We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Amuleto
Nearby Hotels
US$157
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Barcelo Ixtapa(Ixtapa)
US$276
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$193
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$437
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$280
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Irma(Zihuatanejo)(Great Value!)
US$82
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Catalina Beach Resort(Zihuatanejo)(Great Value!)
US$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Emporio Ixtapa(Ixtapa)(Great Value!)
US$86
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Las Brisas Ixtapa(Ixtapa)(Great Value!)
US$143
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$272
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$473
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$313
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pacifica Resort Ixtapa(Ixtapa)(Great Value!)
US$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (390)
Filter reviews
390 results
Traveller rating
379
4
3
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
379
4
3
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain suiteour honeymoonzihuatanejo bayoutdoor showerplunge pooltotal privacyboutique hotelhill overlookingrooms are gorgeousgourmet foodmassage therapistflower petalssmall hotelprivate terracemain poolocean breezerainy season
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
169 - 174 of 390 reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Wanted to review this place for a while and looked at the other reviews and most of those reviews which are all excellent comments cover the bases of the outstanding service and location you will receive here. I would add this hotel I would consider a romantic hotel for couples not very fun or entertaining for children. This part Mexico is slow paced relaxing not a big party town the hotel is located little out of the way, but cabs are relatively cheap. Looking for romantic getaway you can't lose with this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JF757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

I recently joined TripAdvisor and wanted to review the places that we've stayed at over the years. The hubby and I decided to stay at Amuleto in June of 2007 for our honeymoon and even to this day I look back with only fond memories from such a beautiful boutique hotel. I'm so glad that we chose Amuleto instead of a bigger resort. When we stayed (for about 5 days), we pretty much had the hotel all to ourselves. We would get up and enjoy breakfast which consisted of fresh fruit, fresh bread with homemade jellies/nut butters and more often than not the chilaquiles for me (doesn't compare anywhere else). Then the hubby and I would swim our day away on the infinity pool. We only ventured out one day, because the service was so wonderful at the resort and we just enjoyed being lazy by the pool or by the infinity pool in our room. The service, food and atmosphere at Amuleto just can't be beat. I can't wait to return sometime in the future :)

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tkk20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Amuleto was a dream honeymoon. We had a representative from the hotel - Lucio R- pick us up from the airport and he was the friendliest and most helpful companion for the rest of our trip. If you knew Lucio, you knew everyone in Zihua. He took us kayaking the day after we arrived.

The views from our room were gorgeous; we never left the hotel and practically had two private pools since the public one was always free.

The breakfast was my favorite time of day- 4 course meal with a fruit plate, a basket full of homemade pastries, a freshly made smoothie, and the special of the day. All overlooking the bay... to die for.

We went in the summer so there were a good amount of flies (just when we got lunch out at the kayaking expedition) and mosquitos, but the hotel always stocks mosquito repellant and we could close our bedroom doors in the evening (and the room has air conditioning so it's never too hot).

My husband's favorite part was dialing 1 for the restaurant and requesting margaritas... in a minute we were relaxing on our sundeck, hammock, or pool with delicious margaritas in hand! The service was phenomenal - best we have ever gotten.

Muchos gracias Amuleto!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mflores13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Two tired parents of two sweet little boys walked through the doors of Amuleto, took
one look at the view, and felt immediately relaxed...and stayed that way for 6 days. Our
experience at the beautiful Amuleto exceeded our expectations.

Service:

The staff was excellent. Lucio was warm, friendly, and eager to go above and beyond
to ensure our comfort and happiness. Jacobo was so professional and detail oriented,
giving us 5 star attention. Biby was cheerful, helpful and happy to assist in any way.
Juan ensured our dinners each night were perfect. Ramon, Arturo, and the rest of the
staff handled our luggage and cleaned the rooms so inconspicuously, we barely noticed
them at all, but greatly appreciated their work. We also both enjoyed an amazing inroom massage by Citlali. Each staff member gave us their undivided attention without
ever “interrupting” us. We’ve never experienced such a talented hotel staff.
We also had the pleasure of staying the same week as the owners. At first, we assumed
they were guests because of their relaxed style and enjoyment of the hotel. We soon
learned that they have a true love and passion for this piece of land, the view, the city of
Zihuatanejo, and their staff. It made us love being there even more.

The rooms:

We stayed 4 nights in Suite 1 and 2 nights in the Palapa.

Suite 1 was breathtaking. The room was secluded, bright, spacious, and designed so
that no matter what room you were in, you had a beautiful view of the bay. The pool,
hammock, outdoor shower and daybed were perfectly placed and provided different
areas of relaxation throughout the day. The bedroom stayed very cool and dry, which
was appreciated since we traveled during the hot and humid rainy season. Optional
black out curtains ensured we were able to get as much rest as possible.
The Palapa had its own beauty and charm. It’s ambiance was much darker and warmer
than Suite 1, giving it a romantic feel. The view from the bottom level (where the pool,
bedroom, and bathroom were) was less expansive, but the view from the private
overlook upstairs was one of the best on the property; the perfect place to enjoy our
morning coffee or late night dessert.

The food:

The highlight of our mornings was breakfast in our room. The first course spread of
fresh fruit, jams, muffins, croissants, fresh squeezed juices and coffee and the second
course of hot breakfast entrees were the perfect ways to start the day.
We also ate lunch and dinner several times at the hotel. Lunch was usually enjoyed
poolside. Chips and guacamole was our go-to mid day snack.

We loved the beautiful ambiance of the glowing pool, sunset, string lights, and upscale
settings at dinner. The food was delicious. Thinking back, we can’t remember a meal
we didn’t love. The ingredients were fresh and intriguing, and the presentation was
beautiful.

Activities:

While we enjoyed the absence of a tv in our room, we also appreciated that wifi was
available throughout the hotel. Because we were without our children, we loved being
able to view videos and photos we were sent each day as a way to keep in touch.

Several days, we walked down to the nearby beaches, one afternoon, we visited
downtown Zihuatanejo by taxi, and another day we enjoyed a beautiful kayaking trip
with Lucio to a nearby lagoon giving us an experience of local culture and gorgeous
views.

Most days, though, were happily spent at the hotel enjoying being husband and wife,
resting, and recharging for life at home with our sweet boys.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

My wife and & recently went to celebrate our 10 year anniversary and were extremely pleased with everything about the hotel. The accomodations, views, staff, food, everything was excellent. As I wanted somewhere special and memorable I weeded through many hotels in Ixtapa/ Zihuatanejo and came up with this special place, which is a trye boutique hotel with only 6 rooms. We styaed in Suite #1 which is by far the best, Suite 4 & 5 come in a close 2nd & 3rd place not necesarrily in that order. Here is a brief run down. If staying brief trip (3-5 days) stay in and around Zihua...no need to go to Ixtapa. La Perla Restaurant Bar in Playa La Ropa Beach is the best place to sit and enjoy the sun/ beach, plus great food/ drinks, and they have chairs you can rent for about US$5 - 6 x day. On 2 of the 3 days we were there we ventured out for dinner to La Casa Que Canta and Tentaciones which were good, but we both decided our best meal came from our host hotel, Amuleto. We never made down to Las Gatas Beach (even though we tried walking down to it from the hotel/ note recommended) but hear it is nice but still best beach nearby is La Ropa, to which you can take a US$4-5 taxi.....walking is not an option either. This place is great for a romantic, adults only getaway. No tvs, no kids allowed. Lastly, we went in July and although there were some bugs, it was tolerable, no different than any other humid place. However, in ZIHUA you have the Ocean breeze. The rooms are all open and have great vies and at night the maids enclose your room and turn the a/c on, atleast they did in our room. FYI, rooms have great wifi, and once ina room atleast with a plunge pool we saw no need to go up to main lobby area. Great experience. Highly recommend it.

Room Tip: If you are already going to splurge on this boutique hotel get Suite #1 if available. I booked it 4 months prior to our trip. Of the 6 Suites it is the best. We peeked in on the Palapa Suite and found Suite 4 and/ or 5 to come a close 2nd to Suite #1. The Palapa Suite in our opion was a little bit too dark for our taste and was on differente levels. The plunge pool was on same floor as room/ bed, but sunbathing chairs up top on the terrace. Suites 1, 4, and 5 were on same floor. and Suite #1 has a great view from any point in the room, shower, toilet, make-up,etc....
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank perudallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews