We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Z Vacation”
Review of La Quinta Troppo

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Zihuatanejo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Quinta Troppo
Ranked #36 of 78 Hotels in Zihuatanejo
Santa Ynez, California
1 review
“Z Vacation”
Reviewed 4 December 2012

We have just returned from our 2nd stay at La Quinta Troppo and it was just as
wonderful as our first visit.
The inn sits above La Ropa Beach giving every suite a beautiful bay view from each room’s balcony. The walk to the beach is 5 minutes.
All the rooms are individually decorated with local art and are
spacious, spotlessly clean, air conditioned and well appointed. Free wifi too.
There is a beautifully tiled infinity edged pool and small kitchen where full breakfasts, lunches and dinners are served only to hotel guests by reservations and a small
poolside bar. The staff and management are very attentive but not intrusive.
Hotel Manager Lee had many great suggestions for dinner and day trips and even arranged our friends onward bus travel and hotel room reservations for the next leg of their trip to Morelia.
Troppo is the perfect romantic getaway, spot for reunions or small groups.
We can not wait for our next to Troppo.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kpalmer312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    5
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
12
81
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 November 2012

We bought a four night stay at La Quinta Troppo through a deal website and didn't know anything about the hotel or the city at the time of booking. The entire trip was absolutely fantastic and it was because we stayed at this fabulous boutique hotel. The staff is first class and go out of their way to ensure that you have what you need. Our room was perfect - the view is wonderful and the amenities are great: wi-fi and an iPod dock and pretty flowers in the room. We enjoyed hanging in the hammock and enjoying our coffee in the morning before breakfast. The walk to the beach took 5 minutes. We would definitely go back.

Room Tip: I'm not sure you can get a bad room - from what we saw, they all have fantastic views and amenit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MDLarsonTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2012

La Quinta Troppo is a fabulous hotel. The view from the hotel is gorgeous, and the beautiful Playa La Ropa beach is an easy 5-minute walk away. The rooms are well-appointed, comfortable and clean, with lots of small pleasures, like special toiletries and an iPod dock. The pool, patio and other common areas are great to hang out in. The staff -- everyone from the owners to the waitstaff -- is friendly and very accommodating. (The owner, Lee, gave us rides to town and even took me out for a drive when we were rained in for a couple of days.) We ate breakfast at the hotel every morning and sometimes lunch, drinks and/or appetizers, and the food and drinks were delicious. It's quick and cheap to get into town to explore the shops and markets. We very much enjoyed our time at La Quinta Troppo, and I give it my highest recommendation.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Orderingann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
Reviewed 4 November 2012

It´s a pleasure to get to know this very unique boutique hotel on the pacific coast on the La Ropa beach in Zihuatanejo.From the moment you arrive you have a feeling of being at home... the staff is first class. very nice Mexican girls and guys that go out of their way to please you in all details. Management is in German Hands although the owner and GM has lived in Mexico for the past 40 years, a great host , very service minded and funny guy ! it´s a pleasure to have been able to know all these guys. Rooms are in perfect shape. details allover, everything works perfectly. You sense that everything is kept in shape constantly You even get handed out a key of the main entrance so you can go in and out at your convenience. Food is great , the best "huevos a la Mexicana" I tried in a long time for breakfast. One main issue, you can really rest and disconnect when you are here. The only tip I have is : come to this hotel and experience quality and cosyness..! Nothing to do with these horrible big all inclusive and stuff like this.
One more thing: Mexico is safe !! MExico city is safe !! and a place like Zihuatanejo is super safe. don´t get influenced on the news about Mexico. All the stuff you read happens far , far away fromo zihua. And if you want a good restaurant go to El Galeon Veleros at he Marine of Ixtapa great place to eat !
If you want to have a good time, rest, experience good quality and great people. it will be a pleasure for you to visit La Quinta Troppo !! I guarantee this =)

thank you guys at la Quinta Troppo!!

Carlos H

Room Tip: All rooms are great we had Neptuno which is top.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

La Quinta Troppo is a truly special place. We've visited several times over the years, and are constantly drawn back. There's something about the relaxed atmosphere, the friendliness of the staff, the beauty of the rooms, and the general ambiance that almost immediately strips away your day-job cares allows you a deep, satisfying exhale.

Our routine couldn't be simpler. A jog in the morning -- either along the beach, up the nearby hills, or across town -- followed by coffee and tea that's delivered every morning to your room. In time, it's down to the terrace for a wonderful breakfast of local fruit and freshly-baked rolls. After breakfast, we're good for half a day at Playa la Ropa, one of the most beautiful beaches we've ever seen. Then it's back to La Quinta Troppo for a poolside lunch prepared by the hotel's great cook. The afternoon slips by, then it's off to dinner, often at one of Zihua's cliff-side restaurants by sometimes at special places in town like La Gula. When we get back to La Quinta Troppo, the bed has been turned down and flower petals arranged on the bedspread spell out a message for the evening.

I mentioned the great staff at the hotel. I'm happy to report that La Quinta Troppo hasn't missed a beat with Lee Kraft taking over for David Ferguson. Lee couldn't be friendly and more helpful, but is never intrusive, and is a perfect host. Erica at the front desk, Valdimir (seemingly everywhere), Mary in the kitchen, and other staff members make you feel welcome and comfortable from the first minutes of your stay.

For those concerned about safety, we've never felt alarmed in Zihua. We walk throughout town at different hours of the day and night, and have never felt in the slightest bit threatened. The people of Zihua are as friendly as could be, and go out of their way to help you even if the amount of your Spanish couldn't fill a thimble.

We've been to great hotels around the world, but there's no place like La Quinta Troppo!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catullus51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

My gf and I ended up basically choosing a spot on the map to vacation that was turnkey for getting from A to B. We're just so thankful we ended up at La Quinta Troppo, there is just no better hotel if you want authenticity, professionalism, warm Mexican hospitality and all that is imagined with the thought of boutique hotels. they turned our beds down 2x day, helped us with dozens of little issues, and bigger ones like coordinated activities for us, were just the right amount of attentive and Lee is the person to know in that city!
Food was amazing, greeted by margi's (unreal and got a little too accustomed to them) and fresh guac (still having withdrawals) and the breakfast on the patio was other worldly. Kind of treatment that makes you giggle like you're getting away with something or died and went to heaven. Honestly, in hindsight our view of our vacation at their spot, especially for their location and the fantastic taste of the hotel, is a 5 star one. We'll be back, i guarantee it. I'd go on, but don't want to spoil it (but order the coffee and the enchiladas).
Thank you Lee and staff!

Room Tip: we were right above the bar- forget room name- but we loved it, big and great floor plan, great view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QuintaTroppo, Owner at La Quinta Troppo, responded to this review, 17 March 2013
Long time guests become good friends and thanks to you, La Qiunta Troppo has been voted one of the 25 best small hotels in Mexico.... We just have one wish: Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vista, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

This was our first time in Zihuatanejo and La Quinta Troppo, although I have been in many beach destinations and some cities, such as Guadalajara and Merida. My fiancé wanted a small and exclusive hotel and were lucky enough to stay at his beautiful property for weeklong vacation, which has only 8 or 9 rooms, but a service level far better than in some of the much more expensive hotels I’ve stayed. We felt comfortable and at home from the first day on; more like visiting a rich relative than being guest at a hotel. The staff was so discrete, but always at hand when we required something. We still don’t know what the trick is, how they do it to be so invisible and still always present. Our room, La Sirena, was clean, bright, beautifully appointed and decorated and the view breathtaking. We absolutely enjoyed the morning swim in the pool, after sipping a cup of excellent coffee on our balcony. Breakfast was delicious and so was our after breakfast stroll on La Ropa beach, one of the nicest in Mexico.
The cook is lady from Oaxaca and she showed us how to prepare Mexican salsas and on request she prepared wonderful vegetarian meals, which were not even on the menu. We were told, that this was possible because it’s a slow season and only one other room at the hotel was occupied. They offer a Mexican cooking class in high season, something we definitely want to do next time we are here, and we do want to come back.
Thank you so much Erica, Francisco, Mary and Valdemar for a wonderful vacation. And the staff we did not get to know personally, thank you for a wonderful condition.
Oh, and one more thing. Some of our friends and family were worried because we vacationed in Mexico and actually we doubted a little ourselves, although we have never had any negative experience in the past. We are so happy we did go. Lee, the owner, took us around town and showed us some of his favorite stores and restaurants and suggested we strolled the streets downtown after sunset, which we did. We felt absolutely safe and in a friendly environment all the time and everywhere.

Room Tip: There are two incredible open rooms on a higher level with a wonderful view, but because of the open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QuintaTroppo, Owner at La Quinta Troppo, responded to this review, 17 March 2013
Thank you. Have a wonderful spring.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zihuatanejo hotels
0.7 mi away
Tentaciones Hotel
Tentaciones Hotel
#21 of 78 in Zihuatanejo
142 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Guadalupe Hotel
Villa Guadalupe Hotel
#46 of 78 in Zihuatanejo
32 reviews
0.5 mi away
Embarc Zihuatanejo
Embarc Zihuatanejo
#11 of 78 in Zihuatanejo
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Villas San Sebastian
Villas San Sebastian
#33 of 78 in Zihuatanejo
51 reviews
2.7 mi away
Puerta Paraiso Hotel Boutique
Puerta Paraiso Hotel Boutique
#29 of 78 in Zihuatanejo
37 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aura del Mar Hotel
Aura del Mar Hotel
#2 of 78 in Zihuatanejo
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Troppo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Troppo

Property: La Quinta Troppo
Address: Playa la Ropa, Zihuatanejo, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#11 Spa Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#12 Luxury Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Zihuatanejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — La Quinta Troppo 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Quinta Troppo is a designer boutique hotel overlooking the beautiful bay of Zihuatanejo, La Ropa and Las Gatas beaches. We provide privacy and tropical luxury in a 9 suite hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Quinta Troppo Hotel Zihuatanejo
La Quinta Hotel Zihuatanejo
La Quinta Zihuatanejo
Zihuatanejo La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing