We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best food for the price”
Review of Chez Leo

Chez Leo
Ranked #157 of 324 Restaurants in Zihuatanejo
Restaurant details
Ixtapa, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best food for the price”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

The food was very good but a bit salty for my taste. Next time I will tell the chef to go easy on it. The tuna carpaccio was excellent but it was more like a tuna sashimi cook very rare but definitely not carpaccio. My friend had the quails and that was delicious. The salad dressing was amazing and it was almost a meal. Very large portion. My mahi-mahi was great. The chop suey was so so. It was made with rice. The ambience is great and the servers were friendly. They also had a guitar player. It was a very nice evening

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chantal H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    7
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best meal in Zihuatanejo!”
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Everything we ate here was delicious! The service was excellent! The chef even came to talk to us! And great prices! We had 2 glasses of wine, 2 beers, beef carpaccio, peppered tuna steak, and the seafood linguine for 450pesos!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unexpected pleasure in Zihuatanejo”
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We came to Zihuatanejo to check it out for my brother-in-law who is thinking of retiring here. I found this place on the internet, and we read some of the reviews, and went. Frankly, when we first arrived, we thought the reviews might have been a bit hyberboiic! But, after a bit of a wait - and some very funny interactions with the 16-year-old, English-learning waiter (cousin of the chef) - the food arrived: peppered tuna and mahi mahi (Yucatan style, still not 100% sure of what that means!). And, it was VERY good. Price is reasonable, we had a nice chat with the chef, nephew of Leo, the owner. Go and have a great meal!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank richardamiller53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Number 1 in Zihuatanejo for us”
Reviewed 12 March 2013

In our two years in Zihua, enjoying at least 20 restaurants, we had the best meal we have had yet. It is quite slow, and not cheap, but a cut above most Zihua restaurants. We shared an excellent artichoke to start, then she had chicken with brandy sauce, he had quail. better than any in Vancouver, B.C.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lytle1477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagle, Idaho
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food and great location”
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Our first visit to this little outdoor restaurant was prompted by a Seattle couple who were feasting on the seared tuna and noticed us looking at the menu. Their words said it all: This is the best seared tuna we've ever been served - anywhere! Since then, this has become one of our most favorite places to dine. Everything on the menu is superb, including the shrimp, fish of the day, you name it! We take pride in finding the best food at the best prices in Zihua, and this little gem is a keeper.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan and Ellen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chez Leo also viewed

Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
 
Playa Blanca, Zihuatanejo
 
Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
 

Been to Chez Leo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing