We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved Club Intrawest and Zihuatanejp” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Embarc Zihuatanejo

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Embarc Zihuatanejo
Ranked #6 of 81 Hotels in Zihuatanejo
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
283 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Loved Club Intrawest and Zihuatanejp”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

We read many negative reviews prior to our arrival, but the pictures of this lovely resort tell the truth. My wife and I visited for a week in early October; low season in Mexico. No guarantees for rooms (HGVC exchange). But we had a one bedroom, two bath we a tremendous balcony and view of the bay. Friendly and responsive staff, from check-in until departure. Lots of stairs and tile floors, so being in decent shape is an asset. Wi-fi in our room was excellent. Massage was good, but right on the beach, so the locals playing soccer on the beach can be annoying, if you prefer quiet. Happy Hour was enjoyable with good company. Imagine it would not be fun in high season.
There were some mosquitos, but they didn't bother us. We met others who had the opposite experience. Rather than being repetitious, I would agree with most positive reviews.
LaRopa beach was good for walking and excellent choices for food and drink.
Tip: if flying in from Mexico City airport, buy your pesos there; easier and better rate.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vmcgilvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    316
    128
    21
    19
    9
See reviews for
144
232
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

We shared a two bedroom suite with kitchenette with some friends. Hotel is designed for privacy, even on the balcony we did not see our neighbours and the view was spectacular. Clean, (They actually filter the beach sand every day where the lawn chairs are situated) beautiful grounds, with easy access to la Ropa beach. Do bring snorkling equipment (or rent) since there is an ideal spot walking distance from the hotel's beach. They also rent kayaks. Wonderful, friendly and helpful staff. Marie Cummings, (Canadian) the Club Manager was especially helpful and took the time to greet the customers, every day. Restarurant offered excellent and varied selection of food and everything was reasonably priced. We really enjoyed their beach dinner BBQ with fish caught that same morning. They are very involved with releasing turtles safely to the ocean and if your are lucky you may be able to participate in their efforts. Walking distance to the village of zihuatenejo. Massage therapist services offered through the hotel which are much better than what you would get on the beach but is more of a relaxing massage versus a therapeutic massage. Gym is well equiped and offers a nice view of the ocean. (Yoga enthusiasts, do visit Patty's restaurant, a very short walk on the beach).

Room Tip: Some rooms are very far from the beach and necessitate a uphil hike. They do have golf cart service...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JubeSudburyCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Colorado
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

Late October is low season here, and we got lots of attention from the staff. I can hardly say how well we were treated. I know the bellmen are working for tips, and I went out of my way to find opportunities for them to serve me, my wife, and sister, during our week and a half stay there, because of how warm and personable they all were. I don't think they were so friendly just to get the tips, though, and they couldn't make much of a living on just what I was tipping them, but they went out of their way just the same.
The resort is a gem...however, their highly rated restaurant was closed for updating while we were there, which is a shame, because I really would have liked to have given it a try. that's my only complaint on this trip, and the reason I bumped it down one notch on the rating.
the thing I loved the best was the location on Playa La Ropa, one of the nicest sand beaches on the Pacific Coast of Mexico. the resort is situated so one can swim in the surf and return to the pool/lounge area within steps, and walking up an down the beach was a favorite pastime.

Room Tip: we had a one bedroom villa on one of the mid levels above the pool. good because access to the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Decatur, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

I made a reservation for a week's stay at this Club/Hotel back in August as a gift for my wife's birthday, paying in advance through Expedia. Unfortunately a family medical situation makes it impossible for us to go, and we learned of this after the cancellation date. As a result we are out $1K for a hotel stay we won't be taking. The company refused to be the least bit flexible, even when the extenuating situation was explained to them. I understand that companies have rules, but they've lost all credibility with me.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank robholland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

My wife and I just returned from a week at this resort. The staff if friendly and work hard to meet your needs.The stairs are there as others have mentioned but not a deal breaker. The carts are quick to respond and run day and night. The food at the local restuarants is excellent and very reasonable. The Zi on-site restuarant was open only for breakfast during our stay and the food was very good. Luckily the restuarants along the beach are all awesome and the beachside $200 peso massages were superb. We managed to get three massages during our week.The rooms were clean and spacious. The only issue we found was the pillows not being very comfortable. The bed itself is hard but not unbearable due to being a relatively thin mattress on a cement pedestal base. Very different. The couch in the living room was extremely low and again pads on a wood base. They come in daily to make your bed but you only get one day (WED) when they clean the room, change towels, and put clean sheets on your bed.Yet they did not replenish sugars, creamer etc. Not what we expected from a supposedly 4 star resort.The humidity was high during our visit (Nov2-Nov9th) and the mosquitos were out in full force.We still had a good vacation and found the resort ambience to be very relaxing. We also really enjoyed our romantic dinner on the beach on our anniversary.We may return.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

This beautifully situated multi-unit facility has great staff and great sight lines overlooking La Ropa Playa. Rooms are spacious, clean, well maintained, and comfortable. Due to its mountainside setting there are lots of stairs but the staff will come pick you up with their carts if you can't manage the uphill hike. Pools and beach access is great. The pool area is small so high season access could be challenging. Each unit has a small dip pool for cooling off. On site dinning is available at two restaurants - food is very good at both.
Trips into town via taxi is about 110 pesos round trip before tip.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Bridger1303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pullman, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

This was our first trip and it couldn't have been better! We went in mid-September and little did we know that this is the slow season. Therefore a lot of activities are not operating and some stores/restaurants are closed. HOWEVER, that meant less people at our hotel and the staff focused on us!! They all took very good care of us and all knew us by our first names!

The hotel was great! We had the very top floor studio...220 steps to the pool each direction, but the views were well worth the climb and the room was very private. Our room had all the amenities we needed....a dip pool, lounge chairs, a small kitchen (we used the coffee pot and fridge) air conditioning, etc. It was perfect for when we needed to be inside and also allowed us to be outside to enjoy the wonderful views and weather!

The food was great and they also offer a Sunday brunch buffet. We ate breakfast each morning at Zi and tried almost everything on the menu! Great start to each day!

If you are a turtle lover...Club Intrawest operates a turtle sanctuary and does releases for the guests weekly, which was fun to see!

Its a short walk into town by way of Hotel Irma and walking along the beach. There are a few good restaurants downtown.

Would recommend--destination and resort!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mann1415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zihuatanejo hotels
0.4 mi away
Aura del Mar Hotel
Aura del Mar Hotel
#1 of 81 in Zihuatanejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Casa Que Canta
La Casa Que Canta
#2 of 81 in Zihuatanejo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Irma
Hotel Irma
#10 of 81 in Zihuatanejo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Las Palmas Beachfront Villas
Las Palmas Beachfront Villas
#13 of 81 in Zihuatanejo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
6.0 mi away
Capella Ixtapa
Capella Ixtapa
#5 of 23 in Ixtapa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
0.3 mi away
Viceroy Zihuatanejo
Viceroy Zihuatanejo
#7 of 81 in Zihuatanejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embarc Zihuatanejo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embarc Zihuatanejo

Property: Embarc Zihuatanejo
Address: Camino Escenico a Playa la Ropa | Zona Hotelera, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#5 Spa Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#8 Family Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#16 Romantic Hotel in Zihuatanejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Embarc Zihuatanejo 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront Villas on the Mexican Riviera Club Intrawest is a private vacation club. From time to time, Guests are invited to stay at the Club on a nightly, cash basis. The Club is located on Playa la Ropa – the most exclusive beach in Zihuatanejo. Vacation Homes cascade down the hillside offering panoramic views of Zihuatanejo Bay. Enjoy casual dining by the infinity pool or in the restaurant under the giant palapa roof. Club Intrawest – Zihuatanejo reflects its spectacular oceanfront location in a stunning open-air design and innovative architecture. Terraces offer sweeping ocean views from every angle. Uniquely designed villas feature hand-cut tiles, wood furnishings and bright fabrics, all locally crafted to reflect the rich culture of the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Embarc Zihuatanejo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Intrawest - Zihuatanejo Hotel Zihuatanejo
Hotel Intrawest Zihuatanejo
Intrawest Zihuatanejo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing