We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“T&W from BC - Clean, safe, private, friendly”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Zihuatanejo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Arecas Suites Hotel
Ranked #14 of 56 Zihuatanejo B&B and Inns
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“T&W from BC - Clean, safe, private, friendly”
Reviewed 2 March 2012

A small property with well maintained private grounds and pool. Easy access to beach, transport (inexpensive cabs and bus) and restaurants. If your idea of 4/5 star is a corporate hotel with umbrella drinks then you may not agree with rating but... if you want clean, friendly, peaceful and reasonably priced diggs then you will be happy. My wife and I spent 2 weeks here with friends and were treated like welcome house guests rather than a profit centre. Owners are very accomodating. If you want to unplug, walk, explore and you are moderately self sufficent - Arecas will be hard to beat.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TVO_WVO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
10
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

This hotel is 5 minutes walking distance from the beach in a private and safe area. It is clean and airy and well laid out, with a personal safe in the bathroom and a kitchenette patio. The owners are very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Seeker777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, CO
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

The two reviews posted are quite thorough and I agree with every thing said. The units are only about 2 years old and are well kept. The modern air conditioning system works great which I appreciated since it was about 85-87 F. in late January-early February.

Pepe, the on site owner and host, is from Mexico City where he worked for a German chemical engineering company. He is reasonably fluent in English and a wonderful and helpful host.

The place does not have the name on it, but one of the other reviews has excellent directions and Pepe sends you photos so you can recognize it. Every taxi driver knows where La Perla Restaurant is.

We felt very safe at the the hotel and every where in Zihua. We also took buses to Lake Patzcuaro and then to Guanajuato and flew back from Leon/Guanajuato airport. I did a lot of research that I would be happy to share with you: leemilner47@hotmail.com

We had an excellent guide, Marcia Parrino(mparrino@gmail.com), to visit the artisans in Paztcuaro. She is fluent in both English and Spanish and has great contacts w the artisans.

Room Tip: I would suggest that an upstairs room is very private and preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LeeMilner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

This is a small hotel 5 minute walk from beach. There are eight units consisting of a bedroom, bathroom, outdoor kitchen and dining area all built around a pool. The owners live on the third floor and there is a full-time maintenance man and daily maid service. La Ropa beach is an easy 5 min walk with access to excellant eating places. The beach is beautiful and swimmable. El Centro is 30 min away walking but busses and taxis are plentiful and cheap. At present there are only 3 units inhabited so it is quiet. There is no stove but there is a BBQ. The kitchen has a fridge and microwave. The lack of stove is my only criticism. All is great here.

Room Tip: Downstairs is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chad1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

this beautiful reasonably priced, little 8 suite hotel is perfectly located just a few steps from La Ropa beach, and a few steps from a bus stop (6 pesos) to go to Zihuatanejo Central. Immacuately clean, well appointed, suites have an outdoor kitchen with large fridge, toaster, coffee machine and microwave and hammock, and you can use the common BBQ area for more elaborate home cooking. Comfortable king sized beds, airconditioning, ceiling fans and good closet storage, daily maid service. Lovely small pool with loungers, surrounded by palms and a lovely cool garden, very private and secure. Bird watchers will love the show every morning. Tere and Pepe are perfect hosts, with lots of good restaurant advice. Very efficient and convenient deposit system using PayPal. There is no sign out front, so ask the taxi or bus for the road going to La Perla restuarant and Vepao Bungalows. (cerca La Perla seemed to work, but be careful that the taxi doesn't take you to Urracas suites which sounds a lot the same, and is further down the road) When you see the sign for la Perla and the road splits to the right, Las Arecas is the first place on the left, - look for the Calle 3, Lot 105c in wrought iron on the driveway. If you want to avoid the all inclusive feeding frenzy, these kitchenettes are perfect for doing it yourself and experiencing the real Mexico.

Room Tip: 4 suites around the pool and 4 suites on the second floor - all are well placed for sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ADenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zihuatanejo hotels
208.4 mi away
Gamma de Fiesta Inn Plaza Ixtapa
207.2 mi away
Hotel Tradicional Savaro
Hotel Tradicional Savaro
#36 of 56 in Zihuatanejo
3 reviews
208.9 mi away
Las Brisas Ixtapa
Las Brisas Ixtapa
#7 of 22 in Ixtapa
2,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
208.4 mi away
Hotel Villas Paraiso
Hotel Villas Paraiso
#20 of 22 in Ixtapa
80 reviews
207.3 mi away
Hotel Las Salinas
Hotel Las Salinas
#41 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
54 reviews
205.6 mi away
Bungalows Solecito
Bungalows Solecito
#2 of 5 in Barra de Potosi
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arecas Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arecas Suites Hotel

Property: Arecas Suites Hotel
Address: Calle 3, Lot 105c, Zihuatanejo, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Zihuatanejo
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing