We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chillaxing in Zihuataenjo”
Review of Embarc Zihuatanejo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Embarc Zihuatanejo
Ranked #11 of 79 Hotels in Zihuatanejo
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Chillaxing in Zihuataenjo”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

The location of the resort is on a steep side of a hill, could be a challenge for those less energetic my legs especially my calfs were suitably tested on the many stairs. The views are fantastic we enjoyed some great sunsets. Both rooms we had, studio and beach cottage were very good and we could not fault anything. The staff were also very good and met all of our needs and requirements. We only had B/fast on two occasion in the resort, one was the Sunday brunch which was a very good standard of service, food selection was also very good. There are plenty of places outside of the complex within walking distance to eat out, varying costs depending on your tastes. Marie the manager was fantastic, not just to us, to all customers. She makes everyone so welcome, and is keen to help and guide you to fit your needs/plans. All of the staff were very helpful and made us feel special. The beach is very close and there are plenty of activities to do if that is what you want, prices are reasonable too. Overall we had a great stay and we ail go back again in the future.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, will depend on your own needs and wishes. we had a studio for 3 days and then mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Grant1417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    128
    22
    22
    9
See reviews for
148
236
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roswell, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The accommodations and staff were amazing we felt like royalty! The whole vacation was a great value. We ate at the resort and a few restaurants nearby and had spa treatments on the beach. We took a fishing excursion with Fernando and Christian, we caught many tuna and they had it prepared for us at a little restaurant across the bay. We bought some beautiful silver jewelry from Eric

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NKabasky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Beautiful views, a definite workout to the beach, stairs, stairs and more stairs, rooms are fabu. The pool was nice and the beach is great, take the 25 peco shuttle everywhere, it stops right in front of intrawest

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Redfish414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

What a beautiful setting! We stayed there for a little over a week. The staff is very helpful and polite. The views from the rooms are spectacular! Be ready to do some exercice, as there are ALOT of steps in this resort!
My boyfriend and I stayed in a studio - which was plenty of space for two. Not much room for cooking - but just enough to make the basics. There are some very good restaurants in the area that are worth trying. The property and rooms are extremely clean. There is not much nightlife in this complex, so if you are looking for a place to party - this will not work for you.
Would go back anytime!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank loloduhl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yonkers, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We spent a week in the 3 bedroom villa. The villa was amazing. The staff is wonderful, so helpful. The Sunday brunch at Zi and lunch at the Surf Club were great. The only downside was that the restaurant was not open for dinner as it is off season in Zihua. There are many excellent restaurants within walking distance. The beach was a fun, safe place to swim if you want a change from the pool, which could get crowded during high season. Bring bug spray for the mosquitoes and request that they spray your room daily if you get a bite - once we did we were fine.There are a lot of stairs, but you can have the guys at the from desk take you areound in a golf cart if they are too much. There is a small fitness center, washers/dryers which are free of charge and free WiFi. During off-season a massage is about $20 at the resort and in the massage tents on the beach - Love it!.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the ocean and a large balcony. I believe that most are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NYGirlLovinTheBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

A bit pricey, and I think things like using the kayaks should be included in the price, but a lovely place to relax. Excellent staff!! Very good food and drinks with great service. Rooms are fabulous. Be prepared for stairs!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank traveller4760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

I stayed with a friend in one of the two bedroom villas this past June. The resort is beautiful, though room location is important to optimize this aspect - go for the full ocean view!

Service was usually excellent with a couple of small glitches. We did not get consistently good service in the restaurant (waited over 30 minutes for our simple breakfast one day when they were not busy). We also paid for and left 13 postcards with the front desk to be mailed and 7 weeks later, not one has made it to its destination.
Housekeeping did an excellent job each day but the room was a bit dated and we had a leak in the kitchen, worn bathroom fixtures, and wood shutters that did not close when they should have - this made it feel a little less clean.

The beach is public but we loved that aspect. Also, down the beach is where the end of the movie Shawshank Redemption was filmed (as a big fan of the movie, this was a nice bonus).

The town was really nice. We went down to the basketball courts to watch the local children dance. We ate at Bandidos and had a great time dancing salsa there!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelgirl1978_127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zihuatanejo hotels
0.4 mi away
Aura del Mar Hotel
Aura del Mar Hotel
#1 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
538 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Casa Que Canta
La Casa Que Canta
#2 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
544 reviews
6.6 mi away
Las Palmas Beachfront Villas
Las Palmas Beachfront Villas
#13 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Irma
Hotel Irma
#12 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
430 reviews
6.0 mi away
Capella Ixtapa
Capella Ixtapa
#4 of 22 in Ixtapa
663 reviews
0.3 mi away
Viceroy Zihuatanejo
Viceroy Zihuatanejo
#6 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embarc Zihuatanejo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embarc Zihuatanejo

Property: Embarc Zihuatanejo
Address: Camino Escenico a Playa la Ropa | Zona Hotelera, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#8 Luxury Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#9 Spa Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#16 Romantic Hotel in Zihuatanejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Embarc Zihuatanejo 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront Villas on the Mexican Riviera Club Intrawest is a private vacation club. From time to time, Guests are invited to stay at the Club on a nightly, cash basis. The Club is located on Playa la Ropa – the most exclusive beach in Zihuatanejo. Vacation Homes cascade down the hillside offering panoramic views of Zihuatanejo Bay. Enjoy casual dining by the infinity pool or in the restaurant under the giant palapa roof. Club Intrawest – Zihuatanejo reflects its spectacular oceanfront location in a stunning open-air design and innovative architecture. Terraces offer sweeping ocean views from every angle. Uniquely designed villas feature hand-cut tiles, wood furnishings and bright fabrics, all locally crafted to reflect the rich culture of the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, getaroom.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Embarc Zihuatanejo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Intrawest - Zihuatanejo Hotel Zihuatanejo
Hotel Intrawest Zihuatanejo
Intrawest Zihuatanejo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing