful views
  • Disliked — the hill
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank OregonDoglady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zihuatanejo hotels
3.9 mi away
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
4.2 mi away
Posada Real Ixtapa
Posada Real Ixtapa
#9 of 22 in Ixtapa
415 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aura del Mar Hotel
Aura del Mar Hotel
#2 of 78 in Zihuatanejo
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villas Miramar
Villas Miramar
#38 of 78 in Zihuatanejo
91 reviews
3.2 mi away
Las Brisas Ixtapa
Las Brisas Ixtapa
#7 of 22 in Ixtapa
2,289 reviews
0.4 mi away
Catalina Beach Resort
Catalina Beach Resort
#34 of 78 in Zihuatanejo
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Irma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Irma

Property: Hotel Irma
Address: Adelita s/n, Playa la Madera, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#12 Family Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#18 Romantic Hotel in Zihuatanejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Irma 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Irma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Irma Hotel Zihuatanejo
Hotel Irma Zihuatanejo
Irma Hotel Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing