We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bungalow Ley”
Review of Arena Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Arena Suites
Ranked #45 of 79 Hotels in Zihuatanejo
oregon
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Bungalow Ley”
Reviewed 22 March 2010

We stayed at Bungalow Ley March of 2010 in studio 9 which had a outdoor kitchen and a jacuzzi on the balcony. It was wonderful we could sit there and enjoy the ocean just steps from the beach.. Moi is the manager. The walk to many restaurants and shopping was 5 minutes away and the open market where we bought fresh shrimp was 10 minute walk away. Ask for Poncho and have your shrimp cleaned and devined for a couple of pesos. You could get everything there from fresh tortilla's to fresh fruit, cheeses, meat ect.. The commercial which is a inside supermarket was a 10 minute cab drive.
We loved to eat at Nardo's just a couple of blocks away from our room. Ask for Armando. They also have church there on Sunday's. Isabella was on the corner making fresh orange juice for the past 40 years and for a few pesco's you could get fresh squeezed orange juide or smoothies. There is a festival on Sunday evenings just 5 minutes away where we ate dinner for a couple of pecos. we felt completly safe here, we did not walk the walkway next to the ocean as some of the lights where out and we were told it was not always safe although lots of tourist walked it. We went down the street to our hotel at night with lots of lights. The people are friendly and i can't wait to go back . We loved this hotel because it was the perfect location and had an athentic mexican feel. The only bummer was no swimming pool but we swam in the ocean. If you like more tradional then next door is Baris del mar with a pool and really nice rooms and an open outdoor restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank 1lorena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    19
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
13
29
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Coquitlam, BC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2009

Had a trip booked for May 2009. Our airline cancelled out flight because of the H1N1 fears in Mexico. The owner of Bungalows Ley confirmed that 75% of my $400 deposit would be returned to me within 30 days. 4 months later, all messages have been ignored and no refund has been received. Thankfully, I used Visa to pay for the deposit and their dispute department will be reversing the charges. I've lived and travelled all over Mexico and have never had this type of fraudulent experience.

Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank HYDRANNT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2009

great staff, location, kitchen....on and on....not plush....just great though

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nomadicfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawson City, Yukon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2009

We stayed at Bungalows Ley for 2 weeks, and were quite pleased. Playa Madera is a lovely little bay, with a gentle surf in January, so our 5 year old was in the water everyday. The staff were extraordinarily attentive, especially the manager, Ibis. He is on site everyday from 10 am until 8...anything we needed he arranged. The couple next to us required a doctor and Ibis arranged for one to come right to the hotel. The rooms were cleaned everyday, with fresh linens, and we always found our dishes put away. We stayed in room 4, which had two double beds. Its the same as room 5, with a full, well stocked kitchen. The rooms were very clean. The only disappointment was that these two rooms had no ocean view. There is a terrace with a table and umbrellas down the hall, but all the other units have either a terrace or balcony attached to the room. The two rooms directly in front of ours were new, and not numbered. Both had a king size bed and outdoor kitchen on the patio, and one had an outdoor jaccuzzi. The rooms 1, 2, and 3 all had magnificent balconies with outdoor kitchens, and rooms 6, 7, and 8 were at beach level with a small outdoor sitting area, but they seemed rather crowded, as well as being on the entry to the beach, so if you were looking for privacy, these would not be the units to request. A short walk along the beach or road leads you to town where we enjoyed trying a different local eatery every night. We bought groceries in the market and the big super store, which was about a 20 minute walk along the canal to get to. Once a week fishermen in a canoe would come ashore and you could buy either a handful of Dorado for 20 pesos to eat, or you could buy a bucket of small fish for 10 pesos to feed to the pelicans. We were travelling during the Mexican holidays, so the beach was crazy busy, but it was really fun. My son made a lot of friends with his very limited spanish. After January 6th it was like a different beach. Very deserted. I can't recommend the market enough for finding mole, fish, and bollios. As for other accomodation in the area, I don't think you'd find a better price being right on the beach, but all the neighbouring hotels looked inviting. We stayed at Villas Polenesia for our first week, and though the owner was friendly, and the place was cute (good lighting, jungle-like lush property), the distance from the beach, massive cockroaches and terribly stocked kitchen (no forks, one rusty fry pan) made Ley feel like paradise. And they were both the same price! We paid $65 US a night...the going rate in high season. We will definitely be returning.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — no ocean view
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank mavis888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2008

When we decided to stay a week in Zihua I started searching the internet and books to find the best place to stay that was on a beach that was good for swimming. I happened to notice Bungalows Ley often and the reviews were mostly good.

During the reservation period I struggled some with the fact that the staff hardly speaks any English and unfortunately I don't speak enough Spanish to make myself clear. Due to the lack of communication skills we had a few bumps in the road while booking one room for myself and a second room for my parents.

We ended up getting everything straightened out and when we arrived we had no problems checking into our respective rooms.

Our first full day there we met Ibis who speaks exceptional English and made our communication easier.

We rented the Club Madera Suite for ourselves and my parents rented one of the single bungalows. The Suite seemed a little dirty and dusty when we arrived, almost as if it had been sitting un-rented for awhile but after our first daily maid service it was good as new.

The Suite was amazing....beautiful terrace, full kitchen, living room, 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. There was plenty of utensils and cooking items.

We were very impressed with the overall beauty and comfort of the entire 8 unit property. The exclusive beach area had plenty of seats and papalas and was raked daily. Playa Madera is a beautiful beach with enough wave action to keep the boys busy and with enough area to swim without worrying about the waves.

All in all I rate this establishment very high with the one disadvantage for the non-Spanish speakers as the lack of English speaking staff.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Lack of English speaking staff
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank iplaruf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2008

This place was wonderful! We were looking for a trip away from the tourists of Ixtapa. Ley was perfect. We never had to leave after stocking our own personal fridge and freezer...Catching fresh fish, buying oysters off some fishermen (1$/oyster) and cooking all on our outdoor stove with margaritas...perfect. Not only is the staff super friendly and helpful, the man who owns the store behind the hotel was also super helpful. This place was SO low maintenance for us. they cleaned every day but sunday. We had our enormous terrace and we had the umbrellas and chairs on the beach. We went in low season and got 15% discount for staying for more than 6 days, only paying $50/night. We cant wait to go back! Un mil gracias Carlos!

  • Liked — Small establishment meant personal attention, great value for oceanfront accommodations.
  • Disliked — The big hill you have to walk up or down to get to/from town (taxis though are readily available)
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cpragalz11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington State
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 April 2008

We just returned from three weeks staying in #2. It was a wonderful holiday. Close to town, private and quiet beach, clean towels and great housekeeping every day. The rooms are simple, but adequate. The kitchen is fine for a light breakfast and lunch. Ibis is now in charge of the office and he is wonderful. He speaks English beautifully and is unbelievably helpul in drawing maps and making suggestions of where to go and what to do in the area.
Note not to go during Holy Week, unless you are not bothered by local crowds on the beach. We brought cheap blow-up rafts for the beach and it was the most fun. We made reservations for next year as they are now booking way in advance. They also now take credit cards.
If you want an inexpensive place to stay that is on a wonderful beach and close to town, this is the spot.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — noisy water pump
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hildamike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zihuatanejo hotels
0.1 mi away
Aura del Mar Hotel
Aura del Mar Hotel
#2 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
537 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Irma
Hotel Irma
#12 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
430 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Quinta de Don Andres
La Quinta de Don Andres
#42 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa Adriana
Casa Adriana
#40 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
89 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villas Miramar
Villas Miramar
#39 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
90 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villas Las Azucenas
Hotel Villas Las Azucenas
#37 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arena Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arena Suites

Property: Arena Suites
Address: Calle Eva Samano de Lopez Mateos s/n | Playa Madera, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico (Formerly Bungalows Ley)
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Zihuatanejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Arena Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Arena Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arena Hotel Zihuatanejo
Ley Hotel Zihuatanejo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing