We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the secret of the Red Snapper RUB”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Rossy

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Zihuatanejo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Rossy
Ranked #61 of 80 Hotels in Zihuatanejo
Menlo Park
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“the secret of the Red Snapper RUB”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

just got back to our wonderful casa LA VILLA up on the hilltop looking down on La Ropa beach, after walking south along the surf on a cool evening, with just a light breeze blowing and enjoying yet another spectacular sunset over the Pacific.

But here's the real story about Rossy's spectacular Huachinago (one fish easily feeds TWO) .... it is rubbed with ADOBO, we checked the kitchen ... my wife's a gourmet cook. Adobo is made up of various ground chiles ...... the flavors will explode in your mouth (not spicy hot)

It is one restaurant NOT TO BE MISSED when visiting Zihuatanejo's La Ropa beach.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank EuroCaliGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    7
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
7
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

We didn't stay here but we had dinner at their restaurant. They have a red snapper on their menu that is the best I ever eat! Although there are several variations I remember I took the first version that was offered. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ajaxone421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornucopia, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2013

we just got back from our trip to Ziuatanejo - we spent 4 nights at rossys - it is a very cute place and we where the only ones there for most of the time it is only a block off La Ropa. it is not 5 star but it is very clean and comfortable and the staff was very sweet. We loved the resturant and enjoyed the wait staff very much it was a great value.

Room Tip: if it is availble ask to be on the top floor, the veiw was amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cheryl o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2013

Rossy's hotel is not 5 star. However, it is clean, close to Playa la Ropa, and has accommodating staff. Better than the hotel is their restaurant on the beach: breakfast, lunch, dinner. You will not find a better value on Playa la Ropa. The "meseros/waiters" are fabulous. Food is a good value. Our favorites are "huachinango/red snapper," their "ceviche" and tortilla soup. You can eat all day on the beach, and by night at sunset, go upstairs for a view of a lifetime. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Rossy's Hotel and Restaurant on Playa la Ropa is a true bargain. Not the Hilton, but close to i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

My husband and I were staying at a local hotel and heard the view from Rossy's was spectcular. Yes, the views were amazing. We were able to dip our toes in the water and then enjoy our drinks on the patio however we were charged a lot for towels. Our four delicious drinks cost 200 pesos and the two towels cost 150 pesos. Just a tip for fellow beach lovers... bring your own towel. :)

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Misty E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vashon, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2011

Zihua was our last stop on a 6-week trip, so we'd seen a lot of Mexico. This town is more fun, but also more expensive than anywhere else we'd been, so we were thrilled to find Hotel Rossy, just one block from gorgeous Playa la Ropa. We paid $60/night for 5 nights (we bargained a little--always bargain for hotels in Mexico, especially if you're staying more than a couple of nights). We got a great corner room with a terrace to ourselves on the top floor. (The stairs were definitely worth it). The view of the beach and bay was better than what many people paying over $200/night at the beachfront hotels had. We had a comfy hammock and chairs and table on the terrace that we spent a lot of time in.

I'm a little stunned by the review of this hotel from the folks who wrote "Oh what a letdown." Clearly, they should have gone to Ixtapa. We felt completely safe walking the one block to the beach and it was perfectly clean. There are some great little restaurants around (breakfast at Hotel Suiza is not to be missed and Restaurant Rossy has good soup, seafood and an amazing sunset view). The hotel staff was helpful and some speak good English. The reality is, Zihua is not cheap no matter what the season. Hotel Rossy is a bright and charming hotel that offers a great view with friendly staff at a very good price.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank reedwrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2009

Hotel Rossy - I don't even know where to start. To begin with, the reason I booked this hotel was by the time I got around to making reservations, everything else within my price range (100-150 USD) was booked. So I called Rossy and spoke with a lady called Cecilia who speaks fluent english and asked her if Rossy is on the beach, she told me "yes, we're right there and we have a restaurant on the beach". So I ended up paying $110 USD for a room on the 3rd floor (4th level in the US) with a balcony and ocean view.

When we got there, the first impression was that the hotel was charming and colorful and bright. But we spend 5 nights at Rossy and very soon we realized what a disappointment this place was. Yes, they are colorful and clean, but the location is terrible!!!! They are located on the road which is the public access to the beach, there are dodgy little bars and shops that line that street, the bars are popular with the cabbies who come to hang out there after they are done for the day, which means that its never quite. Even though you are "right there" next to the beach the main sound you hear all the time is loud music and people talking and dogs barking. It doesn't feel safe walking past those shops at night. All the balcony face each other, so even when you are on your balcony there is no privacy!! Plus, the hotel has nothing except for the rooms, there is no refridgerator or ice, the TV and A/C were unhooked. There is not a single piece of real furniture in the room, no closets of beds, everything is made of concrete (see the photos). The bed is concrete and the closets are built into the wall with not doors so are the mirrors, dresser and night stand!!! It totally weird!!

Zihua was the last leg of our Mexican holiday and after the wonderful stay we had elsewhere, Hotel Rossy made made us feel like we had moved to poor neighborhood, which for the price we paid for the room was totally inappropriate.

The access to beach is filthy, there is a large over-flowing open garbage near the entrance and there are stinky ceviche stalls that smell so vile that we had to hold our nose whenever we walked past them.

We ate at restaurant rossy the first day and never again because we got upset stomachs from the food.

most days we walked to the other end of the beach and ate at Villa Mexicana (which is great!!!) and the food there is awesome. we even went there for the New Year Eve celebrations.

Overall, for the amount we paid for this hotel, it was a total let down. May be if I'd paid 60-70 USD, this place would be okay but it just wasn't worth the price. There are many other nicer options in Zihua and if you book in advance there is no reason to settle for a place like Rossy.

  • Liked — Good maid so the rooms are very clean
  • Disliked — Location is horrible!!
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank travelomnewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Zihuatanejo hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zihuatanejo hotels
0.1 mi away
Villa Luz
Villa Luz
#36 of 80 in Zihuatanejo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel J.B.
Hotel J.B.
#60 of 80 in Zihuatanejo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villas San Sebastian
Villas San Sebastian
#30 of 80 in Zihuatanejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Irma
Hotel Irma
#9 of 80 in Zihuatanejo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villas Las Azucenas
Hotel Villas Las Azucenas
#35 of 80 in Zihuatanejo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Casa de la Palma
Hotel Casa de la Palma
#27 of 80 in Zihuatanejo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rossy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rossy

Property: Hotel Rossy
Address: Playa La Ropa s/n, Zihuatanejo, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Zihuatanejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Rossy Hotel Zihuatanejo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing