We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel Casa Don Has New Surprises!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Casa Don Francisco
Ranked #38 of 80 Hotels in Zihuatanejo
Royal Oak, Michigan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Hotel Casa Don Has New Surprises!”
Reviewed 10 March 2009

When I thought it couldn't possible get any better, Erica and her sister, Edid, surprise me with something new. This was my fifth year spending the month of February. As always, the gardens were beautiful, the infinity pool refreshing after a hard day at the beach and their restaurant La Perla. This year Edid showed off her cooking talents with some delicious food at breakfast. This was over and above the eggs any style, frijoles, fresh fruits, fresh squeezed orange juice, toasted bolillos, freshly made tortillas, cereal and yogurt. Her special dishes included: nopales( sauteed cactus), chilaquilles (yum), carne de puerco en salsa, and home made tamales, double yum. My mouth is still watering! Erica is meticulous about cleanliness and maintenance. The wooden support beams were all being oiled and the ceiling fans removed, cleaned and repainted. Edid's kitchen is the cleanest I've ever been in and I observed her (during our little cooking lesson) wash, rinse and drain the peruano beans at least five times before putting them in the pot to boil. Erica is very helpful in setting up other adventures. This year Frederique took us on his panga to Manzanillo Bay snorkeling. Experienced in Scuba, and concerned for the sea life and coral, Frederique made this more than just your average snorkeling trip. His information was interesting and he pointed out other things that would have gone unnoticed. What makes Erica's hotel sucessful with guests returning year after year is her commitment to excellent service. The rest of her staff work very hard to make this the perfect place to stay. Erica invariably asks me what she can do to make my stay nicer. She accepts all suggestion and welcomes feedback. The only drawback was that I left feeling I hadn't stayed long enough. I also left with a torta in my purse. Erica made me a ham and panella cheese sandwhich for the long flight home. Yum!! Thanks, Erica and Edid and the rest of the Casa Don staff! I love you all! Next year, seis semanas!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SenoritaClaudia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    9
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
53
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2009

We just returned from our daughter's wedding in Zihuatanejo. We stayed at Casa Don Francisco. The staff was wonderful. They cooked us breakfast to order, greeted us with cold drinks, arranged taxis, and just made us feel incredibly welcome. Our room had a private infinity pool and beautiful view, so even at night we could enjoy cooling off under the stars. The beach is a very short walk away, and they reserved beach chairs and umbrellas down the beach in front of their restaurant. It is a beautiful place to relax at very affordable prices.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MFSSantaBarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanside, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2009

The ambiance, rooms and tropical gardens were gorgeous. Erica and her staff made us feel like family visiting from out of town. With only 8 rooms available on site, they were able to provide a personal touch that one would not get at the bigger resorts. The price includes a full service custom breakfast on a common terrace with the other guests overlooking the ocean.

The sounds of the ocean were relaxing and in the mornings we were greeted by pleasant bird chirpings.

Located on a hill overlooking the ocean and seconds to the beach.

I would definitely return to this quaint and special hotel.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank surfermom08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madcity
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2009

Although the property is unique, they certainly can not control their "neighbors". Unfortunately, this made our stay a challenge. A loud barking dog 3 nights in a row that everyone in all 8 rooms were up. Finally, a dog catcher was called and it was muzzled and removed. Then, of course, never travel during Holy Week. The guy next door rents out his bathrooms for a buck....long lines....and then he made a fire pit burning trees, stumps, etc and the lovely pool area was filled with noxious smoke, you had to either lock yourself in your room or leave the property. Although the place is adorable, the surrounding area is NOT!

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wine&*vines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay St. Louis, MS
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2009

Hotel Casa Don Francisco exceeded our expectations for a romantic belated honeymoon. The boutique style hotel was an absolute piece of paradise. The rustic architect featuring stucco, ornate tile work, thatched and tiled roofs, beautiful pools, indian relics and awesome wood craftsmanship added to the great views offered by this lush tropical escape. The room, El Ostion, was just awesome, views to die for, a truly romantic experience. The staff was extremely professional and accomodating; they truly took pride in their work and all of them had endless smiles that greated you every leg of the stay. My wife and I are counting the days until we can go back.

  • Liked — Views, Accomadations, Staff, Architecture
  • Disliked — stairs, need to be able to handle a little walking!!!
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank BayKingfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2008

OK...stop your search. You've found it. This is the place you have been looking for. I spent a day looking at many different hotels in Ixtapa and ZIhuatanejo and nothing can compare to the quality and care of Don Francisco.

The views? Unbelievable.

The staff? Professional and accomodating.

The grounds? Immaculately landscaped and well maintained.

Do yourself a favor, don't look any further. There is no need. You have found what you are looking for...and you'll love it.

I can't wait to go back....

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank worley333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2008

Hotel Casa Don Francisco is perfect in every way! The hotel itself is like a gorgeous treehouse. The views from every room are amazing... it sits on the side of a hill and is surrounded by the most gorgeous trees and landscaping. Everything is extremely well maintained. The rooms are spacious, comfortable, and equipped with a mini-fridge, stereo, hair dryer, beach towels, and anything else you request. It is basically right on the beach... EXTREMELY easy to get there, but more difficult on the way back (up a hill and up several stairs)... but it is worth every single step.

What made CDF unbeatable was the staff... Erica, Lorena, Edith, Juan, and Uribe were helpful and accommodating... made us feel safe and secure... got us anything we needed... cooked us a delicious breakfast every morning. They totally exceeded our expections at every turn. You cannot get service like this at any resort in town.

We got married at La Perla and had our wedding party stay at CDF with us. None of us wanted to leave! We stayed at Casa Kau-Kan for our honeymoon, and it was gorgeous, but it did not compare to our experience at Casa Don. You will not be disappointed!

We will definitely be back!!!!

  • Liked — the staff!!!
  • Disliked — the stairs
  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank geordang1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zihuatanejo hotels
0.0 mi away
Villa Luz
Villa Luz
#30 of 80 in Zihuatanejo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
4.0 mi away
Villas San Sebastian
Villas San Sebastian
#31 of 80 in Zihuatanejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
6.4 mi away
Puerta Paraiso Hotel Boutique
Puerta Paraiso Hotel Boutique
#28 of 80 in Zihuatanejo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Villa Guadalupe Hotel
Villa Guadalupe Hotel
#47 of 80 in Zihuatanejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
3.4 mi away
Tentaciones Hotel
Tentaciones Hotel
#17 of 80 in Zihuatanejo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Villas Las Azucenas
Hotel Villas Las Azucenas
#36 of 80 in Zihuatanejo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Don Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Don Francisco

Property: Hotel Casa Don Francisco
Address: Calle Playa La Ropa s/n | Ixtapa-Zihuatanejo, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Zihuatanejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL CASA DON FRANCISCO,the one of the most exclusive small hotels on La Ropa Beach, Zihuatanejo, Mexico. With only eight rooms you can be sure we will give you our undivided attention. The hotel is surrounded by lush tropical exotic gardens. Relax with the sound of the ocean and birds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Casa Don Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Don Francisco Hotel
Casa Don Francisco Zihuatanejo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing