We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet family hotel - Mexican style. Great stay!”
Review of Villas Miramar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villas Miramar
Ranked #37 of 77 Hotels in Zihuatanejo
Reviewed 12 April 2010

As a family with two kids of 11 and 8, we enjoyed our stay immensely. We enjoyed the fact that his hotel is a typical Mexican family hotel and no international chain...The staff was very friendly and the kids enjoyed the pool and the beach, which is right at the end of the garden. It is worthwile booking a room with a view to the sea. They are better and the view is fantastic. We slept great and spent the days at the beach or in the pool. The pool is not huge, but big enough. The hotel is quiet and yet it is situated within walking distance of the center of Zihuatanejo. We highly recommend to take a small boat/water taxi from the center of Zihuatanejo to the beach Playa Las Gatas. Here you have the possibility of doing snorkling - and eating fresh fish right at the water front...

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
23  Thank DaneMex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
There are newer reviews for Villas Miramar
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2010

The cost of this hotel and cost of food and drinks is not worth it. There are a lot of other hotels in great location in Zhiua that are better value. They got the dates wrong and had us booked in one day sooner than we had previously arranged....they queried me about this upon check in...wondering why i'm a day late...i had printed off the email confirmation and proved the correct dates. This all seemed fine until I got home and checked my visa bill and found that they charged me for one extra nights stay!! Also the rooms are a dump...the only thing this hotel has going for it is location and a pleasant outdoor space with great beach access.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
23  Thank bron143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2010

An extremely well kept, older Mexican hotel in the Playa Madera area (Calle Adelita). The staff is very professional and courteous and they stay on top of every detail! Great location too, the lower terrace/pool and bar are only about 30 steps up from the beach. Everything seemed to have been recently updated, and the ocean views are spectacular. Raphael at the pool/terrace bar mixes up some of the best margaritas you'll ever try! They made us feel welcome, and we will definately go back there.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank RJBYakima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2008

My fiancee and I spent a week here. We could not have asked for better hospitality. The couple who owns the hotel were wonderful, as were the staff. The rooms are spacious and clean and the hotel is in a perfect location- right on the beach and a walk into town. It is a great hotel, and so affordable! We will definitly be back!

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
21  Thank MM_Chicago_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2008

After spending a week in Ixtapa 4 years ago we were looking forward to staying in Zihuatanejo itself - away from the majority of the tourist traffic. Villas Miramar was chosen because of it's location (10 minute walk to Centro), price ($95 for a garden view) and nice photos on their website.
The location is GREAT. There is a side street to the ocean a few yards from the main entrance and the beach was wonderful. There is a paved sea-wall walk to downtown that takes 10 - 15 minutes and is safe and beautiful any time of day and night. Also there are many excellent restaurants very close by (Rufo's, Casa Cafe, Anejo's (ck sp). Taxis are the way to get around quickly - $2-3 to Centro, $5-8 to Ixtapa.
However there are a few things to watch out for if you are planning to stay at Miramar:
- drinks at Jardin Cafe some of most expensive in town. G&T for $7 when you can buy a bottle of Gin for $8
- mattresses surely failed he bowling ball test. They are 3" thick, noisy springs, on a sheet of plywood. Expect to bottom out. Plastic cover sheet not very pleasant.
- Internet at $10 a day - wireless service only in lobby and restaurant ( go to internet cafe around corner for $1.50 an hour.)
- steps and uneven surfaces everywhere - including in room. Almost lost it several times.
At first I thought Miramar was OK considering the price then I visited several neighboring hotels and found better facilities for the same or slightly lower prices.

Don't mean to sound too negative. These were all minor irritations and in the end they did not spoil a wonderful time in this lovely community.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
33  Thank GrammaZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2007

On two weeks notice, we needed to get out of MN and tried to book 8 days in Zihuatanejo with my wife and two young children. Found first 5 nights at Miramar and final 3 at Brisas Del Mar.
Zihuatanejo is a very good Mexican vacation if you want to feel part of a laid back small (although not a "sleepy fishing village") Mexican town. Just make sure you avoid Cruise Ship days.
The dowtown area is about a ten minute walk along a walkway built into the coastline from Playa Madera (where both hotels are located). This is the best part of the location. You have the option to take an evening stroll into town for dinner or a drink. And yes, a stroll back as well. I have read posts that it is unsafe. Found that to be untrue, unless you are worried about people who actually live there also enjoying themselves. You can NOT make this walk to town from La Ropa. But, La Ropa is a nicer beach as far as beaches go. Better sand, more to do, better views.
I found Villas Miramar to be a very clean, calm, low-key place. They are not trying to "wow" you. Just give you a key and tell you to feel at home. Good views of the water and town. A low-key place to go for good food across the street, part of Hotel. Happy hour from 5-7, again, feels like you are at home at a neighborhood get together. They do not heat pool, so when my kids needed their morning swim, it was rather cold. Very good (some of the best in area) dining, a 5 minute walk up the hill.
Nothing bad to say, nor do they overwhelm you here. But that's OK, as long as you know this. One thing I did notice about the immediate area, it is more or less a US retirement community.
That is how this place feels. A place to stay for awhile to get out of the cold. They are not trying to provide you with a 5 star experience. Again, nothing wrong with that.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
29  Thank djburf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2007

We very much enjoyed our one week stay. This is a fantastic location, close to everything and right on the beach too. The food and margaritas are excellent and the staff is very helpful and friendly. Book early because this is a treasure and will become hard to book once the word is out.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
30  Thank doug-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zihuatanejo hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Irma
Hotel Irma
#12 of 77 in Zihuatanejo
435 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aura del Mar Hotel
Aura del Mar Hotel
#2 of 77 in Zihuatanejo
548 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Casa de la Palma
Hotel Casa de la Palma
#23 of 77 in Zihuatanejo
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Las Salinas
Hotel Las Salinas
#40 of 77 in Zihuatanejo
54 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villas Las Azucenas
Hotel Villas Las Azucenas
#38 of 77 in Zihuatanejo
93 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel J.B.
Hotel J.B.
#52 of 77 in Zihuatanejo
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Miramar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Miramar

Address: Adelita Lote 78 | Col. La Madera, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Zihuatanejo
Price Range: £38 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas Miramar 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villas Miramar is a small boutique hotel perfect for families and/or couples. It is located in La Madera Beach zone at Zihuatanejo, which makes it easy to walk through the main beaches or downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Villas Miramar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Miramar Hotel Zihuatanejo
Miramar Hotel Zihuatanejo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing