We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved It!!!”
Review of Villas Miramar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Villas Miramar
Ranked #38 of 78 Hotels in Zihuatanejo
`Bassano
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Loved It!!!”
Reviewed 19 January 2007

Stayed for two weeks at the Villas Miramr, in December of 2006. Was worried because didn't see alot of comments, good or bad, on this property. We were very delighted to see our accomadations. Because it was slow, we requested a move to the Casita bonita, right beside the pool on day two, not a problem. It was heavenly, to look out our patio and be right on the ocean.
The room service was great, the garden and pool staff very friendly, and the restaurant was excellent. You couldn't find a better location on Playa Madera beach.
We really enjoyed our stay there and I'm sure when we return, which we will, we will book at the Villas Miramar.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The very firm beds
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
29 Thank rosygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    34
    16
    10
    4
See reviews for
28
33
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 19 April 2006

I used to had a different idea from this place because of this critics. Things are very different now. Since january the hotel has a new administration and the staff and managers are very nice and friendly people. Tthere are 18 rooms and 2 pools, very clean and nice. Tthe food from the restaurant is great, some days the service is slow but it´s fine. My favorite breakfast is "chilaquiles" and for lunch hamburguers. Rooms with ocean view (where my wife and I stayed) have a lovely view from all the bay. It´s a very familiar and romantic place. And don´t forget to try the margaritas in the evenings, happy hour from 5 to 7pm the best ones ever!!!

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 4 December 2005

Stayed at Villas Miramar for the last three nights of our 7 day vacation because our other hotel, Las Brisis Del Mar was booked during those last three days. The difference between the two was glaring. A swamp cooler that was inefficient, and it was un bearably hot and muggy, three T.V. channels, all in Spanish, absolutely no amenities other than a bar of soap (not even a wash cloth). Got back to the room one evening to find that we had no running water. The phone didn't work for the entire three days and since there is no cell service in this area it made it quite hard to phone home. The pool side bar was never open so you need to buy a cooler and be ready to climb a rather steep hill to get your ice. Do yourself a favor and if you are going to spend the money to get to Mexico, spend alitte more and stay at Las Brisis which is wonderful in comarison.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 17 April 2005

It used to be our favorite on Madera. Over the years it has detriorated in service and upkeep. Sometimes the pool and plumbing are working properly, sometimes not. Probably in the high season the management is attentive but don't count oin it. Spmeone should buy the place and turn it into the boutique jewel it could be. In the meantime, try Brisas Del Mar nearby. We were very pleased.

  • Stayed April 2002
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 13 January 2004

We arrived at Villas Miramar on Jan 1, 2004 and were informed that our room had been rented to another guest and the hotel was full. The owner claimed that he had checked our VISA credit card and it was not valid!
This was a bold faced lie because we had email confirmation of our reservation. Furthermore, we offered to call VISA and get clarification on the issue and he simply walked away leaving us with a clerk who did not speak English! VISA claimed that all was OK and they had not received any inquiries re: our card from Mexico!!! Upon further investigation by a knowledgeable source, the owner had overbooked Villas Miramar and was hoping to have us stay in his apartment in downtown Zihua which we declined.

We ended up in a horrible room at a nearby beach hotel for 2 days before we were able to get a decent room at the highest end hotel which was very nice. However, the beach looked and smelled like there is a serious sewage problem. The water flowing from the town into the Ocean near La Madera beach is visibly contaminated!!!

This was the worst experience we've ever had and we've decided to go back to vacationing in Hawaii in the future!

Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2003

The is the perfect spot for those who don't care for the big impersonal resorts. Short walk to town, either on the beach or via quiet streets. We stayed here in March 2003 and loved this little jewel of a hotel, that would receive an "excellant" rating except it may be a little pricey for some. It has 2 parts, one on the beach (you take 15-20 steps down) and the other one across the quiet, quite narrow street. Each part is charming in it's own way and each part has a lovely pool. Beach side building does have fantastic view of bay and the beach. Friendly, helpful staff.

Helpful?
4 Thank youngerthan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zihuatanejo hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Irma
Hotel Irma
#12 of 78 in Zihuatanejo
432 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Casa de la Palma
Hotel Casa de la Palma
#23 of 78 in Zihuatanejo
50 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aura del Mar Hotel
Aura del Mar Hotel
#2 of 78 in Zihuatanejo
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Casa Kau-Kan
Casa Kau-Kan
#51 of 78 in Zihuatanejo
43 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel J.B.
Hotel J.B.
#59 of 78 in Zihuatanejo
13 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Las Salinas
Hotel Las Salinas
#40 of 78 in Zihuatanejo
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Miramar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Miramar

Property: Villas Miramar
Address: Adelita Lote 78 | Col. La Madera, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Zihuatanejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas Miramar 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villas Miramar is a small boutique hotel perfect for families and/or couples. It is located in La Madera Beach zone at Zihuatanejo, which makes it easy to walk through the main beaches or downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villas Miramar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Miramar Hotel Zihuatanejo
Miramar Hotel Zihuatanejo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing