We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise Lost” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Cuitlateca

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Casa Cuitlateca
Ranked #23 of 81 Hotels in Zihuatanejo
Certificate of Excellence
Zihuatanejo, Guerrero, Mexico
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Paradise Lost”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

On arrival I thought it was Shangri La. Perched hi on the mountainside a few minutes away from Zihua this boutique hotel offers every amenity and service you could want. This is a warm friendly and intimate experience. You could simply sign off here with the ambience and charm of the place .The sunsets are a beautiful experience over Margueritas ! Outstanding value and top quality rooms! See you again soon Casa Cuitlateca...my new digs for the next Guitar Fest!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    20
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
173
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, CO
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013

Our first visit to this wonderful hotel but definitely not our last. As others have noted, the view and environment are lovely, the artwork and plantings intentional, everywhere you look, your eye rests on something beautiful. Terry and his staff are friendly and attentive but not at all intrusive. Silvia and Elena work wonders in the kitchen, serving up as authentic dishes as you would get in someone's home. I'm still dreaming about the pozole soup. The gala dinner was excellent, but come with an appetite! With breakfast included, it is excellent value.
The hotel is a 5 min. walk to La Ropa beach and is walking distance to everything. Highly, highly recommend this hotel to restore your soul.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cpd01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Punxsutawney, PA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013

We have been to Zihua many times in the last twenty years and have stayed in different hotels, but none better than Casa Cuitlateca. The accommodations are exceptional in every aspect - cleanliness, privacy, comfort, quality, charm and convenience. Zihua visitors no doubt have experienced some or all of these attributes at other hotels. However, what separates Casa Cuitlateca from all of the rest is is the welcoming atmosphere created by Terry and his staff Slyvia, Elena, Amador, Alfredo, Ricardo and Yannick are there 24-7 to provide guests with exceptional, authentic Mexican cuisine and first class service in every respect and they will even help you with your Spanish if it is a little rusty. The location is very conveniently located between Playa La Ropa and down town, both of which are easily reached on foot. Oh, and did I mention that the view is spectacular from the deck where you can enjoy amazing sunsets with your favorite beverages. For first time visitors to seasoned Zihua veterans, you will be totally pleased with you stay. Whenever we arrive and walk across the swinging bridge, we feel like we are home. The best part about your Casa Cuitlateca experience is that you arrive a guest and leave a friend.

Room Tip: All rooms are very private and well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZihuaJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2013

This boutique hotel really is lovely. As others have stated, the view is spectacular, the rooms beautiful and the service and staff really good. The rooms, food and drinks also were an excellent value. I don't think that the rooms could have been any cleaner! It is a very restful and relaxing place to spend time. I spent a week here, and seldom left the property only going to town twice and out to eat three times. The pool and lounge chairs are a great place to spend time. I met some wonderful people staying there, another one of the highlights of staying at a small hotel like this.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lisargold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

This was our first visit and we loved every bit of it! The staff took care of the details and let us do the relaxing. Delicious cooked-to-order breakfasts were the perfect start to the day after waking up to a stunning view of the bay and the sound of surf. The hotel is close enough for walks to the beaches, town and markets. (Taxi and bus are convenient options if the walk seems too much.) A gorgeous, refreshing pool awaits when you return. Dinners on the deck are amazing as the sun sets -- lights from the town below are a match for the stars above. Truly spectacular!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JMM49424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

This is one of those places that you really do hesitate to review, and I might not except we already have our reservations for next February. Staff is wonderful, food is great and they now have an ala carte menu from 11:30 am on, with a special of the day...so you really don't have to leave at all. I love the breakfast, everything is good especially the orange juice and eggs - they really are better than the eggs I buy at home. The rooms are all nice, but we have always stayed in either the Oaxaca or Puebla room, they have the best view and I love the hammocks.

I could go on and on, but the fact that we are going back next year for the fourth time really says it all. I will post some more photos, I decided to mainly post the night shots...otherwise I would just be repeating photos I have already posted. Their website has great video tours of the rooms too.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice, but the Oaxaca and Puebla have great views...the Guerra (sp?) is probably th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveldreamsII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2013

Great place, after staying there a year ago and returning made the experience even better. Our room was fantastic, food fantastic, service fantastic and the view, you get it. We loved it! Terry and his staff, Amador, Alfredo , Ricardo, Lilliana , Aylina are all the best.

Room Tip: This trip stayed in the Oaxca room. Fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ANDREWAJBOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zihuatanejo hotels
0.2 mi away
La Casa Que Canta
La Casa Que Canta
#2 of 81 in Zihuatanejo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aura del Mar Hotel
Aura del Mar Hotel
#1 of 81 in Zihuatanejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Irma
Hotel Irma
#11 of 81 in Zihuatanejo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Embarc Zihuatanejo
Embarc Zihuatanejo
#6 of 81 in Zihuatanejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tentaciones Hotel
Tentaciones Hotel
#17 of 81 in Zihuatanejo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
5.9 mi away
Capella Ixtapa
Capella Ixtapa
#5 of 23 in Ixtapa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Cuitlateca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Cuitlateca

Property: Casa Cuitlateca
Address: Camino Escenico Playa La Madera S/N | Colonia La Madera, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Zihuatanejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Cuitlateca 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Cuitlateca has just 5 suites, all stunning, four with private balcony or patio. Our hotel is known best for its intimacy and excellent, personal service. Casa Cuitlateca is the perfect place for couples looking for a romantic getaway. Relax, and let yourself be pampered by our excellent staff. We offer a fabulous ala carte breakfast, free of charge. For your convenience, we have round-the-clock food and beverage service, as well as room service at no extra charge. Come and see why Casa Cuitlateca has the highest rating (97%) on TripAdvisor for all hotels in Zihuatanejo/Ixtapa. This is not by chance. We work hard everyday to make your experience the very best it can be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Casa Cuitlateca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Cuitlateca Zihuatanejo
Casa Cuitlateca Hotel Zihuatanejo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing