We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Catalina Beach Resort
Ranked #34 of 77 Hotels in Zihuatanejo
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Good location. The staff was exceptionally helpful and friendly. The rooms were very comfortable, great. King size bed is very comfortable. Good cleaning. WI-FI in the room and on the balcony worked well. Good, secure parking. The hotel is so close to the sea that I you can listen to it via the open window all the time (there is no glass in the windows) . I recommend. Not suitable for very elderly people, a lot of stone steps at the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank doberoscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (191)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 191 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2013

Hotel is OK, pool is good and beach is great, although this last thing has more to do with mother nature than with good hotel management. Beds are as bad as they can be, pillows are not only as slim as sheets but are also dirty as...well, real dirty. I decided to move out of the hotel after one night even when I had booked 5 nights, when I told the receptionist I was checking out, he said "OK", I was a little surprised he didn't even asked why or even "how did you like your stay?" for that matter. So, very poor management.

Room Tip: Just make sure you have clean pillows and decent mattresses.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank Luis42644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

This was our first trip to Zihuatanejo. The Catalina Beach Resort was exactly as described in other reviews. We stayed in a "deluxe bungalow" which was not a bungalow at all, just a larger room with air conditioning. The air conditioner blew right on the beds, which was a bit of a problem at night. There are a lot of stairs and for longer stays (we only stayed 4 nights) you would get used to them but my legs stopped hurting the day we left. However, being right on the beach was worth it - we love having access to beach chairs/lounges where we stay - I would not want to stay anywhere other than right on the beach. Playa La Ropa is a great beach - clean, not too rough and there is a nice snorkel spot nearby. It would be nice if there were a greater variety of restaurants on the beach for dinner - some of the best ones are quite a walk from Catalina and by dinner time we were too tired to try them. The one right next to Cataline - Elvira - was excellent, however. The pool is to die for - great view and just the right temperature.

I did get some insect bites the day before we left but I think it was mostly on the beach and I probably neglected repellant that day. I was not overly bothered by mosquitoes as I usually am when I travel to the tropics.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank qwerty50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

It would be a good place for a couple that wants a quiet place to stay or a family that doesn’t want to worry about the kids getting lost from their room to the beach.
It’s located only a 5 min. cab ride or a 20 min. walk from downtown.
Its beach is clean and quiet and there was hotel staff on the beach to meet our needs. The Hotel is built on a hill so there are steps to walk but we found the steps to not be a problem. It’s an older hotel, built in the 50’s so don’t expect a ‘Hilton’ 5 star environment but its clean, quiet and safe. The staff was very helpful and "Celso" that works the front desk is more than happy to help you with any needs. The Restaurant is a nice place to eat with a great view of the ocean and reasonable prices. The staff didn’t have a problem with me grabbing stuff to eat or drink and taking it back to the room. We stayed in a Bungalow; I believe room 41 which is half way between the beach and the lobby/restaurant. It was HUGE! It would easily sleep 4 because of the two couches. There was A/C [which you must have] a T.V and refrigerator. Two hammocks’ and a day bed on the patio, with a beautiful view of the ocean. The refrigerator was nice to have because it saved a little money for food. The pool was very clean with ‘priceless’ view of the ocean. The doors needed trim at the bottoms so we used our spare towels to block out the crabs from the beach from coming in at night but once we put the towels down it wasn’t a problem.
I would not stay in Ixtapa because there’s not much there. Only a couple places to shop [Zihuatanejo has hundreds of little shops] and there’s only a couple places to eat, where Zihuatanejo has many more place to eat at. The locals live in Zihuatanejo and a lot of them work in Ixtapa. Bandido's De Zihua, restaurant, in Zihuatanejo was too expensive for what you get.
Don’t go to the Los Gatos beach, its small and crowded. Go to Ixtapa Island to snorkel, its much nicer. A 40 peso cab ride from the hotel to downtown Zihuatanejo and a 10 peso bus trip to the Los Gatos beach in Ixtapa will have you snorkeling in 90 min’s easy.
Hope this information helps you. From an American living/traveling in Mexico for almost 12 months now, Tim.

Room Tip: A/C is a must have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank folsom73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

No doubt the grounds/gardens that this hotel is set in are BEAUTIFUL, the staff very polite & friendly, views spectacular, food nice & reasonably priced...but the place/rooms VERY dated, substandard & nowhere near 4 star. No windows, just bug screens (which are not very effective) & things have been patched not repaired. The bathrooms need a complete overall, as do the rooms really. Easily liveable though, but get the room bug sprayed straight away by the staff to save your blood being drained by mosquitos. If you can tolerate the cons the grounds of this place & views make it a worthwhile stay. Loads of steps to climb too if you need to get fit!!

Room Tip: Make sure you go through everything in the room to make sure it works. Many of the fridges are prett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Mickey N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

My family has traveled many times to Zihuatanejo, several times with friends. Of the several hotels we have stayed in, we have returned again and again as we love the Catalina. This hotel is wonderful- very very low key. Built upon a hillside just steps from the beach (lots of stairs- all part of the hotel- staircases wind down to the beach from the restaurant level). A Zihuatanejo tradition, for almost half a century. Built with it's (former) sister hotel next door (- separated by a family feud), the Catalina has maintained the ease and charm of this wonderful resort. Perfectly located on Playa La Ropa- the best of several Zihua beaches. Extremely friendly friendly and accommodating staff- one feels totally at home here.

There are wonderful views of the bay from almost every room. The balconies looking over the water are fantastic. This place can be as restful or as active as you would like. I can't recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: Reserve early. The best rooms in high season are snapped up by regulars, so plan ahead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Perry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We love the Catalina Beach Resort. We just booked our fourth visit and will be heading down in September. We love the staff, the restaurant, the bar, the private beach and the rooms. If you head down in low season you'll have your choice of rooms. The Staff is GREAT! Eva, Javier, Blanca, Selso, Feli....all really care and have been with the resort for years. Most of our day is spent at the beach under a palapa. The beach has a small bar and the staff keeps their private section of the beach groomed and organized. When you get tired of the beach the infinity pool is just a few steps away and is never crowded. The restaurant has many fine selections and is always prepared well and served with a smile. The views from the bar/restaurant are unmatched in Z!

Room Tip: Air Conditioned rooms are plentiful. You'll most likely be able to choose and uograde your room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoeandNicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zihuatanejo hotels
0.5 mi away
Aura del Mar Hotel
Aura del Mar Hotel
#2 of 77 in Zihuatanejo
548 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villas Miramar
Villas Miramar
#39 of 77 in Zihuatanejo
91 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Irma
Hotel Irma
#13 of 77 in Zihuatanejo
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villas Las Azucenas
Hotel Villas Las Azucenas
#37 of 77 in Zihuatanejo
94 reviews
0.1 mi away
Embarc Zihuatanejo
Embarc Zihuatanejo
#10 of 77 in Zihuatanejo
522 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel J.B.
Hotel J.B.
#51 of 77 in Zihuatanejo
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalina Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalina Beach Resort

Address: Calle Playa La Ropa s/n, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#21 Romantic Hotel in Zihuatanejo
Price Range: £44 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Catalina Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular Sunsets Are Seen From The Comfort Of Your Hammock ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Catalina Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalina Beach Hotel Zihuatanejo
Catalina Beach Zihuatanejo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing