We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for Lunch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Carmelitas Cafe

Carmelitas Cafe
Ranked #2 of 320 Restaurants in Zihuatanejo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are a family business for over 20 years we were located within the Airport Zihuatanejo, the business was called "Snack Bar - El Mirador"; but in 2008 we decided to leave the anonymity and moved to town with a new "Carmelite Cafe" concept. The mission of Carmen and Don Jesus was always clear, offer our customers the best dining experience in Zihuatanejo. During these years we have been aware of the importance of treating our guests like family. We pride ourselves everyday to trust Cafe Carmelites to treat at home; therefore, we insist that the recipes of Mrs. Carmelita, always keep the flavor of the Mexican family kitchen. We will always have an eye to providing the best quality in each of our dishes; leaving aside, a friendly smile and a humble to serve our customers heart. We cook for you like for our own home, without shortcuts, no frills, with love.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great for Lunch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

After many breakfast trips, we finally tried Carmelitas for lunch and it was as fantastic as all the ways it is for breakfast. Service is impeccable - so friendly. Food was fantastic, the pork special and mahi-mahi were excellent. Victor, Carmelita's son, visited with us and we were so impressed with his family's commitment to top-notch service and food - they succeed beautifully.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Maxis21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    626
    81
    26
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“One big Family!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

Love this place. Felt like family the first time. We went there almost every day for breakfast. Great food, very clean, service is impeccable and the fresh ground coffee is a must. A big shout out to Jose Manuel Gomez and Lisbeth!! Just wonderful people and so helpful with any questions we had about Zihua. Carmelita always came to say hello even though she didn't speak much English. She makes the best fresh tunafish salad (but only on Thursdays)!! Her older son also went out of his way to chat with us. It can be a bit difficult to find since it doesn't have a big street presence. It is close to the big traffic circle just down and across the street from the Oxxo and it's next to the car wash. Can't say enough good things about it. We miss it already and it's only been 2 days. Thank you everyone!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jessica O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

Came for breakfast and ordered chilaquiles, hot cakes, and huevos muñelotos(?). All the food and service was excellent. Hope to come back for other items.

Helpful?
Thank boback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Brighton, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

I had high expectations for Carmelita's based on rave reviews in Trip Advisor and from knowledgeable chefs like Rick Bayless and I was not disappointed. Spotlessly clean, warm atmosphere, friendly greeting, attentive service and most importantly excellent food. Homemade tortillas, great pan Dulce's, and the best coffee we've had in Zihua. Would highly recommend.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RAR59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
510 reviews
298 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 685 helpful votes
“Good food, but no where close to being #1”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

We enjoyed our breakfast at Carmelitas, but it wasn't anything to write home about. Maybe if we'd had a more substantial meal, it would have made a difference. They had a Chiles Rellenos on the menu ... and maybe that would have changed this review.

Blended juice drinks, fruit and egg dishes were average. Coffee was excellent.

I judge Mexican breakfasts by their Huevos Rancheros. This dish had a good sauce, but the corn tortilla was simply warmed and not fried. The sauce was simple with tomato, chile, and onion blended. I guess I was simply expecting something 'more' due to the excellent reviews. I must say that the egg was perfectly cooked and the service was good.

I have to admit that our cook (we hired for the week we were there) made a better Huevos Rancheros and it was definitely authentic.

This is a good breakfast place, with lots of locals eating here. I just don't see it being the BEST restaurant in Zihuat.

The restaurant is on a busy street and can be a bit difficult to find as the main entrance is down a small side street.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank PALTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Carmelitas Cafe also viewed

 
Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
 

Been to Carmelitas Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing