We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Find”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel ZihuaCaracol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel ZihuaCaracol
Ranked #63 of 80 Hotels in Zihuatanejo
La Grande, Oregon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Great Find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

Friends recommended ZihuaCaracol to us, and we were very satisfied with our choice. As our visit was during the shoulder season, we were given an excellent rate for the week we were there, which included a daily breakfast from the restaurant menu. Office, cleaning, and restaurant staff were all extremely friendly, professional, and helpful. The pool was spotless, and a welcome daily respite from the heat, as was the shaded veranda overlooking the beautifully planted courtyard. We were pleased to find unlimited amounts of filtered water made available to guests from dispensers on each floor. The hotel is in an unbeatable location: a block from the beach, and a beautiful ten-minute beach-side walk from Zihua's main plaza. We would happily stay at ZihuaCaracol again.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have the best view; Restaurant is on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pjreastoregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    14
    10
    4
    5
See reviews for
13
15
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

Be careful!!! The staff here will try to steal your money as you purchase things in the hotel. Location is okay. They own the hotel across the street n u can use the pool there. Rooms are okay. Beds are really hard. Bathrooms are small and when u shower the water goes down the drain very slowly, so eventually you are standing in your own dirty water. Staff is rude and try to steal your money. As for wifi, u won't get it in your room. U have to sit outside, where all the mosquitoes will get you, it's hot, and u have to look at the staffs rude face. The maintenance guys are really nice.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erika G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Zihuatanejo hotels

Whitehorse
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

We recently stayed at the Zihau Caracol for the 3rd time in as many years. The staff are extremely friendly and willing to assist you. The hotel is older with lots of charm and very clean. You cannot beat the price and location in Zihuatanejo. We will return again.

Room Tip: The suite with the ocean view is best. The 3rd floor rooms also have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naperville, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2013

My friend and I just returned from a week in paradise. We stayed at the Zihua Caracol, which was perfect for our basic needs. The rooms were clean, and cleaned thoroughly each day, the staff was gracious and helpful, and the setting was idyllic. We enjoyed the pool each day after our adventures to the beach. The air conditioning was efficient and we never even turned on the TV. I felt safe and comfortable at this hotel. There is a safe in each room for your valuables. We did use taxis to bring us back to the hotel in the evenings because of rumors of tourists getting mugged, though we had no troubles and felt secure.

As we were warned, the beds are hard, and the hot water, though plentiful, takes several minutes to warm up. These are minor inconveniences which I have learned to expect and accept when traveling on a budget. For the money this place is great.

I would have liked to have had a refrigerator instead of a TV,

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lfholden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California City, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

I read a few reviews on this location, how their beds are hard, when its true. I paid (with tax) like 75US, I will say, not bad @ all for the price.I was there for only one night. Clean room,AC work FINE,.,one bad thing, all of the channels were in spanish =)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ljack71556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

At first glance this hotel is very inviting with a lovely pool and common area gardens. Just don't go into the rooms. We checked in without a reservation and did not look at the room before paying. The first thing that we noticed was the overwhelming smell of cleaning solution and mildew and the second was the lack of natural light. It was like a cave. Be sure to see the pictures below. They describe everything perfectly. The towels were old and thin enough to spit through. Floors were stained and ugly. Bathroom: Let's just say that we checked out the following day without using the shower. This hotel sort of reminded me of some of the places I stayed at in South America many years ago when a standard question was whether they had hot water 24/7..

Room Tip: This hotel advertises "ocean views." Yes, they have them.. from exactly two rooms and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CorneliusII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zihuatanejo hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Casa de la Palma
Hotel Casa de la Palma
#27 of 80 in Zihuatanejo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel J.B.
Hotel J.B.
#60 of 80 in Zihuatanejo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villas Miramar
Villas Miramar
#41 of 80 in Zihuatanejo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Irma
Hotel Irma
#9 of 80 in Zihuatanejo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Las Salinas
Hotel Las Salinas
#42 of 80 in Zihuatanejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
3.3 mi away
Casa Kau-Kan
Casa Kau-Kan
#54 of 80 in Zihuatanejo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ZihuaCaracol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ZihuaCaracol

Property: Hotel ZihuaCaracol
Address: Playa de La Madera Calle Adelitas 10, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico (Formerly Posada Caracol)
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 80 Hotels in Zihuatanejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel ZihuaCaracol 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel ZihuaCaracol is located over the beach La Madera amidst other hotels and restaurants. One hundred yards from the beach and a ten minute walk into quaint Zihuatanejo; this is an ideal spot for your vacation in our area. The Hotel ZihuaCaracol is a beautiful pink Mexican colonial inn with three stories of guest rooms. We have a lovely swimming pool in our courtyard, a spacious restaurant and a terrace restaurant for evening dining under the stars. We also have meeting space for private weddings or other affairs. Our entire staff is trained to care for your complete experience and was selected for their gracious and friendly demeanor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel ZihuaCaracol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing