We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This small restaurant has fantastic food and wonderfully friendly service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gourmet Oly

Gourmet Oly
Ranked #237 of 317 Restaurants in Zihuatanejo
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood
Restaurant details
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“This small restaurant has fantastic food and wonderfully friendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

I stumbled upon this restaurant while walking through town. It is relatively new and so I thought I'd give it a try. Wow! From the fantastic service to the delicious food this is a great place!
I've had all three meals and have loved them. Lobster for $150 !!! ($13 us). THe mocajete mixta is delicious and has almost no fat which is a real treat when you are down here for some time.
The food is beautifully served and always with a smile. The mesaros are so fantastic that I would come back even if the food was bad!!
I go as often as I can.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank buza831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    3
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Zihuatanejo, Guerrero, Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Gourmet Oly's”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

Very family friendly, great presentation and really good food for not a lot of money. Cheap margaritas too.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CarolRomain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Authentic Mexican food at popular prices”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

If you're looking for authentic Mexican, take a short ride to Gourmet Oly located near the Playa Principal downtown Zihuatanejo. A small, family owned and operated restaurant/bar, you'll enjoy the friendly atmosphere created by mom and her two sons. While not "gourmet" by any means, the food is definitely authentic and carefully and skillfully prepared and presented to you outside at one of the eight tables of your choosing on the patio. Drinks are a variety of beers and liquors, also at reasonable prices.The restaurant is located on the secluded side street of Agustin Ramirez, just around the corner from a host of other fine eating establishments and shops. After your meal, you'll enjoy walking the streets of Zihuatanejo, visiting the pier and all the fine stores available.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank amagnuson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“AMMAAAZZINNNGGGG”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

WOW! If you like fish, you can ask for and get daily catch, cooked to Perfection!! We got red snapper and a white fish, which were both grilled, and the red snapper was crunchy on the outside and soft on the inside, with an amazing chili sauce baked into it, which wasn't too spicy, just perfect. We were very, very impressed, and the price was really good!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MlleBL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice small family restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2012

We found this restaurant to be very good value - the breakfasts were excellent and the menu was very varied and all the food was excellently cooked by Olivia who would always endeavour to cook for you any dishes which are not on the menu. She is very bright and bubbly and friendly to everyone. Everyone is made very welcome when they arrive and always leave happy. The Restaurant is situated on Calle Pedro Ascencio.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brihad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gourmet Oly also viewed

 
Playa Blanca, Zihuatanejo
 
Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
 

Been to Gourmet Oly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing