We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Paradise”
Review of Embarc Zihuatanejo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Embarc Zihuatanejo
Ranked #11 of 79 Hotels in Zihuatanejo
Certificate of Excellence
Kirkland, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Our Paradise”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Muchas Gracias to the wonderful staff (Marie, Hugo, Alma, Miguel, Alfredo, Eloy,--everyone!!). We spent nine days at the club, including New Year's Eve and had a terrific time. If you're looking for pampered relaxation with good food and a beautiful beach, this is the place! The service at Acopio (new restaurant) is outstanding. The food was delicious and satisfying. Even the room service food including the La Madera breakfast and the chile relleno was so tasty, we ended up eating more at the resort than we had planned. One of my most heavenly days included Lime Mahi-mahi for lunch on the beach under a palapa. We plan to enjoy it all again with our family this spring. Our young adult children enjoy Club Intrawest as much as we do.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank NorthwestFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    326
    130
    22
    22
    9
See reviews for
150
237
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

This was my 11th visit to this club and as always, it was an enjoyable one. The staff is awesome! Everybody was so friendly and accommodating. The new thing about this visit is acopio, the restaurant that replaced Zi. Chef Mario has made some great changes to the menu being much more reasonably priced but still very tasty. Even the drinks at the Surf Club (pool bar) are much more reasonable. We definitely will look forward to our next trip here!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Chauvin_sea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We just returned, and it was lovely. The resort is quite nice-- perfect location, clean, and very well run. The staff, and I mean every single person, was fantastic. The stairs were not an issue, and neither were the bugs. The beach is fantastic, but don't expect waves. I am not sure that a real foodie would find Zihua the home of the great meal, but we liked the search. The ginger margarita at La Sirena Gorda is worth the trip. Pady's on the beach has a fantastic flourless chocolate cake. Prices everywhere are reasonable, and the few higher priced restaurants were not worth the price difference. I didn't think a fishing village would overcook every piece of fish I tried! Acopio, at the club, is a good choice. For breakfast, the Green Juice and the frittata make a perfect start to the day. The flank steak at dinner was both seasoned and cooked perfectly. The town is filled with tourist goodies. Not my first choice. There is an interesting shop called Frutti Kake (?) that has some nice things. Again, at every turn, we were impressed by the friendliness. The waitstaff and sales staff wanted only to be helpful. We will return next year.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank arh58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
300 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We read many negative reviews prior to our arrival, but the pictures of this lovely resort tell the truth. My wife and I visited for a week in early October; low season in Mexico. No guarantees for rooms (HGVC exchange). But we had a one bedroom, two bath we a tremendous balcony and view of the bay. Friendly and responsive staff, from check-in until departure. Lots of stairs and tile floors, so being in decent shape is an asset. Wi-fi in our room was excellent. Massage was good, but right on the beach, so the locals playing soccer on the beach can be annoying, if you prefer quiet. Happy Hour was enjoyable with good company. Imagine it would not be fun in high season.
There were some mosquitos, but they didn't bother us. We met others who had the opposite experience. Rather than being repetitious, I would agree with most positive reviews.
LaRopa beach was good for walking and excellent choices for food and drink.
Tip: if flying in from Mexico City airport, buy your pesos there; easier and better rate.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vincent M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury Canada
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We shared a two bedroom suite with kitchenette with some friends. Hotel is designed for privacy, even on the balcony we did not see our neighbours and the view was spectacular. Clean, (They actually filter the beach sand every day where the lawn chairs are situated) beautiful grounds, with easy access to la Ropa beach. Do bring snorkling equipment (or rent) since there is an ideal spot walking distance from the hotel's beach. They also rent kayaks. Wonderful, friendly and helpful staff. Marie Cummings, (Canadian) the Club Manager was especially helpful and took the time to greet the customers, every day. Restarurant offered excellent and varied selection of food and everything was reasonably priced. We really enjoyed their beach dinner BBQ with fish caught that same morning. They are very involved with releasing turtles safely to the ocean and if your are lucky you may be able to participate in their efforts. Walking distance to the village of zihuatenejo. Massage therapist services offered through the hotel which are much better than what you would get on the beach but is more of a relaxing massage versus a therapeutic massage. Gym is well equiped and offers a nice view of the ocean. (Yoga enthusiasts, do visit Patty's restaurant, a very short walk on the beach).

Room Tip: Some rooms are very far from the beach and necessitate a uphil hike. They do have golf cart service...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JubeSudburyCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Late October is low season here, and we got lots of attention from the staff. I can hardly say how well we were treated. I know the bellmen are working for tips, and I went out of my way to find opportunities for them to serve me, my wife, and sister, during our week and a half stay there, because of how warm and personable they all were. I don't think they were so friendly just to get the tips, though, and they couldn't make much of a living on just what I was tipping them, but they went out of their way just the same.
The resort is a gem...however, their highly rated restaurant was closed for updating while we were there, which is a shame, because I really would have liked to have given it a try. that's my only complaint on this trip, and the reason I bumped it down one notch on the rating.
the thing I loved the best was the location on Playa La Ropa, one of the nicest sand beaches on the Pacific Coast of Mexico. the resort is situated so one can swim in the surf and return to the pool/lounge area within steps, and walking up an down the beach was a favorite pastime.

Room Tip: we had a one bedroom villa on one of the mid levels above the pool. good because access to the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Decatur, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I made a reservation for a week's stay at this Club/Hotel back in August as a gift for my wife's birthday, paying in advance through Expedia. Unfortunately a family medical situation makes it impossible for us to go, and we learned of this after the cancellation date. As a result we are out $1K for a hotel stay we won't be taking. The company refused to be the least bit flexible, even when the extenuating situation was explained to them. I understand that companies have rules, but they've lost all credibility with me.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank robholland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zihuatanejo hotels
0.4 mi away
Aura del Mar Hotel
Aura del Mar Hotel
#2 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
543 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Casa Que Canta
La Casa Que Canta
#1 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
546 reviews
6.6 mi away
Las Palmas Beachfront Villas
Las Palmas Beachfront Villas
#14 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Capella Ixtapa
Capella Ixtapa
#5 of 22 in Ixtapa
665 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Irma
Hotel Irma
#12 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
431 reviews
0.3 mi away
Viceroy Zihuatanejo
Viceroy Zihuatanejo
#6 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embarc Zihuatanejo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embarc Zihuatanejo

Property: Embarc Zihuatanejo
Address: Camino Escenico a Playa la Ropa | Zona Hotelera, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#8 Family Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#9 Spa Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#16 Romantic Hotel in Zihuatanejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Embarc Zihuatanejo 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront Villas on the Mexican Riviera Club Intrawest is a private vacation club. From time to time, Guests are invited to stay at the Club on a nightly, cash basis. The Club is located on Playa la Ropa – the most exclusive beach in Zihuatanejo. Vacation Homes cascade down the hillside offering panoramic views of Zihuatanejo Bay. Enjoy casual dining by the infinity pool or in the restaurant under the giant palapa roof. Club Intrawest – Zihuatanejo reflects its spectacular oceanfront location in a stunning open-air design and innovative architecture. Terraces offer sweeping ocean views from every angle. Uniquely designed villas feature hand-cut tiles, wood furnishings and bright fabrics, all locally crafted to reflect the rich culture of the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Embarc Zihuatanejo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Intrawest - Zihuatanejo Hotel Zihuatanejo
Hotel Intrawest Zihuatanejo
Intrawest Zihuatanejo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing