We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class Staff and Hotel”
Review of Aura del Mar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aura del Mar Hotel
Ranked #1 of 77 Hotels in Zihuatanejo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We had commented on Aura del Mar in the past, and our feelings have not changed. We appreciate the staff and total surroundings of the hotel and facilities. From check-in to check-out the Aura staff goes well out of their way to see that you are comfortable and happy. Carlos always is spot on with recommendations and directions. Alexander and Jacqueline are the most thoughtful people on earth. Miguel and Janet are wonderful and very helpful and run a smooth operation. The facilities are spotless and beautiful. The waitstaff from the restaurant are very efficient and friendly, Martin, Bernadino and Jesus have been there for a long time, remember you and are helpful. We consider this a first class establishment!

Room Tip: All rooms are very nice, better view in the higher level rooms, all have bay views and nice private...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank billymn723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (548)
There are newer reviews for Aura del Mar Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 548 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2014

We moved here from Irma, after a bad night there, and the staff made room for us and even moved some others around so we could stay in one room. What a great place! The food is average, but the hotel really makes its guests feel special. Thanks Aura Del Mar.

Room Tip: They're all good rooms, although the whirlpool isn't necessary.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FranklyFairfax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We have stayed here for several years and will continue to do so in the future. The staff is outstanding and the location is excellent. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Nice restuarant or there are dozens of others within a short walking distance. Staff is always helpful with suggestions and answering questions. We stay to get away from the cold winters at home and to enjoy the quiet layed back atmosphere. If you are looking for a hotel for a little winter R&R this is a great find. We do miss Fredrico for happy hour on the upper level but otherwise it is always a great stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marshall C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed the week of Feb 8-15. Check-in was smooth and quick. Carlos and Jacqueline will take good care of you and answer any questions you may have about sites, tours, and places to eat.

Don't miss the coconut shrimp at Daniel's and the molecajete at Bandito's. Daniels is right on the beach just before you get to the basketball court. Bandito's is across the street from the church.

We were in room 104, about halfway down from the lobby to the beach. It had a comfortable pillowtop king bed. Double vanity in the bathroom.The room is approximately 350sq ft with a 10x12ft balcony. The balcony had two padded loungers. Great view of the ocean, and pretty private.

The maid did a nice job of cleaning and tidying up after us every day, except the day we forgot to turn over the do not disturb sign - Doh!!
She left us with 2 bottles of water in the frig and 1 in the bathroom everyday.

The AC was plenty cold and quiet as well.

There are supposed to be eight floors there, but it seems that are a few half levels tucked in here and there for a couple rooms, a pool/ping-pong/computer access room, and a couple more for a patio and bar.

If you have problems climbing stairs, this is NOT the place for you. If stairs are not an issue, you will really love it. There are 97 steps from the beach to the lobby, and more if you've got a room above the lobby level. But again, if you're staying on Playa Madera, you'll quickly find there are lots of hills and stairs everywhere.

We spent a lot of time on the elevated patio area between the pool and the beach. There is a table with chairs there, several loungers, a couch/chair sitting area and 4 hammocks. The hammocks and couch/chairs are in the shade, the loungers/table in the sun. The pool area is very nice. We never had any issues getting a lounger. There is also a spot on the beach where there are additional loungers. We only used them one day, preferring to be in the elevated area by the pool where the view and cooling breezes were better.

Even though this is a family hotel, there were very few children there, probalby because it's small with no activity program for them.

The staff was wonderful and friendly. The hotel was perfectly located for us - quick access to town and La Ropa beach. You're within easy walking distance to more restaurants than you'll be able to hit in a single week, or even two. We didn't have any bad food all week, just some places that were better than others. Visit the Zihuatanejo forum to see other folks comments about places to eat. Their recommendations were spot-on.

The only issue we had was with the wi-fi connection. It's spotty from a lot of locations in the hotel. It worked decently most of the time from the pool and lobby, but not very well in our room. Sometimes we couldn't connect at all from any spot. The staff is aware of it hanging occasionally, so hopefully that will improve in the future.

We didn't want to leave - seven days just wasn't enough. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happy2bwarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Another delightful stay at this boutique hotel. Staff always greets with a smile and so very attentive. We were traveling with our son, daughter in law and 16 month old grand daughter and we were welcomed every where and felt very much at home. Yes there are stairs but wow the views are so worth it. The property is very tropical with fountains, hand carved furniture and local art work everywhere. The location of this hotel is perfect for a walk into town. We never felt rushed at the restaurant and again the view spectacular. Our family enjoyed the pool and the slide and it was very clean, as is the entire hotel. You won't regret choosing Aura del Mar for your stay in Zihau. Enjoy.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view of the bay
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank torrencetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

we stayed here just last week and were very impressed with this hotel. Yes we did have 112 steps from the beach to our room but we knew that going in. Our room was just as we thought it was going to be and even passed our expectations. The only drawback would be that our neighbors next door could look into our balcony. And when they smoked out side it would come over to us.
The staff are great and so friendly and the food was excellent. I would highly recommend this to you and your family. I even went down their water slide...

Room Tip: I would pick a room just up from pool or close to pool if you have problem with stairs.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We love this place. When you come to the entrance you may think oh,oh. Then you walk into the lobby and see the most beautiful view. The hotel is intimate and personal. Carlos will help you with tours, recommendations car rentals. The rooms are large, clean and all have a great ocean view. It's walking distance to tons of restaurants and stores. The beach great and pool fantastic. A very child friendly place also.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claudia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zihuatanejo hotels
0.3 mi away
La Casa Que Canta
La Casa Que Canta
#2 of 77 in Zihuatanejo
553 reviews
0.4 mi away
Embarc Zihuatanejo
Embarc Zihuatanejo
#11 of 77 in Zihuatanejo
520 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Irma
Hotel Irma
#12 of 77 in Zihuatanejo
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
0.1 mi away
Villas Miramar
Villas Miramar
#37 of 77 in Zihuatanejo
91 reviews
3.0 mi away
Las Brisas Ixtapa
Las Brisas Ixtapa
#7 of 22 in Ixtapa
2,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aura del Mar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aura del Mar Hotel

Address: Eva Samano de Lopez Mateos s/n | Playa La Madera, Zihuatanejo, Mexico (Formerly Brisas del Mar Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#1 Spa Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#2 Family Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#6 Romantic Hotel in Zihuatanejo
Price Range: £72 - £281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aura del Mar Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aura del Mar is a boutique-hotel in a Mexican fishing village, known for its hospitality and privacy. It's the perfect choice to get to know Zihuatanejo, relax and enjoy the sea. We offer a privileged location at the seashore in La Madera beach. Walking distance to downtown Zihua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Aura del Mar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brisas Del Mar Zihuatanejo
Hotel Brisas Del Mar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing