We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Addition in Zihua”
Review of El Murmullo

El Murmullo
Ranked #80 of 322 Restaurants in Zihuatanejo
Price range: US$5 - US$15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Owner/chef Israel Salazar continues to explore and expand the culinary options in Zihuatanejo. Using only first quality ingredients, he creates special dishes that are available nowhere else in town. Israel is widely known for his Thai creations, but he lavishes the same attention and care on his Mexican and Italian offerings. His attentive, bi-lingual floor staff, amazing food, and full bar will make any evening at El Murmullo one to remember.
Cutchogue, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Addition in Zihua”
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Interesting little restaurant in Zihuatenajo. Visited 3 times while recently on vacation in Ixtapa. Israel is a great host and an excellent chef. On one visit we had a party of eight, all whom were impressed by the service and the quality and variety of their meals. Try the steak or chicken witness the mushroom sauce or the Thai entrees. Remember to make reservations and take cash. It's a bit hard to find, but not far from a Zihua landmark 'Coconuts'.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank JoeDepotLane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    42
    8
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
168 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“El Murmullo has a Master Chef”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

I wish I would have found this place earlier on this vacation. WOW this Chef can cook! The Green Chicken Curry was just hot enough and full of flavor. Mahi appetizer was divine. Can't wait to return to have more dishes on the menu. Very nice presentation. My mouth is watering while writing this review. Oh yes I don't want to forget the excellant staff. Good group of guy's. Bravo Chef Israel!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KathyS181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A very special restaurant!”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Israel and his staff are charming and funny. Service is terrific, but the food is the draw. I had the best Pad Thai I have ever tasted. This place is a great break from the many fine Mexican restaurants in Zihuatanejo.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sandman42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MN
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“wonderful curry/mahi mahi”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

I had the red curry with mahi mahi and it was fantastic. My wife had the mahi mahi in saffron sauce which was amazing. The fish portion was small but the flavor made up for that. Great little place a block off of the marina.We were there on a busy Sunday night in February. The city was really alive that night and sitting outdoors on the sidewalk was really a fun experience. We will go back for sure next time.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank MnBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westbank
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Best Thai Green Curry I ever had. A quaint little place good service great interaction from chef .Will go back next time for sure

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank rudereggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Murmullo also viewed

Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
 

Been to El Murmullo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing