We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”
Review of Hotel ZihuaCaracol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel ZihuaCaracol
Ranked #64 of 78 Hotels in Zihuatanejo
Reviewed 28 February 2011

The Hotel Zihua Caracol is an older, clean, comfortable middle of the range hotel with lots of character and charm. For the price the location cannot be beat. It is steps away from Playa La Madera and 10 minutes walking time to downtown. Along the way are many restaurants and shops. A short 15 minute walk will bring you to Playa Ropa anda further 10 minutes will take you to Playa Los Gatas. This hotel used to be called the "Casa Rosa" and the exterior has received a new coat of paint. The rooms are very plain but very clean. Depending on how many guests, you may have to leave the hot water running for a time before you get any satisfaction. Be patient, the hot water is there! We stayed in a suite and were very pleased. We had a fridge in our room and outside on the patio was the kitchen area consisting of a sink, coffee pot, toaster, blender and one propane burner. Seldom did we eat any meals other than breakfast in our room as there are so many restaurants within a short walk. Our favorites were Salvadors and Los Brisaros. There is a very large pool that was kept very clean at all times, and the pool at Casa Sun & Moon is available for use as well with a view to the ocean. The front desk will gladly hail taxis and provide advice on tours and other sightseeing tips for guests. Overall, the best thing for me about the Zihua Caracol was its location - one street back from Playa La Madera. You can walk to downtown Zihua in less than 10 minutes where there is a Mexican market with all the sounds and smells you would expect. Overall, a good value for the money and great location.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Liard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (50)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2011

This hotel was in a great location (one block from the beach, 10 min from downtown) and is good value for the price (at the time of reservation $50/night and the 6th and 7th night free). The rooms were very basic, with no phone, but with a TV (I don't know what channels were available because I didn't turn it on) and internet available. I was a bit surprised at the condition of the rooms - the lino was scuffed and scratched and the overall impression was that the room was old and rundown. However, everything was generally clean. There often wasn't hot water and the water pressure was a bit low, but it was adequate. The towels alternated between old, grey (used to be white), beach towels, and fluffy, white new towels. However, there was a nice sitting area on the porch/deck/walkway in front of the room and air conditioning in the room. Since I didn't spend much time in the room, except to sleep, change and shower, it was fine. There were some dogs in a pen across the alley outside my window, so the random barking at 3 and 4am wasn't the best, but this didn't necessarily happen every night.

If you're not concerned about what condition the room is in (as long as it's clean), this hotel is good value for money, with generally good service and a great location.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yukonkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank Felix R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
Thank 725Andr_s_D725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Thank Felix R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jhoana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Muy cerca de bellas playas a las cuales puedes llegar caminando.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noralgma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zihuatanejo hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel J.B.
Hotel J.B.
#53 of 78 in Zihuatanejo
15 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Casa de la Palma
Hotel Casa de la Palma
#24 of 78 in Zihuatanejo
51 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villas Miramar
Villas Miramar
#41 of 78 in Zihuatanejo
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Irma
Hotel Irma
#14 of 78 in Zihuatanejo
447 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Las Salinas
Hotel Las Salinas
#40 of 78 in Zihuatanejo
54 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villas Las Azucenas
Hotel Villas Las Azucenas
#39 of 78 in Zihuatanejo
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ZihuaCaracol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ZihuaCaracol

Address: Playa de La Madera Calle Adelitas 10, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico (Formerly Posada Caracol)
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 78 Hotels in Zihuatanejo
Price Range: £37 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel ZihuaCaracol 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel ZihuaCaracol is located over the beach La Madera amidst other hotels and restaurants. One hundred yards from the beach and a ten minute walk into quaint Zihuatanejo; this is an ideal spot for your vacation in our area. The Hotel ZihuaCaracol is a beautiful pink Mexican colonial inn with three stories of guest rooms. We have a lovely swimming pool in our courtyard, a spacious restaurant and a terrace restaurant for evening dining under the stars. We also have meeting space for private weddings or other affairs. Our entire staff is trained to care for your complete experience and was selected for their gracious and friendly demeanor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel ZihuaCaracol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing