We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”
Review of Aura del Mar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aura del Mar Hotel
Ranked #2 of 77 Hotels in Zihuatanejo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I just returned home after having my wedding at the beautiful Aura Del Mar! My wedding was everything I have ever dreamed about and more. It was absolutely perfect! The hotel is so beautiful and the staff so nice and helpful. Janet is the wedding coordinator for the hotel. I really cannot say enough positive things about her. She took the ideas I emailed her and turned them into the most beautiful wedding I have ever seen. Janet even drove me around to appointments with vendors and walked me through every detail. Thank you Janet!! I will definitely be returning to the Aura Del Mar!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Xtina_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (549)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 549 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014

We've been to Zihua 7-8x since 2005 & always stay at Aura del Mar (formerly Hotel Brisas del Mar). We even got married there. The location, views, rooms, friendly staff & simple tranquility is hard to beat! We absolutely love it & while I'm happy more people are appreciating the area & hotel, do want it to stay a secret.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jennraegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Stayed 2 nights in a junior suite with jacuzzi. At check in we were given cold face cloths and bottled water. Had room 6 - it was clean and provided a great view of the pool and beach from the deck. Lots of traditional Mexican charm both in the room and throughout the hotel - friendly and helpful staff. The Bistro restaraunt was ideal for lunch but dinner was over priced and the food was just OK. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would return.

Room Tip: Room 6 has a great beach and ocean view from the deck however the water pressure in the shower is vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank larry-mo-curly-jo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

And, I cannot figure out why it took us eight years to return! This hotel is built into the side of a hill. The only potential disadvantage of the place is that you have to climb many stairs to get from the beach level, where the restaurant is, to the street, where the front desk is. It's good exercise!

The comfortable rooms open to great views of the bay. Most rooms have balconies where you can sit and watch the sunset or just relax. The pool is good and the beach has comfortable lounge chairs.

It's a delightful ten minute walk to the heart of town.

The staff is responsive and helpful.

Room Tip: I think that all the rooms have a view of the gorgeous bay, but you may want to confirm that when yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We had a wonderful time. It is a unique neighborhood, with restaurants within walking distance. The staff was super helpful. We witnessed an older couple, and the husband had lost a crown on a molar.On a Saturday.
The staff not only helped to locate a dentist, but walked the couple to the office, and helped interpret. That is above and beyond service! Beautiful little beach, with a walk to the central town area! It is perfect for a quiet, relaxing break.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank grade2rocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

This hotel has the perfect location, right on a gentle beach in a safe neighborhood with restaurants just two blocks away. The beach has a buoy for swimmers to swim out to, and there is a pool two levels up with an excellent water slide. Near the pool are hammocks with a view.
Our room was clean and spacious with a hot tub on the balcony. Mexican crafts are displayed throughout the hotel; even the door to our room was elaborately carved and our bathroom was decorated with painted Mexican tiles. Bottled water was free and the wi-fi worked perfectly throughout the hotel. The beds were hard, but the couches were soft and long enough for someone to sleep on.
Everything was within walking distance. We walked along the canal and to the end of the Malecon to the pier where ferries take swimmers to the beautiful Las Gatas beach across the bay. On another day, we walked to the downtown market and around the central district where we found many restaurants, bakeries, ATMs, pharmacies, and shops for shoes, clothes, and hats.

Room Tip: Choose a lower-level room to be closer to the beach, restaurant, and pool. Choose a higher-level ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WorldTraveler9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

My wife and I stayed at Aura Del Mar on the advice of our friend and it is a great hotel.

Staff:
The staff were very pleasant and helpful.
We arrived early before our room was ready so the staff offered to watch our luggage while we checked out the town.

Room:
We booked the Jacuzzi suite with a view of the ocean and a hot tub on the patio.
The patio is large with loungers and a great view of the ocean and the hotel pool.
We had a large king-size bed which was very comfortable.

Location:
What is a real selling point is the location of this hotel. It close to the ocean, VERY inexpensive restaurants, and shopping. We just had to walk down to the beach and take the walkway to all of the shops and restaurants with beach views.

I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Jacuzzi Suites are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rueben_Smooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zihuatanejo hotels
0.3 mi away
La Casa Que Canta
La Casa Que Canta
#1 of 77 in Zihuatanejo
557 reviews
0.4 mi away
Embarc Zihuatanejo
Embarc Zihuatanejo
#10 of 77 in Zihuatanejo
522 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Irma
Hotel Irma
#13 of 77 in Zihuatanejo
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villas Miramar
Villas Miramar
#39 of 77 in Zihuatanejo
91 reviews
5.7 mi away
Capella Ixtapa
Capella Ixtapa
#6 of 22 in Ixtapa
669 reviews
3.0 mi away
Las Brisas Ixtapa
Las Brisas Ixtapa
#7 of 22 in Ixtapa
2,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aura del Mar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aura del Mar Hotel

Address: Eva Samano de Lopez Mateos s/n | Playa La Madera, Zihuatanejo, Mexico (Formerly Brisas del Mar Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#2 Spa Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#2 Family Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#6 Romantic Hotel in Zihuatanejo
Price Range: £71 - £278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aura del Mar Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aura del Mar is a boutique-hotel in a Mexican fishing village, known for its hospitality and privacy. It's the perfect choice to get to know Zihuatanejo, relax and enjoy the sea. We offer a privileged location at the seashore in La Madera beach. Walking distance to downtown Zihua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aura del Mar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brisas Del Mar Zihuatanejo
Hotel Brisas Del Mar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing