We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just as wonderful as I remembered!”
Review of La Quinta Troppo

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Zihuatanejo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Quinta Troppo
Ranked #35 of 80 Hotels in Zihuatanejo
New York, NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Just as wonderful as I remembered!”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

This Thanksgiving was my second trip to La Quinta Troppo and it was just as wonderful as the first time! I went last year with my boyfriend and loved it so much, I brought my mother & sister this time! No matter who how you're traveling (couple, solo, family, friends), Lee (the owner) and his staff will do the upmost to make your experience perfect.

All the little details add up to such an incredible time (ie - coffee outside your door each morning, bed decorated with flowers each evening, fresh little flower on the glass when you order a margarita, etc).

The staff is amazing, Lee gave me a big hug when I got in, it's like visiting old family! My mother left some medicine back home that she needed and thus got very sick on our first day there - Lee personally drove her into the downtown, found her a doctor and helped her get the help she needed - that's just one example of how above and beyond a normal hotel Troppo is.

The hotel is also GORGEOUS and it's really hard to believe something this beautiful and wonderful is so reasonably priced - if you want to have a once in a lifetime experience, this is the place to go.

I'm already planning my next trip - see you soon Troppo!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BSNY86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee K, Owner at La Quinta Troppo, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words and evaluation on this site.
We all look forward to see you again soon.
All the best to you, your family and boyfriend, to whom we send our best regards. We missed him!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    5
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
12
81
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Rafael, California
1 review
Reviewed 1 January 2014

You are in for a treat if you go to La Quinta Troppo!! We have loved it all 3 times! The rooms are beautiful, the food is delicious and most of all the staff is extremely friendly and accommodating!!! The beach - that is a 3 minute walk - is awesome - warm water and a few nice lunch spots! The staff does not miss a thing - there is a hot pot of coffee waiting at your door in the morning. The breakfasts and lunches are delicious. La Quinta Troppo makes it so hard to come home!!! We can't wait to go back again!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank courtney b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee K, Owner at La Quinta Troppo, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
I'm happy we keep up to your standards and expectations; and your baby Lucy was a joy to everyone here. We look forward to next time! Stay well!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Zihuatanejo is still a treasure to be discovered and so is Quinta Troppo. I stayed in this hotel for 5 days wishing I never had to leave. The staff was very kind and ready to help with anything you need. The owner, Lee, was very friendly and recommended many things to see and do in the area together with recommendations as to transportation. He was also very willing to fulfill any of our special requests. Although the hotel is not on the beachfront you get the view of spectacular sunsets over the ocean and all the comfort of being by the beach. The hotel is very private and tranquil. Beach is literally only few minutes walking distance which was not a problem at all. I'm looking forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tea1551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee K, Owner at La Quinta Troppo, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words Tereza. Having traveled all the way form the Czech Republic to Mexico and considering all the beautiful places you have visited in the world, we are very pleased and proud to have received this wonderful review from you.
Please receive our best wishes for a great 2014!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We just returned from 10 days at La Quinta Troppo and loved everything about this small luxury hotel. The owner, Lee and his staff have your comfort as their highest priority from the moment they welcome you into "their home", to waving good by from the curb as the taxi back to the airport pulls away. They inquire, without being intrusive and are unfailingly charming. Lee is also very responsive to emails, answering all questions promptly and thoroughly.

We had delicious breakfasts and lunches at the hotel then went out for dinners. Lee can make good recommendations, or they will even prepare a light snack at the hotel if you let them know. He has been in Zihua for years and is very knowledgeable about the area. Their homemade chips and guacamole are excellent, as are the margaritas.

The location is a short walk up the hill from Playa La Ropa beach, which gives better access to the breeze. The rooms are very comfortable, and we loved the view of the bay from our balcony, a great place to watch the sunsets and in the mornings to enjoy the coffee that's delivered outside the door. Our room, La Sirena was very spacious and had 2 ceiling fans, as well as air conditioning. We could close the doors if we wanted to run the a/c. They also have totally open rooms available. The hotel Wi-Fi worked perfectly and had good signal strength.

We feel as though we've been guests in a private villa with the personal attention to details that made this holiday one of the best beach vacations ever. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee K, Owner at La Quinta Troppo, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Thank you Janet. Just today I sent you an e-mail asking for a review, because I had not yet seen this one. So thank you once again!
You were wonderful guests and we very much enjoyed having you at La Quinta Troppo. So, please keep us in mind when you yearn for a vacation in Mexico.
In the meantime, all our best wishes for you and Michael.
Happy 2014!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Ynez, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 December 2013

My husband and I just returned from our 3rd vacation at Troppo. We love Troppo so much we brought along 3 other couples this trip. Troppo and her staff did not disappoint. Everyone loved their rooms though one couple who opted for the non air conditioned suite did move to the suite
with air half way through the stay.
We all put Lee and his wonderful staff to the test. From the airport transfer upon arrival to the hunt for fine wines and cigars to the lovely first night dinner prepared by Margarita the cook.
If you are looking for a lovely intimate inn with first class service Troppo is where you should be.

Room Tip: We have stayed in Serena and Tucanes and both are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee K, Owner at La Quinta Troppo, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Thank you so much Kathy. You have been very kind a wonderful promoter of La Quinta Troppo.
We all appreciate that very much. At this time, all I can add is that we wish you and your family all the best, good health, fun, happiness, prosperity and long life.
Happy 2014!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san jose
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We celebrated our 20 yr anniversary and this place is a gem. Amazing view of the Playa La Ropa. Lee and the staff are amazing....great meals and will go the extra mile to make sure everything is perfect. A caraffe of gourmet coffee is delivered to your door every morning at 8:00am so your day starts at your own pace. It is a short walk to a stunning beach at Playa La Ropa and great restaurants on the beach. It is fun to take a 5 minute cab to a quaint downtown but we enjoyed our private romantic villa and access to the beach much better. Breakfasts were fresh fruit and pastries followed by gourmet options with eggs and sausage,etc. Fresh squeezed orange juice. They have a private pool just perfect for cooling off and having a drink...and they have great bartender and also the chef is amazing with the detail she puts into each meal. I have never stayed in a place so special in my life and we will most certainly be back! Can't wait!

Room Tip: La Sirena is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sanjosewinetasters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee K, Owner at La Quinta Troppo, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Thank you for your kind words in the review of La Quinta Troppo.
Did you know we have a very special SPECIAL for a 21st anniversary?
Just kidding, but you know we will always have a SPECIAL for our beloved friends and repeat guests.
Wishing you healthy, happy and prosperous 2014!!!
Hasta pronto.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lolo, Montana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We spent our honeymoon there 10 years ago and had a great stay. We returned for our anniversary this November and Lee and the staff gave us another exceptional stay. The rooms and grounds are in top condition. We enjoyed the complementary breakfast each morning. It's only a minute walk to the best beach we have ever been to. See you next year, Don & Andrea

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee K, Owner at La Quinta Troppo, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Hello Andrea and Don.
Happy New Year! Thank you very much for visiting us again and for your kind review.
We all look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zihuatanejo hotels
0.3 mi away
Villas San Sebastian
Villas San Sebastian
#30 of 80 in Zihuatanejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Luz
Villa Luz
#31 of 80 in Zihuatanejo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
2.7 mi away
Puerta Paraiso Hotel Boutique
Puerta Paraiso Hotel Boutique
#29 of 80 in Zihuatanejo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Tentaciones Hotel
Tentaciones Hotel
#17 of 80 in Zihuatanejo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villas Las Azucenas
Hotel Villas Las Azucenas
#36 of 80 in Zihuatanejo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aura del Mar Hotel
Aura del Mar Hotel
#2 of 80 in Zihuatanejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Troppo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Troppo

Property: La Quinta Troppo
Address: Playa la Ropa, Zihuatanejo, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#12 Spa Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#13 Luxury Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Zihuatanejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — La Quinta Troppo 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Quinta Troppo is a designer boutique hotel overlooking the beautiful bay of Zihuatanejo, La Ropa and Las Gatas beaches. We provide privacy and tropical luxury in a 9 suite hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Quinta Troppo Hotel Zihuatanejo
La Quinta Hotel Zihuatanejo
La Quinta Zihuatanejo
Zihuatanejo La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing