We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint accommodations!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villas San Sebastian
Ranked #31 of 77 Hotels in Zihuatanejo
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Our family of four adults met in Zihua for a week and felt like extended family with the staff & other residents! We rented two Villas from Luis that were next door on the upper level with amazing views to the bay and of course awesome sunsets. Steps up/down :-)(-; Our adult kids shared unit-8 and ours was a bit larger-unit 9. Both were roofed with a spacious open-sided kitchenette, living area and an enclosed bedroom with AC for when needed. Really did not "cook" but the setup was handy for breakfast, snacks, beverages and shade. This location was so convenient for La Ropa beach walks, lounging for the day at Elvira's (closed on TU) or Paty's and renting a kayak, sailing right in between both establishments and dinner out nearby. The pool was a perfect cool down break from the beach. Jose welcomed and assisted us when we arrived/departed...always helpful and took great pride in his work, grounds and the lovely vegetation. My husband and I stayed an additional week and hope to extend our time next winter!!! :-))

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iowann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2012

We stayed at this complex 5 days Dec 15 - Dec 20th 2012 & found it to be what was described when we booked it & just what we needed in vacation accommidations.
Jose the grounds keeper was there to greet us when we arrived & was always close by if we needed him a really nice guy with a constant smile on his face & always busy working around the area, Luis the owner was more than cordial & the maid service was excellent.
All made us feel welcome to their City.
It is not fancy but very well laid out & clean
There is no restraurant on primises but there are at least four good restraurants within easy walking distance of the Villas.
Everything in the area is built on a hillside so it is eaither an uphill walk to the Villas or a downhill walk to the beach. The beaches are nice with several restraunrants to the south of the access area from the Villas.
35 pesos gets you a taxi or 7 pesos will get a ride on the bus to Zihua.
Take a day & visit the beach in Zihua & the restraurants along the strip there.
Yes we would book here again if visiting the area.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank squeedunkrez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

I was truly happy with my stay here.
I recommend Villas San Sebastian to families and couples who are looking for a relaxing holiday.
Luis Valle the owner, will make your stay a memorable one.
One block from La Ropa beach, clean and very pleasant.
A must stay in Zihuatanejo!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pattycuernavaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

This was our 3rd visit to Zihuatanejo, and our 2nd stay at San Sebastian.We love the unique decor of each unit, and the fact that there are only 9 units. The location is perfect: we walked to Playa La Ropa beach in 2 minutes, could walk downtown in 15 minutes. There are eateries and small groceries minutes away. As well, we could easily catch the bus or taxi if we chose. The pool is clean, relaxing, a nice size. The grounds are beautifully landscaped, and the units are very clean. And we can't say enough about how helpful and responsive both Luis, the owner and Jose are. Any concerns or questions are quickly addressed.

We feel very safe and comfortable walking around Zihuatanejo. And we also feel totally secure at San Sebastian, with a locked gate, locking rooms, and a safe box in each unit.

We will definitely be back on our next visit, and do not hesitate to recommend San Sebastian to anyone looking for a good place to stay in Zihuatanejo.

Room Tip: Units away from road are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank karin k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

I decided to go down to lovely Zihuatanejo for a quick vacation for my wife's birthday. Living in Los Angeles makes it rather easy to hop on a quick 3 hour flight and she wanted nothing more than to find a beach and some sun.

I absolutely love staying at Villas San Sebastian. I have stayed there before but decided to write a review this time to express my feelings about the area and the amazing people. The owner Luis could not be a more knowledgeable and friendly host. He as well as Jose, go out of their way to make you comfortable and feel at home. When the staff treats you like family it makes staying anywhere special and this is one of those places.

Our room, just a 2 minute walk back from the famous La Ropa Beach, came with a kitchenette, air conditioning, television, hammocks, etc. In my opinion, there isn't a much better activity than sitting in a hammock around sunset watching the view of the sun descend effortlessly into the ocean. I have been many places in this world and have found few sunsets that can rival those of Zihuatanejo. La Ropa beach is also an amazing place to spend your days. The water is perfect for swimming, I even did some snorkeling (saw turtles, blowfish, etc) and if you have a family, this beach will keep them all entertained with something for everyone. Luis keeps his prices low and even though we could afford to pay more at other hotels, I still wouldn't do so.

I truly feel at home at San Sebastian and being there makes everything easy i.e. getting a cab into the Town (El Centro), finding food options across the street, small market next door, beach across the street etc. We always felt safe and comfortable no matter where we went in town or on La Ropa and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the area and the hotel to anyone. I truly hope others find their own sanctuary there like my wife and I have found.

Room Tip: Love number 2, but hard to beat any of the rooms and their views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TJ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

My husband and I honeymooned here in 2005 and loved our villa with its natural stone shower, hammock and little cabana out front for breakfast. I'm so glad to hear Luis and Mario are still running the place -- the staff bent over backwards to be helpful and accommodating, even watching our bags for free when we took a three day side trip. If you stay in Zihua over Ixtapa, this is what you come for. It was wonderful to look out over La Ropa without paying beach front prices and still be able to just walk out front and catch a taxi downtown for dinner. We can't wait to stay here again next spring.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tepsicity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

I went to Zihautanejo hoping for relaxation, good local food and a chance to practice my Spanish. I was successful in attaining all the above. I stayed at Villas San Sebastian. It was perfect, close to Playa Ropa (3-5 minutes walking). I had a very cute and cozy one bedroom with a kitchen and outdoor space where I had a beautiful view of the water. There is a nice pool and wifi available.
I also went fishing on the Kathia Michell fishing boat. It was the third time I have gone out with Tibe, the captain, on that boat. The last time I went I caught a 40 lb yellow tail. I caught a couple of fish this time but even better we came across a school of dolphins. Tibe stopped the boat so I could swim with them. It was so exciting! I recommend him and his fishing panga wholeheartedly. You can find him at the Municipal pier or call him at ---------. If you call from outside Mexico you need to add a 1 first (for any Mexican cellular phone). Have fun!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catalinabebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zihuatanejo hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villas Las Azucenas
Hotel Villas Las Azucenas
#37 of 77 in Zihuatanejo
94 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aura del Mar Hotel
Aura del Mar Hotel
#2 of 77 in Zihuatanejo
548 reviews
0.8 mi away
Villas Miramar
Villas Miramar
#39 of 77 in Zihuatanejo
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Puerta Paraiso Hotel Boutique
Puerta Paraiso Hotel Boutique
#29 of 77 in Zihuatanejo
37 reviews
4.0 mi away
Casa Kau-Kan
Casa Kau-Kan
#52 of 77 in Zihuatanejo
43 reviews
0.9 mi away
Casa Adriana
Casa Adriana
#42 of 77 in Zihuatanejo
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas San Sebastian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas San Sebastian

Address: Blvd Escenico Playa La Ropa | Lot 112, Zihuatanejo 40895, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Zihuatanejo
Price Range: £64 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Villas San Sebastian 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our exclusive villas and condominiums offer you the perfect accommodation for your vacation getaway. Each is unique in its layout, and tastefully decorated with an authentic Mexican flavor. From our beautiful, convenient setting you can walk to the lovely Playa La Ropa. Or take a seaside stroll into El Centro along the winding Paseo del Pescador. Visit the bustling City Pier or take in the Archeological Museum. Amble through the quaint village of downtown Zihuatanejo, with its colorful old buildings and cobblestone streets, and enjoy the many charming craft and clothing shops, fine jewelry stores and wonderful restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Villas San Sebastian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas San Sebastian Hotel Zihuatanejo
Hotel San Sebastian
San Sebastian Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing