We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Aura del Mar Hotel(Zihuatanejo)(Great Value!)
US$157
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$127/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Villa del Sol Resort(Zihuatanejo)
US$454
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$267
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gamma de Fiesta Inn Plaza Ixtapa(Ixtapa)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$51
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$64/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 22/07
US$351
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$302
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa(Ixtapa)(Great Value!)
US$239
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$191
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Emporio Ixtapa(Ixtapa)(Great Value!)
US$116
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Las Brisas Ixtapa(Ixtapa)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$143
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 02/08
US$253
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$184
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$189
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$163
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
La Casa Que Canta(Zihuatanejo)
US$552
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$536
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (97)
Filter reviews
97 results
Traveller rating
29
35
17
12
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
29
35
17
12
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocean sidesmall hotelrooms are largeclose to downtowngreat margaritasplaya la ropabooked this hotelswimming poolmini fridgeperfect locationsitting areamaderaarturobalconymaidadelitarelaxation
Filter
Updating list...
59 - 64 of 97 reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2008

After spending a week in Ixtapa 4 years ago we were looking forward to staying in Zihuatanejo itself - away from the majority of the tourist traffic. Villas Miramar was chosen because of it's location (10 minute walk to Centro), price ($95 for a garden view) and nice photos on their website.
The location is GREAT. There is a side street to the ocean a few yards from the main entrance and the beach was wonderful. There is a paved sea-wall walk to downtown that takes 10 - 15 minutes and is safe and beautiful any time of day and night. Also there are many excellent restaurants very close by (Rufo's, Casa Cafe, Anejo's (ck sp). Taxis are the way to get around quickly - $2-3 to Centro, $5-8 to Ixtapa.
However there are a few things to watch out for if you are planning to stay at Miramar:
- drinks at Jardin Cafe some of most expensive in town. G&T for $7 when you can buy a bottle of Gin for $8
- mattresses surely failed he bowling ball test. They are 3" thick, noisy springs, on a sheet of plywood. Expect to bottom out. Plastic cover sheet not very pleasant.
- Internet at $10 a day - wireless service only in lobby and restaurant ( go to internet cafe around corner for $1.50 an hour.)
- steps and uneven surfaces everywhere - including in room. Almost lost it several times.
At first I thought Miramar was OK considering the price then I visited several neighboring hotels and found better facilities for the same or slightly lower prices.

Don't mean to sound too negative. These were all minor irritations and in the end they did not spoil a wonderful time in this lovely community.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
33  Thank GrammaZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2007

On two weeks notice, we needed to get out of MN and tried to book 8 days in Zihuatanejo with my wife and two young children. Found first 5 nights at Miramar and final 3 at Brisas Del Mar.
Zihuatanejo is a very good Mexican vacation if you want to feel part of a laid back small (although not a "sleepy fishing village") Mexican town. Just make sure you avoid Cruise Ship days.
The dowtown area is about a ten minute walk along a walkway built into the coastline from Playa Madera (where both hotels are located). This is the best part of the location. You have the option to take an evening stroll into town for dinner or a drink. And yes, a stroll back as well. I have read posts that it is unsafe. Found that to be untrue, unless you are worried about people who actually live there also enjoying themselves. You can NOT make this walk to town from La Ropa. But, La Ropa is a nicer beach as far as beaches go. Better sand, more to do, better views.
I found Villas Miramar to be a very clean, calm, low-key place. They are not trying to "wow" you. Just give you a key and tell you to feel at home. Good views of the water and town. A low-key place to go for good food across the street, part of Hotel. Happy hour from 5-7, again, feels like you are at home at a neighborhood get together. They do not heat pool, so when my kids needed their morning swim, it was rather cold. Very good (some of the best in area) dining, a 5 minute walk up the hill.
Nothing bad to say, nor do they overwhelm you here. But that's OK, as long as you know this. One thing I did notice about the immediate area, it is more or less a US retirement community.
That is how this place feels. A place to stay for awhile to get out of the cold. They are not trying to provide you with a 5 star experience. Again, nothing wrong with that.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
29  Thank djburf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2007

We very much enjoyed our one week stay. This is a fantastic location, close to everything and right on the beach too. The food and margaritas are excellent and the staff is very helpful and friendly. Book early because this is a treasure and will become hard to book once the word is out.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
30  Thank Douglas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2007

Hotel Villas Miramar has some great qualities, Location is centralized, you can walk into town along the beach in about 10 minutes. The view from the beach side patio where happy hour takes place between 5-7 each night is excellent, but don't expect a wild party. It's pretty laid back and quiet at Miramar. Unfortunately, experience Zihuatanaers have the Oceanside rooms booked up years in advance in the winter months. We booked our room in late December. Miramar was the only hotel I could find located on the beach with an available room during the 2nd weekend of Feb. The beach is O.K. but can not compare with Playa La Ropa, which begins about 200 yards to the South of Miramar's location just beyond an outcrop of rocks that extend into the bay. If you want to spend time at a nice beach while in Zihua, go to La Ropa. Make yourself comfortable at Patty's Grill. They have very good food, cold drinks, chaise lounge chairs and umbrellas for you if desired. You can get a wonderful message by Isabelle or a few spots along the beach $20-$30. I love Zihuatanejo! This was our 4th trip there and we are already planning our trip for next year. The weather in Feb. is always fantastic. MIramar is a decent hotel and a great place to rest. Zihuatanejo is about the weather, great food and relaxation. I am sure we will stay at Miramar again. However, we are going to try to find a hotel located on Playa La Ropa Beach.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
28  Thank Flexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2007

Stayed for two weeks at the Villas Miramr, in December of 2006. Was worried because didn't see alot of comments, good or bad, on this property. We were very delighted to see our accomadations. Because it was slow, we requested a move to the Casita bonita, right beside the pool on day two, not a problem. It was heavenly, to look out our patio and be right on the ocean.
The room service was great, the garden and pool staff very friendly, and the restaurant was excellent. You couldn't find a better location on Playa Madera beach.
We really enjoyed our stay there and I'm sure when we return, which we will, we will book at the Villas Miramar.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
29  Thank rosygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews