We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise at a very reasonable price”
Review of Casa Cuitlateca

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa Cuitlateca
Ranked #26 of 79 Hotels in Zihuatanejo
carlisle, ma
Level Contributor
82 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Paradise at a very reasonable price”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

This is a lovely boutique hotel with all the charm and views of it's better known competitors, but at less tha half the price. To be frank, it's a steal. It is incredibly romantic with the requisite magnificent view of the Bay. To say that the staff is friendly is the understatement of the year.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pileated11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    20
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
173
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

My husband and I spent four nights in mid January 2014. We decided to go back a year-and-a-half after our first visit and we just loved it again. The hotel is beautiful and private. The staff is warm, friendly and efficient. The room Guerrero is spacious and the view is amazing. We loved the breakfast menu, which is included.

We can't wait to go back again and enjoy one more relaxing holiday with the rest of our family.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elvy2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Exceeded our expectations. Lovely boutique hotel with beautiful grounds and wonderfully appointed rooms. Be sure to reserve a room with a balcony as the views are outstanding. The staff is very friendly and wonderfully helpful. Breakfast is fantastic. Terry runs a wonderful hotel! If we return to Zihua, we will stay at Casa Cuitlateca again!

Room Tip: Reserve a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marathon24, Owner at Casa Cuitlateca, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Hi, there. I wanted to thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. Hope you liked the Jalisco room. It was nice getting to know you, and hope to see you here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Just returned from this quaint and beautiful spot. The hotel sits up on a hill with great views of the bay. It is only a short walk to La Ropa beach and a short cab ride to Zhi. The hotel only has five rooms so it is quiet and peaceful. The staff was wonderful and accommodating. We stayed in the suite which was wonderful but would recommend rooms with views of the bay--the suite is an inside room

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank pjmiiim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
264 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I am writing this review based on the dinner we had at Casa Cuitlateca restaurant. As I am writing this great review I am also hesitating because do I really want to share this amazing "gem" with everyone else?
Luckily we took a cab up to the resort because it is indeed very steep but with a drop dead to die for "view." We had to cross this little suspension bridge to get to the restaurant and that was so much fun.

We arrived around 5:45pm so Amador was just putting the white linen table cloths on the tables. We had 5 drinks in total--3 margaritas that were very good, a banana daiquiri that was just so so, and a strawberry daiquiri which we found it too sweet.

The 3 of us started with an octopus ceviche for 70 pesos made with cooked octopus with onions and lime juice which was fine but we were hoping for raw octopus like a sashimi. My son had the cheese burger with the crunchiest fries for 75 pesos that was so good but the two very thin meat patties were a bit different than what we are used to back in Canada.

We also had the red snapper filet with garlic for 150 pesos (not whole fish) which came with some very delicious red carrots and broccoli along with a scoop of rice. The fish was very fresh.
We also had the sailfish filet breaded like a fish and chip for 100 pesos which was very good; crunchy on the outside but tender on the inside. It also came with either rice or potatoes along with the veggies.

My husband had the six garlic shrimp with peels on but no head for 180 pesos and they were deliciously butterflied. I tried one and I even ate some of the peels because it was so tasty. We also ordered the spaghetti carbonara for 70 pesos and that hit the spot for my pasta craving.

For the three of us, we over ordered but it's okay because Amador kindly wrapped up the left overs for us to bring home.

All the food we had and the 5 drinks including gratuity came to 1150 pesos. This meal was one of the best we had in Zihua! the quality of the food was fantastic, the prices extremely reasonable, the view was spectacular, and the ambiance was amazing!

The restaurant at Casa Cuitlateca is a true diamond in the rough! Thank you for such great food!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cliu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, CA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

I am writing this on 12/26, as I review my hotel status at Marriott and Hilton after 110 nights in hotels this year. There were only 7 nights I truly enjoyed, the 7 spent at Casa Cuitlateca. They are the only hotel nights I look forward to every year.

This being our third visit during the Thanksgiving week, we knew what to expect from Casa Cuitlateca, but every time they far exceed our expectations. It was good to be greeted at the airport by a familiar face; just as all the faces are familiar at CC. There is little turnover in the staff. The butlers: Amador, Alfredo, Jesus and Ricardo are all attentive to every need. Silvia and Elena hold down the kitchen. This time Terry, the owner was on site, as he has been in the past. Every request is anticipated or taken care of immediately.

In years past, we ate most dinners out, away from the hotel (there are many excellent restaurants nearby), taking lunches by the pool, and of course the delicious, included, breakfast on the deck. This year we were blown away by the exceptional dinner service and quality. Elena’s snapper is the best. The evening food offerings are much improved. All the butlers are well skilled at making tropical drinks; although Amador’s margarita is hard to beat. The daily lunch special is usually a very good local dish. I look forward to the chile rellenos and the fish tacos Silvia prepares.

We toured the new Jalisco suite, it is beautiful, and has spectacular views. We have reserved it for next year already. Our usual suite, Oaxaca, is spacious, and has an awesome view of the harbor. There is not a bad room in the Casa, although one suite is small, but this year a window was added to give it a great view. Housekeeping is meticulous and again the same housekeepers were on staff during earlier stays. (I feel bad about not remembering their names right off, they are friendly and accommodating)

Another new addition is a massage therapist on site. She is quite good, and the prices are in line with what are charged on the beach, when you consider the walk, and the guess work on picking the a decent masseuse.

Just a couple of thoughts about the town itself, we love it and really enjoy walking down to the two beaches that are easily accessible from Casa Cuitlateca. There are many good restaurants downtown: Monkey’s House, Banditos, Rufo’s and Coconuts are all good. The trip would not be complete without a trip to Las Gatos Beach and a day at Otilia’s, with Franco as the waiter.

Room Tip: Best view Jalisco or Oaxaca. Most spacious Guerrero. You won't be disappointed with any of the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fun4uinbshore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OLYMPIA, WA USA
Level Contributor
86 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We recently spent a week at this wonderful Zihuatanejo boutique hotel/B&B. With only six rooms (all individually designed), we felt like we were staying at a private residence. While elegant, this place is both welcoming and unpretentious. The staff is friendly and makes every effort to accommodate one's needs. Located high above Zihuatanejo Bay, the view is unparalleled, and with the beautiful infinity swimming pool, lush gardens to wander through, and outstanding food served at the on-site restaurant, there really is no need to leave. However, if one wishes to venture out, the Casa is conveniently located so walking to the beach or town is quite doable. When we find a place like Casa Cuitlateca, we think twice about writing a review out of fear that such a hidden jewel as this will be discovered, making it difficult to get a reservation. Alas, we felt compelled to tell everyone what a wonderful getaway this is. We highly recommend it.

P.S. We travel to Mexico fairly often and know how to maneuver through the time-share and activities "sharks" that inhabit the airport exit, but for those who do not, it is wonderful to have the Casa's Amador waiting there to greet you and whisk you away to the taxi counter.

Room Tip: The Guerrero (Bay View) room is quite large with beautiful French doors that open onto an equally la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zihuatanejo hotels
0.1 mi away
Tentaciones Hotel
Tentaciones Hotel
#20 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
141 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Guadalupe Hotel
Villa Guadalupe Hotel
#47 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
32 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aura del Mar Hotel
Aura del Mar Hotel
#2 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Casa Que Canta
La Casa Que Canta
#1 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
544 reviews
3.1 mi away
Puerta Paraiso Hotel Boutique
Puerta Paraiso Hotel Boutique
#30 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
36 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Irma
Hotel Irma
#12 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Cuitlateca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Cuitlateca

Property: Casa Cuitlateca
Address: Camino Escenico Playa La Madera S/N | Colonia La Madera, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Zihuatanejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Cuitlateca 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Cuitlateca has just 5 suites, all stunning, four with private balcony or patio. Our hotel is known best for its intimacy and excellent, personal service. Casa Cuitlateca is the perfect place for couples looking for a romantic getaway. Relax, and let yourself be pampered by our excellent staff. We offer a fabulous ala carte breakfast, free of charge. For your convenience, we have round-the-clock food and beverage service, as well as room service at no extra charge. Come and see why Casa Cuitlateca has the highest rating (97%) on TripAdvisor for all hotels in Zihuatanejo/Ixtapa. This is not by chance. We work hard everyday to make your experience the very best it can be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Casa Cuitlateca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Cuitlateca Zihuatanejo
Casa Cuitlateca Hotel Zihuatanejo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing