We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location / Great Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Quinta de Don Andres
Ranked #40 of 80 Hotels in Zihuatanejo
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Location / Great Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Although the rooms are small and the pool is usually 80 degrees- we totally enjoyed the
great location and friendly staff of La Quinta. We stayed in Room #9 and enjoyed an unusually large balcony with a great view of the bay. The cooking school restaurant " El Patio" was only 2
blocks away and has a wonderful breakfast for less than 100 pesos.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    15
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
20
19
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

We enjoyed our stay here. We have been to Zihua several times and like staying in the Madera neighborhood because it is a pleasant walk to centro.

Making reservations was very easy. When we arrived we were warmly greeted and all of the staff was very helpful and friendly. We were two couples in separate rooms and fixed our breakfasts in, and were able to use the outside tables for eating together each morning. The tiny kitchen area was not large enough to easily prepare dinners.

Our small patio had a nice view of the beach. The bedroom was in the back with one small window with no cross ventilation so we had to sleep with the air conditioner on at night. I would have liked more nightime fresh air, but that was not to be. The grounds are spotless and staff is cleaning up frequently.

Only one negative about the stay. One of the guests was a cigar smoker and was not courteous with his habit. He plunked down on the lounger near the rooms and smoked most of the time. Even outside the smoke was hard to deal with. We found ourselves trying to find other spots to relax. Our friends who stayed on the pool level had smoke going into their room and often could not sit on their patio. On one of the last days we did make mention of it to the staff. We hope they find a solution to smoking in the common area.

We did eat at the restaurant and loved it. It hard to find a better sunset view.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Btrtrvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Pluses: Great location. Great view, even from the pool. Walking distance to downtown. Right on the beach. Lovely to look at, the hotel that is. Nice pool.

Cons: The smallest "suites" (villas they optimistically call them) can be claustrophobic in the bedroom. With a king bed, you can scarcely squeeze around the space. The living room is separate, and that's where the TV is. However, the AC is only in the bedroom. There are ceiling fans, however, and maybe AC would extend to the living room. I preferred to keep the bedroom cool for sleeping, so the door was kept closed.

So, that meant some sweaty TV-watching.

There is a balcony with a small table and two chairs. Yet again, claustrophobic. The balcony is teeny-tiny. It's not that comfortable to sit out there, especially if you are tall, which I am.

When we checked in (April 2014), we noticed rather quickly that the AC was blowing tepid air, so we mentioned it at the desk. A maid went to the room and agreed that it was not working. A technician was called from off the hotel grounds. My wife and I were in the pool during the AC check. As he and the acting manager walked by later, I asked about the AC status. There had been nothing wrong with it, the manager told me. However, when we returned to the room, it was working fine. So obviously something had been done. He had fibbed.

We had planned on staying three nights. However, in the middle of the second night, the AC went out completely, and this was in the hottest season of the year. We had paid for two nights, and since we had not paid for the third night, we departed the next morning.

I won't condemn an otherwise good hotel for an AC problem, which could happen anywhere, but I will list this place as a mixed bag.

One more thing. I had made the reservation by email with the same acting manager who was manning the desk when we arrived. We had agreed on 1,000 pesos per night. However, when we checked in, he said it was 1,100 pesos per night. I said nothing and paid it because it is not a big difference. However, it leaves a bad taste in the mouth.

But it's a pretty place, good location, never tried the restaurant so can't speak to that, great view. And other rooms, er, villas, are larger, and I imagine the claustrophobic element would not be present. There is a penthouse on the roof, which is spectacular. We walked up for a peek.

Rent that.

Room Tip: The smallest suites are claustrophobic. Pay more and get a larger one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LegalMexican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Located on the Playa Madera you can walk to the store or along the shore to the city centre. The beach has sections of nice sand so you can always find a spot to play in the waves. You can walk the road to Playa Ropa but catching the bus for 7 pesos is easier. Playa Ropa is a lovely long white sand beach.
The building, grounds and rooms are well cared for and the view is great! Families and young lovers alike were seen enjoying the pool and courtyard.
We really wanted a kitchen, patio and 2 bedrooms and our choice was perfect. You'll need to buy all kitchen supplies including matches, coffee filters, spices, dish soap etc but the affordable prices make it easy.
The price comparison to Ixtapa hotels cinched the deal and we were thrilled, both on arrival and throughout our stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaTac, Washington
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

Pros: I love this hotel because of the view and the location. It is on Madeira Beach, which is very nice for swimming, and it is within walking distance of downtown Zihuat and the fish market. It's also within walking distance of some wonderful little restaurants that serve the best grilled fish ever tasted. Their little pool is very lovely for a swim in the evening. The view from the premises is absolutely outstanding.

Cons: Be aware of the lack of privacy from some of the first level rooms, especially room #1. People can look directly in to your bed and bath area, and when you close your drapes to gain privacy, it shuts out your light and fresh air.

Also, even though the basics were accomplished in making the room tidy and clean, I was suspect of how deep the cleaning really was. I may be off base here, but I wondered about how often the floor and shower areas were disinfected and deep cleaned.
Perhaps Quinta de Don Andres could reassure us on this web site that rooms are regularly and thoroughly disinfected - especially shower and hardware in the bathroom area.

In spite of my criticism above, overall, my experience was positive and I would return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the second or third floor in order to assure privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

La Quinta de Don Andres is such a delightful place to stay - our favorite in Zihua! We have been there with friends, children, and grandchildren several times but hadn't been back since the remodel in 2010. We enjoyed it before - we absolutely love it now. Our impressions after staying there in early/mid April of 2013 are as follows:
FACILITIES: The rooms, grounds, swimming pool area, and restaurant are spotlessly clean and well maintained. The owner, Perla Gomez, appeared to me to personally inspect on a daily basis the placement of chaise lounges, pool cleanliness, condition of landscaping plants, and all the details that go into having a first-rate boutique hotel. Our two-bedroom suite was well equipped, with everything that we needed in the kitchen for fixing light breakfasts, fruit plates, guacamole and chips, etc. We could have cooked more, but with so many good restaurants nearby - and when on vacation???
RESTAURANT: Speaking of places to eat, the in-house restaurant was a delightful surprise, and we ended up having a number of dinners there. Managed by Perla's daughter, Alex Ornelas, the restaurant has a mediterranean-influenced menu with some sinfully delicious dishes and appetizers. Alex has a Bachelor's Degree in Culinary Arts from the University of Toronto and pays the same attention to detail with her restaurant as her mother does with the hotel. Prices are moderate and, considering the quality of the cuisine, may be the best dining value in Zihua.
STAFF: The personnel that work at this hotel are one of the bonuses of staying there. Gustavo Alvarez (reservations), Perla and Alex, Sergio (waiter), Luis (chef), housekeeping, etc. were uniformly friendly and helpful with any advice and questions that we had, and they made us feel so welcome.
We have traveled to a number of places in Mexico, and at this time La Quinta de Don Andres and Zihuatanejo are at the top of our list of vacation destinations - we WILL be back!
Larry and Sheila - Gig Harbor, WA

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lawrence N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

This property has a great view of the Bay and village of Zihuat. Their restaurant has some imaginative choices as well. My veal pasta with lobster sauce was first rate and delicious but they have a long way to go if they want to have a first rate restaurant. A restaurant with these prices should not use the small "cocktail napkin" size. The salt shaker should actually have salt in it. The pepper grinder should not have the screw on the top missing. A wine list with choices up to $90.00 should tell you what vintage and brand of wine. I ordered a salad with shrimp, waited until my wife had finished hers before getting a waitperson to come to the table so that I could tell them that there was no shrimp. She looked at the salad a bit and then said that the kitchen had put octopus in the salad instead.

We've eaten breakfast at this restaurant several times and while the food is good, they just don't have what it takes. Coffee was not just cool but cold. The same salt shaker was still being used and they fnally brought a small amount on a plate. The waiter brought the coffee but failed to check to see if there was sugar on the table.

Add up all the small negatives and what do you get. I think I've given them a fair chance. I'll go somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CorneliusII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zihuatanejo hotels
0.2 mi away
Arena Suites
Arena Suites
#41 of 80 in Zihuatanejo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Adriana
Casa Adriana
#38 of 80 in Zihuatanejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aura del Mar Hotel
Aura del Mar Hotel
#1 of 80 in Zihuatanejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villas Las Azucenas
Hotel Villas Las Azucenas
#35 of 80 in Zihuatanejo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villas Miramar
Villas Miramar
#43 of 80 in Zihuatanejo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Irma
Hotel Irma
#9 of 80 in Zihuatanejo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta de Don Andres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta de Don Andres

Property: La Quinta de Don Andres
Address: Calle Adelita # 11, Zihuatanejo, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#24 Romantic Hotel in Zihuatanejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — La Quinta de Don Andres 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Quinta de don Andrés is more than just an accommodation, it is undoubtedly the perfect atmosphere where you can enjoy unforgettable moments, tranquility, and above all, the friendly service of your friends from La Quinta, who wait for you with open arms and wish you a pleasant stay.In this paradise you can find wonderful seaview villas located at “Playa la Madera” in Zihuatanejo, Gro. Mexico ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Booking.com so you can book your La Quinta de Don Andres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta De Don Andres Hotel Zihuatanejo
La Quinta Zihuatanejo
Zihuatanejo La Quinta
La Quinta Hotel Zihuatanejo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing