We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My home away from home!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Solimar Inn Suites
Ranked #18 of 56 Zihuatanejo B&B and Inns
Calgary
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“My home away from home!”
Reviewed 13 April 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. This family run business was very accomodating. Including late check out for a 3:00AM flight! We enjoyed having an english speaking contact and everyone else tolerated our learning to speak spanish. Anything we needed they were quick to respond to. We found the location ideal. Next trip with the help of the staff we will be enjoying using the local transportion all the time. We were close to local transport, easy to connect with taxi's. The market and restaurants were close by, and shopping for those who like it was but a couple of blocks away.

Surprise of the trip. When our flight was delayed and we were placed in an all inclusive in Ixtapa for the night, our teenage daughter commented that she was very glad we stayed where we did as she much preferred Hotel Solimar. Two weeks in the all inclusive she said would have driven her crazy!

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thechamps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    13
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
13
35
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Corvallis, Oregon, Usa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2009

We chose Hotel Solimar online. Edison, the owner, is wonderful to work with. This is
a family owned property and much personal attention is given to the guests. Questions?
Just ask , and they'll be answered. Bakery,laundry, and internet within a block. Close to downtown and La Madera beach. Security and locked doors at night. We felt very safe, even walking downtown and to Playa Principal, both day and night. We stayed 3 weeks and our only disappointment was having to leave. Oregon's been cold and wet ever since we got home. The apartment is complete and spacious. Excellent maid service--every day.
Lovely balcony with view to the hills behind and the park below. And one of the best
highlights--very reasonable. The air conditioner was very useful and the bed was
very comfortable. La Madera Beach, open markets, indoor grocery. They're all close to Solimar. A great little hotel in a lovely town--Zihautanejo!

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CrCAROLYN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington State
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2009

This was the second time we stayed at Solimar Inn. If you like small and quaint you will love it there. Everyone is so nice. You get to know the other people staying there since there are only 12 units. The pool is a nice gathering place to meet the other guests. Many of the guests are people that return year after year. The location is great. Close to everything. Great restaurants, shops and bakery. The beach is a short walk of about 3 or 4 blocks. And when you are on the beach it is not crowded at all. Edison has all the information you need to get around town and see and do what ever you want. We felt safe at all times where ever we went in Zihuatanejo. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DelandJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 February 2009

After spending many years staying in Ixtapa my husband and I decided to stay in Zihua for a change. We stayed at the Hotel Solimar for 11 days starting Feb.10. It is a great hotel tucked into a residential neighborhood. The hotel is a great value and we would stay there again. The suites look out over a small park where there are always birds to enjoy. The rooms are very clean and confortable. We only used the air conditioning twice due to the great breeze that we had both day and night. We did not do alot of cooking but the kitchenette worked out great to cook shirmp that we bought at the local market. The pool was clean and just the right temperature for cooling off from the warm Zihua sun and the pool area is great for relaxing with a good book. Although we did not take a laptop there were several other guests using the WiFi around the pool. The hotel is very safe and secure and I never felt a need to lock up anything as I have in the larger hotels. With only 12 suites you soon make new friends with all of the other guests. Edison the owner is a fantastic host. He will meet your every request and always does so with a smile! Take the time to sit and chat with him as he is very knowledgable about the area and will be able to answer any of your questions about Ixtapa/Zihua or Mexico in general. This is a family owned hotel with everyone living on the property, all are very friendly and helpful. The hotel is easy walking distance to anything you would want in Zihua and if you don't feel up to walking take a bus it is an adventure waiting to be taken. We would highly reccomend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DickandDianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 February 2009

We picked this place because we had a chance to look it over the year before. It is safe, clean, friendly, and in the best location possible for those who want to be in Zihuat, close to the markets, bakery, laundry, restaurants and beaches. We were able to walk everywhere. Senor Edison and his family are SO HELPFUL with whatever you need. They watch the entrance night and day so your things are very safe. The little pool is great for a cool down right there at the hotel. The rooms are dated but roomy, light, and clean. The two burner stove is adequate and you can rent extra appliances such as coffee makers and blenders. We will come right back here next time we come.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjmil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shadow Hills, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 February 2009

We went to Zihuatanejo on the recommendation of a friend and one of the highlights was staying at the Hotel Solimar. Edison and his family were wonderful hosts -- incredibly helpful and accommodating. The location is good -- we walked easily everywhere we wanted to go -- even Playa La Ropa took only about 20 minutes. When we return, this will be our hotel of choice. It is well-maintained -- clean, comfortable and secure -- at a very reasonable price.

  • Liked — Close to everything -- well-maintained, clean, comfortable, secure
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeALion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 February 2009

We loved the location of this small Mexican Hotel...a delightful walk to the beaches, markets and downtown area. Thanks to Edison and his family we felt welcome and safe. Edison’s excellent English and knowledge about Zihuatanejo was very helpful in answering our many questions. The sparkling pool was a great place to cool down after long walks as well as a nice spot to sit and read. The pool/ garden area was a great spot to share travel information with other likeminded travellers. For being in a city, the hotel is very quiet. The rooms are clean, but basic...keeping in mind this is a Mexican hotel not a 5 star North American hotel. For this we enjoyed our stay and felt it was a good value. We look forward to returning in the future.

  • Liked — Great location, friendly, safe
  • Disliked — not on the beach, but we knew that!
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank GSCtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zihuatanejo hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Las Salinas
Hotel Las Salinas
#39 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
54 reviews
3.2 mi away
Gamma de Fiesta Inn Plaza Ixtapa
0.6 mi away
Hotel Casa de la Palma
Hotel Casa de la Palma
#28 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Villas Miramar
Villas Miramar
#40 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
90 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Irma
Hotel Irma
#12 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
430 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Villas Paraiso
Hotel Villas Paraiso
#20 of 22 in Ixtapa
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Solimar Inn Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Solimar Inn Suites

Property: Hotel Solimar Inn Suites
Address: Higos # 4 (Plaza Los Faroles), Zihuatanejo CP40880, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Zihuatanejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Solimar Inn Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four levels Mediterranean style building with only 12 comfortable and nicely decorated suites from 430 to 540 square feet (40 to 50 m2) plus terrace area. Suites have bedroom, living-dining room, private bath, kitchenette (optional), air conditioner, fan, phone and cable TV 32"LED. Swimming pool, WiFi. We are considered a "Hotel with Charm". Allow us to give you our personal and friendly attention. We look forward to see you!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Solimar Inn Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing