We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, quaint, beachfront - and with the amenities you want”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villa Mexicana Hotel
Ranked #24 of 79 Hotels in Zihuatanejo
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice, quaint, beachfront - and with the amenities you want”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Great beachfront property. NO STAIRS! Pool is nice, there is a kids pool too. Restaurant is nice as well. Lots of variety and not too pricey. This is a great place for kids, and the vibe there is mellow - not too uppity or too curmudgeon-y - just right for families or couples who are not too much into the party scene. Masseuse/pedicures onsite. Rooms are a little blah, but clean and simple. Hot water in shower, just don't drink it (as in all of Mexico)! We've been here twice and it is our spot to stay in Z.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ptclough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    121
    31
    12
    11
See reviews for
87
113
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

This was our second trip to Villa Mexicana - this time traveling with our 1 year old. The location on Playa Ropa is excellent and the grounds/pools and public spaces of the hotel are perfect. It's a small property, with 2 very small pools and 1 medium pool so after a couple of days on-site, you kind of "get to know" the other families and couples staying at the property. This is one of the things I really enjoy as people discuss restaurant recommendations, provide friendly chit chat, etc.

We opted for the upgrade to ocean view via email right after we made our on-line reservation. I did not negotiate the rate and got a first floor room right by the pool. This was perfect for our family as you don't have to "pack" a bag ever, the pool and beach are directly outside the door.

While we love the common areas and location of this property, the rooms are just mediocre. On the small side, no refrigerators available, harder beds that could use updated bedding, need a paint job and some wall decorations. With the small size, we put up and took down the pack-n-play daily as the room is just too small to keep a crib up during the day - unless it's in the shower....

The front desk staff at this hotel are very knowledable of the area and extremely friendly as were the housekeepers and maintenance men who made sure to stop and smile and say hello to the baby - she loved it! I will keep returning, but just wish a little TLC would be put into the rooms.

Room Tip: Opt to upgrade to Oceanview. Choose the 2nd floor if you want privacy on the patio. Choose the fir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RachaelDenverCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duluth, MN
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

One of the nicest locations on La Ropa. It's good for a morning walk either direction down the beach.
We went on a package deal thru an agency and got "run of the house" rooms. Upon arrival we were offered upgraded rooms at the front desk at an additional cost. We asked to see both types of rooms. The room they showed us was a back room overlooking a dingy street next door and no ocean view. The "upgraded" rooms were all ocean view. Now, who knows if that is their standard deal to get you to pop for a more expensive room, but our travel partners ran into the same thing. We did "upgrade" though at a negotiated rate about half of what they were originally proposing, whatever that info is worth? Rooms are either two double beds or a single king. The king rooms seem to be a little smaller. Beds have big slightly thicker mattresses on concrete pedestals and no box springs. We found them quite firm, but not uncomfortable. I do have to say, the front desk lady was very pleasant, accomodating and patient as we looked at a few rooms. I think there must have been plenty of vacancies or it was a slow week though.
Contrary to what we were expecting, there was no morning rush for beach chairs. There were plenty of empty palapas and beach chairs any time of day, so it was never crowded. We had breakfast included in our package, but could only order certain items off the menu. Oh, you have to wear one of those colored paper/plastic wristbands for identification. The eligible breakfast items made no sense as there were other menu items costing the same price, but you would have to pay extra. Coffee is free, but as expected, it is not very good. The other oddity is they bring you a bill to sign with the price almost double the amount on the menu, but zeroed out at the bottom of the bill with a "coupon" notation. I can only assume they are playing some kind of reimbursement game with the travel package people or trying to get you to leave a bigger tip based on a bogus higher cost. "Whatever"........ You get choices of simple mexican eggs, omelets, scrambled eggs, tortillas, toast, and either fruit or juice. It's just OK food and nothing to write home about. There didn't seem to be much of a lunch crowd and not much bar business. There are plenty of more interesting lunch venues and decent happy hour places either way down the beach.
Also, contrary to popular belief, walking into Zihuatanejo is not a big deal. I wouldn't recommend it after dark, but just walk down the beach, up a decent hill, and down the street and hang left to town. Also, Playa Las Gatas is accessible along the rocky trail less than a mile down the shore also. The beach had lots of activity most days, with parasailers, jet skiis, banana rides, sailboats, and even a vertical water board propelled by a jet ski. We had a Celebrity cruise ship in port for a day, which partially blocks your ocean view out of the bay. Up the street just around the corner from the hotel is a handy little convenience store for water, liquor, and snacks. It's a bit pricey, but convenient. Exchanging cash at the front desk is pretty easy. You get a little less than at the bank, but probably worth it as you also don't have to stand in line and give the cashier your original passport plus a copy with an armed Mexican guard watching you like the bank. All in all, we really liked the place and would probably go again. Briefly comparing the other hotels around there, this is a good bargain. Adios

Room Tip: 2nd floor ocean view near the restaurant rooms have best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank MeyeView
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Villa Mexicana is the preferred destination of good friends - where they've been going for 10 years or more. This year we went with them (our 1st time in Zihuatinejo) and now we see why they like it so much. Informal, clean, right on the Playa La Ropa, excellent breakfasts and good food for other meals. The beach is clean, uncrowded, beautiful and offers several good restaurants just a stroll down the beach. We'll go back again.

Room Tip: Pick a room that faces the beach for the sound of the surf.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Perrismaster859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhinelander, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

fishing trip. When we checked in they ask for my credit card to put on there record incase we wanted to charge meals or drinks.
when we checked out the gave me a receipt stating nothing was charged to my card.When got my credit card bill there was a $74.00 dollar charge from the hotel.
Hotel is nice and the people are friendly.DON'T GIVE THEM YOUR CARD!
Tried to call them with no response.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank roy j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Our party of three just returned from a six day stay at Villa Mexicana and love the location.
While the food quality has improved since our last visit I would recommend exploring the nearby restaurants for less expensive and better quality food.
Our room was not ready upon arrival, and when we did get our room they were still repairing the shower head. The television did not work, however I was not there to watch TV.
Only one room key was available for three adults and this was problematic as we all did our own thing. Fishing, swimming, shopping etc.
We were "encouraged" to have a credit card on file for ease of purchasing food and beverages during our stay. We made NO charges to our room and when we checked out we were issued a zero balance credit receipt. Since returning home the same credit card has been charged $750.00 after we checked out. These bogus charges have been contested and are being reversed. The hotel staff is willing to listen to any complaints or concerns however they make no attempt to address them. This being said, I will probably stay there again due to the location.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Goodwrench288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
University Place, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Great hotel and service. We had the breakfast included and it was wonderful but my FAVORITE menu item, Marshal Waffles, was not an item included in the breakfast plan. I would like that changed for my next visit!! :)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zihuatanejo hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Irma
Hotel Irma
#12 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
432 reviews
1.0 mi away
Villas Miramar
Villas Miramar
#40 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
90 reviews
1.0 mi away
Aura del Mar Hotel
Aura del Mar Hotel
#1 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Posada Real Ixtapa
Posada Real Ixtapa
#10 of 22 in Ixtapa
410 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villas Las Azucenas
Hotel Villas Las Azucenas
#36 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
91 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villas San Sebastian
Villas San Sebastian
#33 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Mexicana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Mexicana Hotel

Property: Villa Mexicana Hotel
Address: Playa La Ropa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Zihuatanejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Mexicana Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Villa Mexicana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mexicana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing