We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Playa Larga

Ranked #12 of 59 things to do in Zihuatanejo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: With almost two miles of sand, this beach is ideal for long walks, jogging or soaking up rays.
Lake Wales, Florida
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

We walked the long pristine beach and watched three dolphins play in the surf. Hardly anyone there so you felt like you were far away from civilization. Stopped at a little cafe for a drink and snack. A unique beach experience.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank PeachMWeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    39
    5
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
117 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“2 different beaches”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

We first went to Barra de Potosi there are several beach restaurants it has a lagoon and boat tours the food and beer is real inexpensive and very good it seems the wide beach is gone since the last storm. It is allot farther then Playa Larga we then stopped at playa Larga it is very wide beach but pretty desolate there are a few beach bar restaurants and 1 hotel that we saw

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“the snail”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

great food, a fantastic beach, real coconuts, no one around, the best grilled fish for a fraction of what we paid elsewhere

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Redfish414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince George, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice beach!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

Beautiful beach. Volleyball nets, nice sand, a huge selection of restaurants and bars!! Nice place to spend a quiet day. Not as busy as the other beaches.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank review0904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whittier, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazing Beach, Wonderful Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

We visit this beach every time we vacation in Ixtapa...just a short 20 minute ride by taxi. Spending the day on this unspoiled amazingly clean beach is a must. The beach goes for miles, the dolphin sitings are numerous and the food amazing. We choose Popeyes Restaurant every visit. Relax on hammocks that surround the open air restaurant, or enjoy dining around colorfully set tables under shaded palapas. The food is amazing. We always order the freshly caught red snapper which is grilled with wonderful seasonings served on a platter with rice. There are a variety of items on the menu, and everything is delicious.

It's a day the whole family can enjoy as the restaurant offers a great pool for the children or cross the dirt road and enjoy a swim in a larger pool. Either way, it's a beautiful beach with amazing views of dolphin pods and some good body or boogie boarding waves....you should be a good swimmer as the undertow is quite strong in this area.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rosetta4352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Playa Larga also viewed

Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
 
Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo
 

Been to Playa Larga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing