We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Every Room has a View”
Review of Embarc Zihuatanejo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Embarc Zihuatanejo
Ranked #10 of 79 Hotels in Zihuatanejo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We got to our room knowing we had to switch. The view was amazing. When we moved to a new room we were blown away..you could see everything! All the rooms are on a mountain side so you do the stairs or call for a ride. We never waited more than a few minutes for a ride.
The staff was amazing. Anything we needed they were there for us. Twice we had food delivered from outside restaurants. The Guys brought it right to our Suite. The layout of the rooms was wonderful. Showers and bathrooms for everyone. The pools were always clean. Swim up bar in the Adult pool. Happy Hour at 3:00!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of everything!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (537)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

241 - 247 of 537 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014

Those were the first words from the staff upon our arrival to this beautiful resort located on the white sands of Playa la Ropa.
Check in was at 4pm, which gave us time to explore the grounds, and have a beverage/lunch at the surf side bar & grill.
Our room was huge, and well equipped.
Small but efficient kitchen, plenty of towels, great balcony area with cool dipping pool on patio. The maid service gave us amazing "towel art" sculpture every day!!!! We had to take pictures of all of them.
We were there for one week, and I felt like we were pampered and cared for the whole time. We took advantage of the exercise classes offered every morning. Zumba, water aerobics, beach-runs, yoga, swimming in the ocean, etc.
Taxis were on call at all times when we wanted to go into town.
We participated in the market to table cooking class, which was a definite highlight. Chef Mario from the Acopio restaurant on site made it a wonderful experience. We visited the local food markets, and picked out foods to bring back and cook. It was a nice relief to be out of the sun for the day, and we learned a lot about the local foods & how to cook them in the authentic style.
Happy hour was from 3-4 at the pool every day, and that was a great time to socialize with other guests, and get tips on other things to see & do around Zihuatenejo/Ixtapa.
By far one of the best vacations I've ever taken! Thank you Club Intrawest!!!

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room in the entire place! Closer to the beach however is a plus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cskerbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

The resort sits on Playa La Ropa beaching offers outstanding accommodation in a pretty setting. The staff are exceptional and the locals are very friendly and eager to assist you. Food and wine is inexpensive. It is not easy to get to but this makes the area a hidden gem.

Room Tip: Our room doesn't have a full ocean view but it is very close and with an extensive balcony , ham...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Snombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Had such an amazing time at Club Zihua. Had a two-bedroom in bldg. 3. The view wasn't as exceptional (was still really good) as my in-laws in bldg. 6, but the room itself more than made up for it. Louis (the valet) was definitely right when he told us "welcome home" when he opened our cab door on that first day!
I also just can't say enough about the staff. They really made our week! The food at the restaurant and pool bar was great and affordable. Drinks catered to you on the beach were definitely a bonus...and did I say how great all of the staff was?!?
If you are looking to get out and have a meal outside of the resort here are a few recommendation:
1. JUNGLE PIZZA; the best pizza we've ever had. My kids would have gone there everyday. Everything on it, including the dough and sauce were home-made and cooked in a stone oven.
2. VITA E BELLA; in the village. has authentic Italian cuisine. Melt-in-your-mouth lasagna...and the desserts?!? We went there twice during our week and were not disappointed...we also recommended this restaurant to everyone we talked to at the resort and everyone that went came back to thank us for the recommendation.
3. CASA CUITLATECA; 5 min walk from the resort. The food was good (not amazing) but it made it up with it's décor and location. It is located at the top of the mountain and the view of the city is breathtaking. The tables are surrounded by a pool which is filled with koi and different grasses. There are only about 6 tables so I recommend that you book ahead of time.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank 2014luv2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

As many have noted, it's often difficult to get one of the best rooms here if one is not a Club Intrawest member. This is built into their reservation system. Members making a reservation see the full spectrum of rooms, while those reserving through an exchange (e.g., through Hilton Grand Vacations) see only the basic categories of 1 or 2 bedrooms. BTW, I believe the same thing is true in reverse for CI members making a reservation at a hilton property. Having said all that, we were given a very nice unit with a partial view out over the bay. In all other respects the unit was excellent, spacious and well appointed, with 2 baths (one with an outdoor shower), and a great layout where you could see from your bed through the living room out onto the patio and the view beyond.
I can't say enough about the staff here. Without exception everyone was friendly and helpful; we truly felt like guests, not customers. As somewhat out of shape seniors, we found the lack of an elevator a challenge, but if we really wanted a lift in the golf cart we never had a problem getting one. All in all one of the finest places we've stayed.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

you will get in.
This is an amazing place in an amazing location but absolutely the most difficult place to get a room in?

Roll off your pool chair onto the private on site beach- two more rolls onto one of Mexicos finest swimmer friendly beaches and into the crystal ocean.

A dream vacation location.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We had a great time at Club Intrawest in Zihua. We got it through Interval exchange and it was so worth it. However, you really need to ask for and insist on getting a room with a view especially for couples (ask Jesus at front desk, he hooked us up as my hubby says; we were grateful and he was awesome, as was Laura from front desk too). We had two rooms, ours was 106 and another in 506 for our teenage girls but theirs was partial view, no balcony or hammock so they hung out at our place a lot. Woke up every morning and opened the bedroom doors all wide to watch the sunrise.. There is nothing better.. We bought groceries at Commercial Mexicana and had some meals on the balcony, so good! We tried pretty much everything they had cooked over there ( chicken, fried fish, white cheese, veggies, baked goods, Coke haha!) and enjoyed ourselves; get the flan too.

My mom was with us and she enjoyed it, though the stairs were tiring for her. We did lots of activities every day, went on adventure tours and swam with dolphins in Ixtapa.

The food is good and reasonably priced at The main restaurant Accopio, with a nice view if you're early for dinner. The bar downstairs was nice and food was good, but the fish and chips are overcooked, probably to be safe. Our girls had Pina Coladas every time they could and we had some too, with alcohol. Don't pay attention to the beach guys who offer activities, we said Gracias and that was it.

The beach vendors are ok, nice local people and they were no bother to us. Some were kids selling trinkets and i felt bad i just did not want any of the stuff they sold. It was awesome seeing locals come to the beach, have picnics and play beach volley. Our girls got a ball from the hotel and we played with some of the other visitors ( put on sunscreen, we got fried).

Overall great experience mainly because of our room (106) and great service from staff. I think that made the difference between a nice vacation and an awesome one.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zihuatanejo hotels
0.1 mi away
La Casa Que Canta
La Casa Que Canta
#1 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
581 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aura del Mar Hotel
Aura del Mar Hotel
#2 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
566 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Irma
Hotel Irma
#14 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 mi away
Cala de Mar Resort & Spa Ixtapa
0.2 mi away
Tentaciones Hotel
Tentaciones Hotel
#20 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
151 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa del Sol Resort
Villa del Sol Resort
#12 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embarc Zihuatanejo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embarc Zihuatanejo

Address: Camino Escenico a Playa la Ropa | Zona Hotelera, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#7 Luxury Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#9 Spa Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#15 Romantic Hotel in Zihuatanejo
Price Range: £191 - £350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Embarc Zihuatanejo 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront Villas on the Mexican Riviera Club Intrawest is a private vacation club. From time to time, Guests are invited to stay at the Club on a nightly, cash basis. The Club is located on Playa la Ropa – the most exclusive beach in Zihuatanejo. Vacation Homes cascade down the hillside offering panoramic views of Zihuatanejo Bay. Enjoy casual dining by the infinity pool or in the restaurant under the giant palapa roof. Club Intrawest – Zihuatanejo reflects its spectacular oceanfront location in a stunning open-air design and innovative architecture. Terraces offer sweeping ocean views from every angle. Uniquely designed villas feature hand-cut tiles, wood furnishings and bright fabrics, all locally crafted to reflect the rich culture of the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Embarc Zihuatanejo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Intrawest - Zihuatanejo Hotel Zihuatanejo
Hotel Intrawest Zihuatanejo
Intrawest Zihuatanejo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing