We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect introduction”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Solimar Inn Suites
Ranked #28 of 57 Zihuatanejo B&B and Inns
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“perfect introduction”
Reviewed 16 February 2013

This was my first time in Zihuantinejo and my traveling partners second time. We stayed for only one week (unusual for this hotel) from Feb 8th to 15th 2013. The hotel is only about a dozen rooms all facing an inside courtyard with a pool, patio sitting area, bar area with microwave and frig for storing drinks/food. The bar is not a business, more like your home bar. The patrons tend to be long term repeaters, some coming here for 20 years. I felt like I was in a friendly family reunion despite being my first time. People all have their own agendas for traveling but coming "home" you were sure to find someone to talk to or arrange an occasional meal with. The hotel is very clean and Edison and his aunt are very helpful. Edison speaks very good English and knows his area well. Located in a non touristy area, no one bothers you to buy things and the prices are the same for gringos as locals. Most locals do not speak fluent english so it has even less of a touristy feel. Wonderful fruit and green markets all around and prices are a steal. Would strongly recommend. Had no problem with the water but owner has jugs of purified water if desired.

Room Tip: in general the kitchenettes are stocked adequately for minimal cooking. Dishes, silverware, coffee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank snugs41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    13
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
13
35
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sechelt, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Very friendly family atmosphere, excellent service by Edison and family, suite had everything I needed and was well equipped. Well located, easy walk to the beach. Very secure, it was great. I'll be back for sure. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Rob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2012

Brian Hadfield England

My wife and I stayed at the Solimar Inn Suites for 6 weeks from 25/10 - 7/12 2012. We found everything very satisfactory. It was very clean and Edison and his aunt were very friendly and helpful. Edison speaks very good English.. All the shops, beaches and restaurants are a short walk away. It was quiet and would recommend the Solimar to anyone wishing to visit Zihuatanejo.
We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Brihad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We stayed at the Solimar for 8 nights from January 30, 2012. Edison and his aunt were kind and considerate, the accommodation excellent and we would definitely return, although we doubt there will be availability. The family has a high standard of cleanliness and service and they have many repeat customers.This was our 20th trip to Mexico and we continued our travels in Puebla, Xalapa and D.F. I became more and more nostalgic for Solimar.

Dorothy & Charles

Room Tip: Don't have enough information on other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Dorothy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

We spent a week at Solimar. It's an easy walk to the beach. The property is clean and well-maintained making it a good value. The proprietor, as mentioned in other reviews, speaks English and is very helpful.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EJKWashington_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2011

We just returned from Zihuatanejo where we spent the past 2 weeks at the Solimar Inn Suites Hotel. This is a charming Mexican-flavour hotel with only 12 suites and is family owned and operated. The manager speaks excellent English and was most helpful whenever we needed advise. All of the staff was very friendly and accommodating. (Hi Max!) The doors are locked at night for added security.
The hotel is located in a residential area very close to the main harbor area and downtown where anything you ever wanted is within walking distance. Just around the corner is La Boquita Pasteleria, (pasteries for brekkie anyone?) and a couple of blocks the other way is a wonderful fruit and veggie mart alongside a conventional grocery store. It is an easy 15 minute walk to Madera Beach or you can catch a bus right down the street to La Ropa Beach which is the main swimming beach at Zihua harbor. We walked everywhere and felt very safe and comfortable at both the hotel and Zihuataneyo in general.
We had 1 of the smaller suites but there was tons of room for the 2 of us. It was clean and well laid out. It was nice to have separate rooms rather than a ‘hotel’ room and we spent lots of time on our balcony. The breezes were most refreshing after a long day in the sun. There weren’t a lot of kitchen items but enough for the 2 weeks we were there. We really weren’t planning on doing a lot of cooking, we mainly wanted a fridge to keep drinks cold and to be able to have ice for water, and a stove to boil water for tea and coffee. If we were to stay for a longer period of time where we would cook for ourselves we would want to supplement the kitchen. The courtyard pool was a refreshing place to hang out at where we met the other tenants regularly to chat about the day. Many of these tenants are returnees which says a lot for the hotel and, because they have been coming here for years it’s like having a tourist booth at your fingertips. We had Wi-Fi in our room and one 3-prong plug for our Cdn electronics.
All in all it was a wonderful experience made better by the family style accommodations and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank sandjb419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solimarinn, Manager at Hotel Solimar Inn Suites, responded to this review, 16 March 2011
We thank you very much for your very kind words about our hotel. Very glad you had a wonderful experience with us and that you enjoyed the company of our repetitive and wonderful clients. We look forward to see you again. Best regards. Edison / Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2010

Hotel Solimar Inn is a quaint hotel with a great location. You are within walking distance to the market, where you can find fresh vegetables and fruit, and just about anything else you need. Near the market is the main street with banks, restaurants, and stores. The beach is also walking distance. The pool at Solimar Inn is small, but sufficient. Edison and staff are helpful and willing to provide any information about the area that you need.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Josefa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zihuatanejo hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Casa de la Palma
Hotel Casa de la Palma
#23 of 78 in Zihuatanejo
50 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Las Salinas
Hotel Las Salinas
#38 of 78 in Zihuatanejo
54 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel J.B.
Hotel J.B.
#60 of 78 in Zihuatanejo
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Villas Miramar
Villas Miramar
#37 of 78 in Zihuatanejo
91 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Zihua Express
Hotel Zihua Express
#12 of 57 in Zihuatanejo
20 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villas Mercedes
Villas Mercedes
#4 of 62 in Zihuatanejo
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Solimar Inn Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Solimar Inn Suites

Property: Hotel Solimar Inn Suites
Address: Higos # 4 (Plaza Los Faroles), Zihuatanejo CP40880, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Zihuatanejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Solimar Inn Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four levels Mediterranean style building with only 12 comfortable and nicely decorated suites from 430 to 540 square feet (40 to 50 m2) plus terrace area. Suites have bedroom, living-dining room, private bath, kitchenette (optional), air conditioner, fan, phone and cable TV 32"LED. Swimming pool, WiFi. We are considered a "Hotel with Charm". Allow us to give you our personal and friendly attention. We look forward to see you!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Solimar Inn Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing