We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Embarc Zihuatanejo
Nearby Hotels
Villa del Sol Resort(Zihuatanejo)
US$444
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$241
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Emporio Ixtapa(Ixtapa)(Great Value!)
US$74
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Aura del Mar Hotel(Zihuatanejo)(Great Value!)
US$127
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$98
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$216
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$180
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Las Brisas Ixtapa(Ixtapa)(Great Value!)
US$143
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Arena Suites(Zihuatanejo)(Great Value!)
US$78
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Casa Que Canta(Zihuatanejo)
US$558
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$405
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$344
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Club Med Ixtapa Pacific(Ixtapa)
US$443
clubmed.us
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (549)
Filter reviews
549 results
Traveller rating
359
137
22
22
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
359
137
22
22
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclub intrawestsurf clubdip poolil mareoutdoor showercooking classplaya la ropatwo bedroom unitbeautiful resortswim up barlounge chairssmall kitchenjungle pizzaclub membersfull bathroomswelcome homecommercial mexicana
Filter
Updating list...
466 - 471 of 549 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2008

This was a great honeymoon spot. My husband and I originally wanted to go to Hawaii but when this resort popped up we did not hesitate. Since we went in August, it was rainy season and overcast during our first couple days. However, the rest of the week it only rained at night and made for a wonderful sky scene. One night the sky was completely red- absolutely beautiful. The rainy season also meant that the resort was not overcrowded. The two pools, one adult and one family, was a great idea and the adult pool was never very busy. The swim up bar was wonderful too and the staff there were so nice and helpful. The beach was beautiful and having access to kayaks and wake boards made riding these waves really fun. The town is not too far and we walked everytime, except late at night coming home from dinner in the rain.
Recommended restaurants: Villa de La Selva, Almare (sp?), Bandidos which is in town and the Beach Club at the resort. They had great food. Zi was extremely expensive but some of the buffets are reasonable.
Honestly, my only complaint were the mosquitoes. Definitely bring insect repellent or rub lime juice on your skin as the locals do.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank BBrash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2008

We just returned from a week at Club Intrawest Zihuatanejo. We have been club members since 2001, however, this was our first trip to Mexico. The hotel meets and exceeds Club Intrawest's high hospitality standards. We have never experienced such incredible service before with the exception of our favorite hotel, the Fairmont. Having read all the TripAdvisor reviews on the club before we left, we would like to comment on some of the other negatives as well as add in some unique positives not previously mentioned.

In regard to room amenities, we found our 1 bed/2 bath ocean view room to be exceptionally well appointed with special features including a cool soak tub on the balcony overlooking the ocean, a built in sheltered granite dining nook on the patio, and a set of full chaise chairs with lounge cushions to soak in the sun. The layout of the room allows for a panoramic view from all angles. Several other members referred to the bed being exceptionally hard. We did find it to be very firm, however, my husband and I both have very weak backs, and we were able to sleep on it just fine without resorting to using added cushions.

A special note on bugs. This is the one negative that I found to be true. Club Intrawest is an ocean oasis built/carved into the side of a mountain leading to the ocean. It is in fact the only hotel in Zihua with direct beach access. It is open air. If you leave your doors open at night, the mosquitos and little sand fleas will follow you. For those of you who are bothered by mosquitos, pack your insect repellent. We found that closing our doors at night and using insect repellent at the thresholds, minimized the problem greatly.

A review of this location wouldn't be complete without a reference to the club's unique amenities. The workout room has a panoramic view of the ocean. Although I found on the first day that it didn't make sense to run on the treadmill and then hike up six flights of stairs. Yes there are a lot of stairs. While we don't consider this a negative, it is worth noting for those who would find this to be a problem. The spectacular pool is divided into a kids and an adult area seperated by a swim up bar. A complimentary assortment of pool toys is available for the kids. Full lunch is served at the Surf Club. The prices are very reasonable. We especially loved the fish tacos and Zihua burger. There are even daily bar specials featuring 2/1 wine or 3/2 margaritas. In addition to the pool and workout room, the club is home to the "Z" restuarant.

The Z restaurant has a gorgeous view of the ocean, four star dining options, world class wines, American classics, and a great kids menu. The prices which include tax range from moderate to extremely affordable. You can eat classic Mexican enchiladas for dinner for $10 USD, for example, or enjoy sailfish for around $25. My 10 year old loved their spagetti and meatballs, chocolate ice cream, and homemade Mexican doughnuts. We recommend the Monday Mexian dinner buffet. You have an opportunity to try several Mexican classics at once for an affordable price. Be prepared for the fact that beverages in Mexico are expensive. A large bottle fof water for the table is $3. An ice tea served with classic presentation including a limon(lime) was $4.50 (ouch!) For those of us who are used to paying $2 for an ice tea with unlimited refills in the states and getting our ice water for free, this is something to keep in mind. The Z is a great place to eat breakfast. You have the view that only come from paying an arm and a leg to eat a Sunday brunch at a premium restaurant/hotel at Denny's or IHOP prices.


We enjoyed a complimentary wine tasting during our week visit. The wine tasting was hosted by the restaurant's exceptionally knowledgeable sommelier. She introduced us to Mexican wines and suggested some unique food pairing that we ended up trying later in the week. We even had an opportunity to try a wine from the oldest vineyard in the Americas. (note: not the oldest in Mexico but the oldest in all of the Americas.)

Playa Ropa (the beach) in front of the resort located steps from the pool is relatively calm with small waves. It claims to be the oldest precolumbian tourist beach in the americas. It is perfect for body surfing or boogieboarding. The club makes complimentary boogie boards available for their guests to use. The club also rents kayaks for $9 an hour. Note that the beach is public. We found this to be charming. We enjoyed seeing the locals swimming with their families in the surf. Even with public access, the beach wasn't crowded by any means this time of year (off season.) If your definition of beach access is private access and seclusion, this isn't the place for you. If you enjoy mingling with the locals in a relaxed setting, you will find this beach charming. My favorite part of the beach was curling up with a good book from the club's library under a huge, shaded palapa while waiting for the staff to deliver a beverage to my table.

Service at the Z is exceptional. My standard is high. After having worked for over ten years as a customer service manager for a Fortune 100 company, I am aware of how difficult it can be to please 100% of the population. Great service is often observed only when things go wrong. We had a minor issues that came up in the course of the week that was resolved immediately by the gracious staff. Our room was adjacent to a room undergoing renovation. A mild chemical order resulted in a horrible migraine for me the following day. The staff immediately provided us with a different room with a comparable view at no additional cost. They even sent someone to move our luggage and grocery items for us. Overall, we found the entire staff to be exceptionally friendly and efficient. In fact, the staff made the experience unforgettable for a number of reasons.

We arrived in Mexico with little if any Spanish. Our 10 year old knows more Spanish than we do. We were greeted by smiling faces who were pleased to teach us Spanish. The staff remembered our names. They truly made us feel like we were at home. You don't need to know a word of Spanish to enjoy your trip to Club Intrawest. If you want ot learn a few words or phrases in a low pressure environment, you couldn't ask for a nicer experience.

Overall, I would recommend this club for families, couples, and extended families looking to take a group vacation. I would not recommend it for singles looking for excitement/night club scene or inviduals with mobility issues. The stairs are extensive. If you are unable to walk several flights of stairs throughout the day, you may want to select a hotel with elevator access.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank annika23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2008

We stayed there from6-23-08 to 6-30. It was the best Intrawest experience we have had, after using the Whistler and Vancouver places for about ten years. The staff was competent and very helpful. The hotel is very well located. It is at the end of the beach (Playa La Ropa), and you can sit by the pool or sit on the beach. The beach area is somewhat discreetly roped off, so the beach vendors will ask you to buy something, but will not pester you. There were many of these, we never found them bothersome, but instead thought of them as part of the local color. The food at Intrawest was good, but not spectacular. Not wildly expensive, but more so than most of the nearby restaurants. We walked in to town for at least one meal every day, and also at at restaurants on the beach for many dinners. Sevice at the Intrawest restaurant was always excellent. Our room was fantasic--the views, outdoor shower, and plunge pool. The walk up was something, but helped to work off all the margaritas. The daily happy hour is a fun and worthwhile 2 for 1 extravaganza. There are convenient free laundry rooms. We didn't experience any problems with insects or animals. I highly recommend this place. I only saw two minor negatives. The "wireless" only worked right next to the front desk. There is a hotel computer you can use. Secondly, the plastic cups at the pool bar are so cheap that they cracked half the time.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank wdh528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2008

The hotel location was beatiful but the property lacked the typical Intrawest features. No full kitchen, Bugs on the counters, fridge did not cool, only 1 TV in bedroom and not in living room, Whole family must watch TV in bedroom, No gameroom, No movie room, TO use A/C you need to close back windows and the unit loses all outside light. Bottom line is I would not recommend this unit or Club intrawest in general. They charge over $170 per point when you can get them on the secondary market for less than half!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BaseballJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2008

We went to club Itrawest and absolutely thought it was beautiful. They had great service. We loved our room. It did rain heavily sometimes in the afternoon/evening, but we thought it was still pleasant and romantic. We took our 1 year old. They had cribs on site and the staff all seemed to adore babies. However please make sure if you take a baby in the ocean that they have a really good lifevest with a crotch strap. We did have one thank goodness, but we got hit so hard out of nowhere by a random wave, it could have been a disaster. It was scary!! We stuck to the awesome kid's pool after that.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank leerob98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews