We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! Great Shrimp Pad Thai”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of El Murmullo

El Murmullo
Ranked #75 of 322 Restaurants in Zihuatanejo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Owner/chef Israel Salazar continues to explore and expand the culinary options in Zihuatanejo. Using only first quality ingredients, he creates special dishes that are available nowhere else in town. Israel is widely known for his Thai creations, but he lavishes the same attention and care on his Mexican and Italian offerings. His attentive, bi-lingual floor staff, amazing food, and full bar will make any evening at El Murmullo one to remember.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wow! Great Shrimp Pad Thai”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

Such a welcome break from all the amazing mexican food. I love that all the shrimp in this dish were perfectly cooked and seasoned unlike how it usually is prepared, which is like an after thought. Highly recommend this cute little restaurant with a lot of thought and balance in their dishes. One of the best thai dishes I have ever had...an odd thing to say about a restaurant in Z!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DCDIVERDOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    42
    8
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
DC
Level Contributor
85 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent chef and great atmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

Sometimes you just need to change it up, and for a break from typical local Mexican food, this place does a great job. The owner Israel and his entire team were very friendly and attentive. The Caesar salad to start was different, and excellent. The pad Thai and the Thai stir fry were delicious. We have a lot of Thai restaurants in Washington, DC, and I've never had better than the Thai food we had at El Murmullo in Zihua! We will be back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NativeDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Something Different”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

After spending several weeks in Mexico eating a lot of great Mexican food it's always nice to change it up. The Thai curry is wonderful. Always fresh and very tasty. Israel, the owner is usually around to make sure everything is perfect.. This is a must visit restaurant !

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank islacurious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“2nd visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

Ate here in April & now November - good food, decent prices, super clean. Love the satay soap & pad Thai dish. Great Thai food in Mexico - go figure!

Helpful?
Thank Deanl05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
647 reviews
451 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
“Excellent Centro Choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

Dinner choice on a Wednesday, no reservation, not busy. Israel (the owner chef) met us on arrival and offered us our choice of seating. Nice table settings, linen napkins, padded seating, good table spacing inside or on the adjoining pedestrian street. Chose a bottle of Trivento Argentinian Malbec from Israel's decent wine selection, decanted at the table. Were served a starter of garlic toast with a good quality olive oil and balsamic vinegar dip. For appies we both chose the Caprese Salad (a favourite that always pleases). Nice presentation and excellent flavours. For mains we chose the special of the night, mahi-mai served with huitlacoche (corn smut) flamed in a white wine and cream sauce. Fish was cooked perfectly and came with rice and fresh vegetables. Passed on the homemade dessert (too full). Great meal, Oscar the waiter is very attentive. El Murmullo is one of our favourite Zihuatanejo restaurants. Clean washrooms, open kitchen, a good Centro option, cash only.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ted M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Murmullo also viewed

Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
 
Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
 

Been to El Murmullo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing