We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Quinta Troppo
Nearby Hotels
Las Brisas Ixtapa(Ixtapa)(Great Value!)
US$143
US$83
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$450
US$280
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barcelo Ixtapa(Ixtapa)
US$298
US$193
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Catalina Beach Resort(Zihuatanejo)(Great Value!)
US$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Emporio Ixtapa(Ixtapa)(Great Value!)
US$87
US$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Villa Mexicana Hotel(Zihuatanejo)(Great Value!)
US$145
US$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$272
US$173
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$484
US$313
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$198
US$194
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Gamma de Fiesta Inn Plaza Ixtapa(Ixtapa)(Great Value!)
US$52
US$49
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (144)
Filter reviews
144 results
Traveller rating
134
5
1
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
134
5
1
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshrimp tacosla ropacommanding viewpalapa roofericabay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 144 reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We just arrived home two days ago after having spent a fabulous two weeks here. Our comments are similar to so many other guests of this quiet, beautiful, discreet and classy boutique hotel. We stayed in La Sirena (the 9 rooms are named), a spacious room with great views. Although current construction on the property directly below our two balconies was rather noisy during the day, time spent at the gorgeous La Ropa Beach, in La Quinta's lovely pool area, and Zihua's quaint El Centro kept us quite happily occupied until the evening calm was restored. Enjoyed great spa services in our room. Very well priced.
Each member of staff with whom we interacted was consistently friendly, helpful and professional . We experienced outstanding service and attention to every detail. We felt like honoured guests and were able to truly relax in this enchanting villa.
The food is exquisitely prepared from scratch using the freshest ingredients. The " tacos for two" were the best we've ever tasted. The whole menu is to die for. Seriously.
This was our second time to Zihuatanejo and our first stay at La Quinta Troppo. We are already planning next year's trip and will be returning to our new friends, the staff at Troppo.

Room Tip: Each room is unique, with its own ambience. Pick the room that seems best suited to your desires and needs. There's good information on Troppo's website and on Tripadvisor. Enjoy!
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NanPat2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee K, Owner at La Quinta Troppo, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2014

Nine months have passed since your visit in March and the construction of the home below the hotel is of course all finished by now. Ready to come back? We are running some SPECIAL OFFERS for friends and repeat guests with steep discounts. They are on the website. I take the opportunity to wish you very happy holidays!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We have been home for 2 days after our 8 night stay at La Quinta Troppo. This was our second visit and we had the same open air accommodation, Suite La Ropa. All suites are private and elegant. Fairly new owner Lee Kraft has held on to the same wonderful staff and they seem like a family. In fact Troppo is so small you will feel like you are guests in a private villa instead of occupants in a nondescript hotel. We had high hopes returning after 9 years and we were not disappointed.
The two open air suites have water views and you feel like you are living outside. No air conditioning but the two ceiling fans help with the heat and humidity. You WILL hear more road and construction noise but you also are closer to the tropical birds and sounds of the ocean.
Each morning a tray with good French press coffee appeared outside our door. If you choose you may go to the breakfast area (nice patio with bougainvillea and other tropical foliage), for a complimentary fruit plate, fresh squeezed orange juice, and breads. Additional full breakfast items are available for about $10.00 US per person. We ate at the little beachfront restaurants and in town a lot but our last day the staff fixed us a wonderful lunch prior to our departure. I had the fish tacos with mango salsa and my husband had chicken enchiladas with mole sauce. Prices were reasonable and the food was delicious. La Quinta Troppo also greets you with a margarita, guacamole and chips upon arrival (complimentary). Of course we had to have several more margaritas during our stay! Our recommendation is to give this small boutique hotel a try. Make sure you email Lee with all questions and he will be honest about the different room categories, their location, and the noise you may hear from each area of the hotel. The artwork and plantings throughout are very nice and we also loved the little lap pool. It is a pretty perfect place to stay! We will be back.

Room Tip: We loved the open air suite but it does mean there will be more noise. Ask Lee Kraft, owner, for guidance when you send your reservation request.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bainbridgetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee K, Owner at La Quinta Troppo, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Thank you for your comments and recommendations to other guests interested in visiting Zihuatanejo and looking for adequate accommodation.
Yes, of course I am concerned regarding possible noise issues generated by the construction site down the road to La Ropa beach, but fortunately our guests have not found this to be a major issue, except one couple from San Diego which had booked the open room LAS GATAS. We are now reserving one optional "closed room" in the section above the terrace for guests who have booked one of the open rooms LA ROPA or LAS GATAS, although no one has asked to change rooms so far.
In any case, it appears that they will finish the work during the summer months.
Once again, thank you for your visit, your evaluation and suggestions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

This is our third stay and we have not been disappointed! I'll comment more later as I don't want to spend to much time on my phone when I could be relaxing in this beautiful setting. I do want to mention that after having tried all the beach restaurants - there is no comparison to the amazing breakfasts & lunches right here by our pool. The shrimp tacos are the best anywhere - period but everything is prepared fresh & with great care. The French Press coffee with breakfast - perfection!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank RedE2Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee K, Owner at La Quinta Troppo, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Thank you kindly!
How about an order of assorted tacos for two on a Sunday afternoon?
How about coming back to La Quinta Troppo sometime soon?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

La Quinta Troppo is a terrific hotel. My boyfriend surprised me with a birthday getaway & found La Quinta Troppo on Jetsetter. What a great experience! The location is ideal (2 min walk to the beach) and the property is lovely. It is a very small hotel, well maintained & the rooms are very spacious. The staff is awesome! They were so helpful & friendly, but not intrusive at all. I REALLY enjoyed talking with Lee the owner & you can tell everyone works there is like family. Unlike the larger resorts, everyone we interacted with (both staff & guests) were super happy. It seems like every day is a good day at La Quinta Troppo! We stayed in the Las Gatas suite, and I would highly recommend it. Very quiet, great views & comfy bed. Every morning there was fresh coffee outside our door, which was a nice touch. Our days were spent lounging by the pool or hanging out at the beach. It was very dreamy! We had a wonderful romantic getaway & will return!

Room Tip: Las Gatas is a terrific open air room with pretty views
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank julia l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee K, Owner at La Quinta Troppo, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Thank you so much for your kind review.
It would be wonderful to attend to you again sometime.
All our best and greetings to David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We stayed for 12 nights and had an absolutely amazing time, very relaxing and laid back. Lee, and his staff, Erica, Mary, Margarita, Francesco, to name a few, are so attentive and want to look after your every need. The food is cooked to order and is delicious. Our room was very spacious with a private balcony. Coffee delivered to outside our room every morning was a real treat. Location is 3 minutes to the beach and within walking distance to a number of restaurants. Margaritas, made by Francesco, every evening for sunset, are a must!!!! At La Quinta Troppo you actually feel like you are experiencing the true feeling of Mexico. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trent017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee K, Owner at La Quinta Troppo, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Thank you for your kind review and comments regarding our staff. I will pass them on.
It must be getting warm in Ottawa by now; enjoy the sun and beautiful countryside in Canada.
See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews