We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A picture is worth a thousand words.”
Review of Bungalows Sotelo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bungalows Sotelo
Reviewed 25 January 2011

This is a picture of one of the public areas of the hotel.It is the eyesore of the entire area and emblematic of the entire enterprise.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Clujo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tizoc David V, Owner at Bungalows Sotelo, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Sorry for the problems. have a nice day

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (17)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 17 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2010

We spent 10 days at Bungalows Sotelo in Feb 2010. For $160/night we expect much more, especially after having seen what's available for what price in the neighboring accomodations.

The positives first:
Sotelo is located directly on Madera Beach and the view from the terraces is spectacular. But that's about it. Our biggest gripes are:

a) the uncaring attitude and elusiveness of the host and
b) the low quality of everything in the appartment

When we arrived we got the keys and were left to ourselves. Nobody gave us a tour or showed us how to work the appliances in the appartment, for example the ancient air condition. The reception often wasn't occupied so complaints had to be done via phone or note.

Here are some of the major issues we encountered during our stay:
-aircondition didn't work the first night (not pleasant with nights in the 80's and two little kids). When the aircon finally worked it did at around 85 decibel so we couldn't hear if one of our kids awoke in the other room. On day 8 the aircon condensation started to seep in through the wall and created a pond beside my bed.
-one of the bedroom fans didn't work either
-no toilet paper for the first two days
-several outlets didn't work (no working outlet in one bedroom)
-no key for the safe, got the key on day 8 after several requests
-fridge dripping
-no lounge chairs or chairs on the terasse for the first few days
-spartan kitchen equipment (just one pot and one bowl, no cloths until day 5, no corkscrew etc.)
-microwave broke after 5 days, was replaced on day 8
-10" chunk of wall fell off when opening bedroom door
-no mosquito screens on windows
-one terasse door couldn't be locked, i.e. the appartment was open all the time
-were told on second last day that we can only pay in cash, no credit card (had to make 4 trips to the ATM)

In short: Sotelo needs a major rennovation but more than anything an owner who actually cares.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ThomaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tizoc David V, Owner at Bungalows Sotelo, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Sorry for all the problems you have in your vacations. we are a new owners and we are working hard to give the best. so sorry and have a nice day

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2010

We love this place, set against a hillside above a small quiet beach with 3 restaurants, one superb and one casual and fun. Our room, simple but roomy and comfortable, was cleaned daily. Our terrace overlooked the beach and bay. Problems were minimal. Yes, the hot water didn't always work well, there was rust on some pipes, the A/C was cranky. But this is a little spot, and decades old, not a 4-star resort, and you have to expect these things in Mexico. People who want an upscale place should try Playa la Ropa or Ixtapa.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seniorhiker23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2010

My family and I spent December 26, 2009 - January 1, 2010 in Zihuatanejo, Mexico. We stayed at Bungalows Sotelo. We were well pleased with the place. Plenty of room. Right on the beach. Short walk to the market and places to eat. The staff of Sotelo helped us with anything we wanted to do. We went snorkeling, para-sailing, deep sea fishing, boat and kayak riding. We walked to the market everyday to shop and eat. Plenty of fresh fruit. There is bottled water in the bungalows. The people are very friendly. We felt safe. It was not crowded. My flight was bumped from Friday to Sunday and Ms. Sotelo was able to get me back on my flight after about a half hour on the phone. We are planing our next trip to Bungalows Sotelo, Zihuatanejo, Mexico. It was Great.

1  Thank CarlaSchmidt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2010

We stayed in #10 Bungalow Sotelo for 10 days in January 2010. Our unit was right on the beach and we really enjoyed sitting out on our patio surrounded by happy Mexican families, spending a day at the beach. We swam right out front at Playa la Maderna and often walked to Playa la Ropa, the next beach over (more resorty and probably more expensive). Our studio unit was quite spacious with comfortable king and double beds. The kitchen set-up was pretty basic but adequate for preparing simple breakfasts and lunches. We asked for a coffee maker when we arrived and one was quickly provided.There are lots of good restaurants close by on the street behind. Downtown is only about a 10 minute walk away, either along the shore or on the back streets. The bathroom was large, hot water wasn't plentiful but with the warm climate it really wasn't a problem. The maids cleaned each day and things were spotless. We had one small incident when a pair of shoes disappeared off the balcony, our hostess caught the thief and returned them to us. My friend and I enjoyed a quiet, relaxing stay and we would certainly return to Bungalow Sotelo.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VancouverPainter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2009

They advertised air conditioning, microwave, TV, etc. The room had it all, but nothing worked! Everything was so dirty we had to cover the furniture with sheets. Water from the deck above came directly into the kitchen. The shower didn't have hot water and turned the bathroom into a swamp. It is the worst place we ever stayed.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SandMCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2009

My boyfriend and I were booked for 7 nites at these bungalows, my 3rd trip to Zihua. We ran into problems as soon as we arrived. The desk clerk couldn't find our room key -- the room was found unlocked anyway. The room was unacceptable so we asked to see another. We were offered another which seemed perfect, large w/a huge private balcony and a nice partial view of Madera beach, a mini-fridge, and kitchen sink. The locks on the sliding glass doors leading to the balcony were flimsy and seemed loose and poorly attached and the only closet was located in the bathroom. We took this 2nd-story room anyway as it seemed very private and had the basic amenties we needed.

Our room was burglarized on our 2nd nite there while we were out having dinner! Valuables were stolen: a new Blackberry, digital camera, shoes, 2 purses (one containing my badge and work credentials), prescription glasses, and more. We immediately reported the theft to the (same) desk clerk, who seemed inconvenienced and didn't want to contact the owner 'til the next morning. Police patrolling the beach were called and perused the room and balcony, saying little to us. The desk clerk said he'd inform the owner in the morning and he suggested that the burglars entered via the balcony.

The next morning Mrs. Sotelo, who never apologized or seem concerned about the incident, assured us this never happens at her establishment, but she did take us to the tourist police office. She said the desk clerk told her we left the balcony doors open and/or unlocked and, thus, the burglary. We checked out of the bungalow immediately after filing the police report and never heard another word from Mrs. Sotelo or the police.

It's noted that there's little lighting around the perimeter of the bungalows and they provide no security whatsoever, athough a public access/walkway to the beach runs alongside the property.

Stayed: December 2008
Thank mdcour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zihuatanejo hotels
4.1 mi away
Bungalows Arena Dorada
Bungalows Arena Dorada
#60 of 77 in Zihuatanejo
9 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Las Salinas
Hotel Las Salinas
#38 of 77 in Zihuatanejo
54 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villas Paraiso
Hotel Villas Paraiso
#20 of 22 in Ixtapa
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Casa Kau-Kan
Casa Kau-Kan
#52 of 77 in Zihuatanejo
43 reviews
3.2 mi away
Villas Miramar
Villas Miramar
#39 of 77 in Zihuatanejo
91 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gamma de Fiesta Inn Plaza Ixtapa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bungalows Sotelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bungalows Sotelo

Address: Playa La Madera, Zihuatanejo, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 63 Speciality Lodging in Zihuatanejo
Hotel Class:4 star — Bungalows Sotelo 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Bungalows Sotelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing