We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh My Gosh!!!”
Review of Casa Kau-Kan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa Kau-Kan
Ranked #54 of 79 Hotels in Zihuatanejo
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Oh My Gosh!!!”
Reviewed 8 October 2006

My wife and I just returned from a week at Casa Kau-Kan. I have one word for our trip: R-E-L-A-X-I-N-G and two words for Casa Kau-Kan: F-I-R-S-T C-L-A-S-S!!! From the moment we set foot on the property (without luggage thanks to American Airlines) we were treated like royalty. Pedro took care of us with amazing meals (I'll never eat another fish taco in the U.S.), had a taxi there for us anytime we needed one, set up a horse ride on the beach and eventually helped us get our luggage. The people of Zihuatanejo were always friendly, and we felt safe everywhere we went. It was absolutely an amazing trip, and we're so thankful we decided on Zihua instead of Ixtapa. We'll definitely be back!

  • Liked — Location to the beach; FOOD!
  • Disliked — No cell service (but that was probably a good thing.)
  • Tips/Secrets — For the price, service and ease of getting there, nothing else compares.
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank CC_In_Tennessee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    8
    2
    0
    6
See reviews for
8
18
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
L.A., CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2006

O.K. I will get into heaven for sure for the good deed of spilling the beans about this place. A true find. Ricardo Rodriguez, owner, deserves all the success he can get. So much personal thought has gone into each room -- and everything. Charming, comfortable, and the food is lovely. The staff is sweet. As I said: a real find. The only caviat is the insect issue. Bring DEET, or any industrial-strength insect repellent. The trick is to put it on late afternoon (with a touch-up mid-evening if you're out) and mornings. Religiously. Then your entire experience there will be as supurb as it has the capacity of being. I'm sure there's a drier season that would not be as problematic.
It's a bit hard to find since the signs disappear at a crucial juncture. I was lucky to run across someone who had me follow him in his truck. If the rutted road gets you, you haven't seen much of Mexico.
Anyway, I've done my good travel citizen bit with this review.

  • Liked — Unique charm and large rooms.
  • Disliked — Mosquitos
  • Tips/Secrets — Close windows before sunset.
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sono3120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2006

We stayed there for 4 days by mid-may and were delighted.
By the place - so quiet and so zen.
By the new (french) manager, Matthias, charming and always looking after our total confort.
By Tonio whith whom we loved to chat.
By the view on the ocean and the high waves crushing on the beach.
By the room - the honeymoon suite - which is the loveliest room we have ever had during our love trips in Mexico - all open from the balcony to the shower - and which gives you a real sensation of freedom and total privacy.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Loquita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 23 May 2006

From the moment we arrived the service was awesome. Antonio was there to greet us with a cold beer. All the staff at Casa Kau Kan were wonderful. The views are just so beautiful. If you are looking for a quiet place away from rhe crowds--this is the place. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walla Walla, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2006

This is a small, secluded place (8 rooms) with a gorgeous pool, right on La Playa beach. The food is WAY above average, and the service is top notch. Antonio, the manager, is fantastic. Knowledgeable, friendly, really knows the area, and is English is perfect.

It's about a $10 cab ride to town, but I loved being outside of town - no noise, no beach vendors, virtually no people. Love this place!

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Nora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2005

This is an amazing place. More dolphin and sea turtle than people. Antonio the manager makes everything right. On the beach with no people, great breakfast,very clean and reasonable. If you are into quiet this is the place. Staff ratio is 1:5.Owner is a world class chef who owns Kau Kan in Zhi. Romantic but pricey. You get a great table if you are a guest at the resort. Well worth the price. $5.00 taxi ride from the resort. If you are a party type go to Ixtapa or stay in Zhi.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank churchillhammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, GA, USA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2005

The as of yet unimproved road leading to it was deceiving, but once through the gate the beauty and peace of the place is indescribable. It's just like the website says it is: The breeze from the ocean, the pelicans skimming the surf, the horses and fishermen passing by on the beach, the dolphins, the decor of the room, the pool, the mountains...it's all there. You are surrounded by coconut palms and mango trees. The staff is corteous and friendly. The food is delicious.

The only drawback, if it can be called a drawback, is that a taxi must be called in to take you to town (for about $5 each way) - either that, or you walk half a mile on the beach to catch the minibus for $1. Still, if your plan is to "get away from it all" this is the place.

Helpful?
20 Thank Chiguire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zihuatanejo hotels
2.5 mi away
Hotel Las Salinas
Hotel Las Salinas
#44 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
53 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Casa de la Palma
Hotel Casa de la Palma
#28 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
44 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Irma
Hotel Irma
#12 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Villas Miramar
Villas Miramar
#39 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
90 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel J.B.
Hotel J.B.
#61 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
13 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gamma de Fiesta Inn Plaza Ixtapa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Kau-Kan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Kau-Kan

Property: Casa Kau-Kan
Address: Playa Larga, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Zihuatanejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa Kau-Kan 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A marvellous spot for peaceful vacations within a refined framework in full nature, and at the edge of a wild beach... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Casa Kau-Kan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Kau Kan Zihuatanejo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing