We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Villa Carolina is a Joy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Carolina Hotel
Ranked #25 of 78 Hotels in Zihuatanejo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Villa Carolina has seven lovely accommonations. The four smallest have a very large bedroom/living room, a good-sized kitchen, and a covered patio area with dining table. The hotel is immaculate and very well run. The manager provides concierge services that would do a very large hotel proud. The pool is lovely and there are plenty of chaises. The clientele is very pleasant. The beach is a couple of blocks away. There are pleasant restaurants on the beach and some a short walking distance away that have spectacular views of the bay and the really pleasant town of Zihuatanejo. Good shops and restauarants. A fascinating market area offers fresh fruits and vegetables and there is a large, traditional supermarket in town.
You can't miss here!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BruceJoyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2012

Cannot say enough good things about this hotel. Would highly recommend to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth103177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

We just returned from our 4th stay at Villa Carolina and once it again it was absolutely wonderful. It is a perfect little oasis in Zihuatanejo with spacious rooms, a beautiful property and pool, and just a one minute walk to La Ropa beach for a swim, yoga, or some great meals. The service was, as always, outstanding. Cintya is the consummate and most gracious host and her friendly and helpful staff always ensures the hotel is immaculate and well maintained and that any of your needs are met. Every stay here has always been perfect and it is rare to find a hotel like that!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Capt-Canuck5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

We spent two weeks at the Villa Carolina in November, 2011. We had one of our best vacations ever there and can't wait to go back there. The whole set up is perfect, the pool is great, the rooms are large, spacious and modern. We looked forward to seeing how the flowers were decorated on our bed each morning. The staff and general manager Cintya were absolutely the best! We stayed in a Garden Suite on the main pool level. It was great for going out on the patio for coffee and pastries in the morning, and just lounging around. Our room was spotless as well as the whole complex. We never had any problems with bugs in our room or around the pool.
It is a short walk to the beach and many great inexpensive restaurants. It is easy to get cabs right outside the door, which are also inexpensive. Cintya arrange golf times, tours, and a deep sea fishing trip for us. We really appreciated everything she did to make our vacation fabulous.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Been here since they opened...will be back in jan 2012. It doesn't get better than this. Staff,service,cleanliness....comparable to at least 10 resorts we have been to in Mexico...and the choices of great restaurants...Wow. And....Tina. Massage. Beats all. She is superb..right to your Casa.

Treat yourself...:)

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MRNMRSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Just left Villa Carolina after spending 7 days there 12/22-12/29. Stayed in one of the 2 main suites on second floor of hotel. It was crazy large and comfortable. Loved the kitchenette and we were able to have our own cocktails, drinks, and snacks in our room. The pool area was wonderful and the pool itself super clean and just the right level of coolness to temper the super hot sun this year. It's a very laid back and quiet atmosphere, small but great staff. Things take time so best not to be rushed when you order from room service.
One note- bring insect repelant. We got a little eaten alive the first evening that we sat out on our balcony. We even liked to just spray a little on before bed- b/c one or two would get in our bedroom even if we tried to keep the door closed during the day.
Close to cab stand by The Tides- which makes it really easy to get anywhere.
By the way- Tides is a great place for sunset drinks and dinner- if your feeling very fancy.
It seemd that the crowd is regulars that come each year. We were the youngest couple there until the day we left and another young married couple arrived. Otherwise pretty much all people that come each year and know each other. If you're looking for a party- this is not the place, but that's what we liked about it.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the street # 5, and the two garden that are on the far end of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Samsgrrl00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2011

We spent a wonderful week at Villa Carolina recently. The hotel is absolutely beautiful and I can't thing of anything that could be improved. The rooms are spacious, clean and very comfortable. The staff is very exceptional. We enjoyed the beach which is a short walk away and our visits to nearby towns. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zihuatanejo hotels
0.3 mi away
Embarc Zihuatanejo
Embarc Zihuatanejo
#8 of 78 in Zihuatanejo
530 reviews
2.7 mi away
Puerta Paraiso Hotel Boutique
Puerta Paraiso Hotel Boutique
#29 of 78 in Zihuatanejo
38 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villas Las Azucenas
Hotel Villas Las Azucenas
#39 of 78 in Zihuatanejo
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
La Villa Luz
La Villa Luz
#30 of 78 in Zihuatanejo
20 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Casa Que Canta
La Casa Que Canta
#1 of 78 in Zihuatanejo
563 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tentaciones Hotel
Tentaciones Hotel
#23 of 78 in Zihuatanejo
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Carolina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Carolina Hotel

Address: Calle Escenica La Ropa s/n, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 78 Hotels in Zihuatanejo
Price Range: £149 - £335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Villa Carolina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Carolina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing