We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing, friendly staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of WorldMark Zihuatanejo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
WorldMark Zihuatanejo
Certificate of Excellence
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Relaxing, friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

This was our second time to Villa Vera, Feb 1 - 15, 2014. It was so nice to see the same staff there that we met when we were there 2 years ago. They remembered us too. We had 2 different rooms. The first week was a medium room and the second week was a large. The Medium room was just fine. The large was the exact same room we had 2 years ago.

The best part of this hotel is their pool. It is large so can accommodate lots of people and the view of the bay is wonderful. This is a 23 room boutique hotel and the people who come have been coming for many years so it is like family reunion time. They visit with each other. We learned so much from these people about things to do, see and places and restaurants to eat at.

The hotel could use some refreshing to make it just that much better.

We had their Caesar salad and it was great and mimosas at happy hours. We did find the restaurant pricy.

We walked down the hill each day to get breakfast and suppers in the town. The prices are much better downtown and the variety of restaurants with great food is amazing.

We never felt unsafe walking up the mountain after suppers. It is a good idea to carry a small flashlight to help you from tripping over cobble stones or holes where stones have come out. There are some street lights, but there are a couple areas where it was a big darker.

Room Tip: There are 2 rooms at either end of the hotel up on the top level that have curling staircases to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Queenbrenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    62
    7
    5
    4
See reviews for
10
106
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

We enjoyed our stay except our reservation for a 1 bedroom unit was not honored at check in. Booked though RCI as an exchange of 2 bedroom unit. Were told by Julia the RCI rep that we could not received that unit because we were a party of 2 and it required 4--- We suggested that we go rent some people out in the town to join us. Then we suggested it was very deceptive. With all this said we received a room with two double beds no interior seating for watching TV or the ability to watch TV and the other person to sleep without being disturbed. I do have to said this was the biggest negative. The building needs renovation especially the pool, missing grout, tile and mold-- but the view is great. Plan on climbing 4 flights of stairs at minimum for access to bar/restraint or walk into town. Internet would not work with my laptop but the staff refunded the fee. What made this place great was the service and the staff with the except of Julia the RCI rep, the view from our room and the relaxed atmosphere. This is not a place for night life or pool activities etc.-- but is a plus for us-- no constant music by the pool we could read and talk.

Room Tip: forget it --- they will not honor if some of there timeshare members or long time patrons are there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stampedetravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terrace, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

We stayed there, and found it to be very relaxing, it has its own pool, for taking in the sun in peace and quiet. The restaurtant has a very good chief, the food was great and more than what you could eat. Very nice view of the harbour and bay area. Rooms were very clean and comfortable. The staffing was the best!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don_Sparks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

Booked through Priceline November (5) for 7 days . Rate included Internet and breakfast daily the hotel would not honor .We paid hotel for the Internet $30.00 and one days breakfast. On our return contacted Priceline and are still getting jerked around(Dec 30) Priceline claims hotel did not charge us (receipt) has been faxed and e mailed . This may not be the hotels fault but they are still advertising this deal (Dec 30). Why is the hotel still letting this happen? On a positive note we did enjoy our stay just sad they keep allowing this to happen

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CDH124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

Pros: The views from every room and the pool and restaurant area are stunning. It is very quiet and peaceful location. It is a short walk to great restaurants in the downtown area. You can walk to the marina and take a water taxi to Las Gatas Beach for only 20 pesos pp each way.
The restaurant served excellent food and large servings. It is generally a little higher priced than in town, BUT not out of line for the quality and generous servings. Their drinks are huge and well made, definitely higher than town but there are two happy hours in the day that make the fabulous drinks a bargain.
The infinity pool is small but it only matters if you want to do laps. There are lots of comfortable loungers and areas for shade. I believe there are only 21 rooms and so the pool was never crowded. You won’t be bothered by anyone selling merchandise either.
Staff are very friendly, attentive and work very hard to make your stay enjoyable.
There are two computers you can use if you don’t want to pay the extra fee for wi-fi which is inconsistent anyways.
Each room appeared to be laid out differently. Most have balconies (but not all) small to large. We had lots of space in our room, yet the bathroom area was small. We had a mini bar with a bit of space for personal use.
It is an older Mexican style hotel that has been well maintained. Do not expect it to look or feel like you are in a North American Hotel.
We absolutely loved it and would stay here again.
Cons: It is on the top of a hill so you either need to be in good shape to walk back to the hotel or you need to take a taxi. It didn’t bother us as we loved getting the exercise. If you want to be on the beach, this is not the place for you. We like the beach but still loved staying here as we enjoy walking. But for most people it is quite a distance to the beautiful La Ropa beach.
There are no elevators which means there can be lots of stairs if you are on the top floor.
Just down the road were two of our favorite restaurants, Lety’s (you must have the coconut shrimp there and another favorite is the shrimp/spaghetti with chipotle cream sauce) and Coco Bahia Botanas and Tapas.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank VictoriaTraveller15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zihuatanejo, Mexico
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

This is our second trip and enjoyed very much. It is very walkable to town, but taxi back and there are over 50 steps up to the pool, not to mention the uphill trek to get there. A little over 20 rooms, all interesting. We spent a bit more to have a balcony which is a spectacular view. View from the pool/restaurant is terrific. It is interesting how we met everone who stayed there around the pool (11 days) and felt homey.There are few, if any other hotels on this side of the hill. A couple other restaurants at the bottom. There is no beach, but we took the boat to Las Gatos and cabbed to LaRopa. It could use an update to be considered a true resort, but it is very comfortable. We will go back and stay there again. Air conditioners were new and effiecient

Room Tip: No fitnees center and we didnt have room service though I am sure they would bring it to your room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barney1180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown, KY
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

We loved this resort! The staff was awesome, the restaurant was great (even though a little limited in the menu) and the view was nothing short of spectacular. They warn you about the steps...that is understated. We were upgraded to the 5th floor. 4 flights of stairs to the 4th floor and then a sprial staircase to the 5th. The walk to town is ~1/2 mile, but its all uphil on the return trip. There's no easy beach access but we didn't miss it. Other resorts are busy and crowded on either side, but Villa Vera is somewhat isolated making it a great choice for those who want to get away from the busy crowded resorts and for those where less is more. I was concerned about my wife and the hills and stairs, but even after looking some of the other resorts over such as the Pacifica, she is already planning a return trip to Villa Vera!

Room Tip: We loved the one bedroom, it is my understanding that the studios do not have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dlsorrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zihuatanejo hotels
0.8 mi away
La Casa Que Canta
La Casa Que Canta
#2 of 81 in Zihuatanejo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aura del Mar Hotel
Aura del Mar Hotel
#1 of 81 in Zihuatanejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
0.9 mi away
Embarc Zihuatanejo
Embarc Zihuatanejo
#6 of 81 in Zihuatanejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Irma
Hotel Irma
#10 of 81 in Zihuatanejo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
5.2 mi away
Capella Ixtapa
Capella Ixtapa
#5 of 23 in Ixtapa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
1.1 mi away
Viceroy Zihuatanejo
Viceroy Zihuatanejo
#7 of 81 in Zihuatanejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WorldMark Zihuatanejo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WorldMark Zihuatanejo

Property: WorldMark Zihuatanejo
Address: Paseo del Morro 5 | Col Playa Del Almacen, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico (Formerly Villa Vera Puerto Mio)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 60 Speciality Lodging in Zihuatanejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — WorldMark Zihuatanejo 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soak in the stunning scenery of Zihuatanejo Bay in Ixtapa, Mexico at WorldMark Zihuatanejo. You'll find paradise in this pacific coast retreat with spacious one-bedroom suites featuring kind-size beds, scenic bay views, private balconies, and wireless Internet access (fee applicable). Escape to Ixtapa pleasures in this intimate seaside hideaway with breathtaking coastal vistas. The resort is situated on 30 tropical acres and offers an outdoor pool, a restaurant and bar with a meal plan option, concierge, room service, laundry facilities, business center, 24-hour front desk and onsite car rental. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Vera Puerto Mio Hotel Zihuatanejo
Hotel Vera Puerto Mio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing